We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfy suites, less than average breakfast but excellent hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Colombo Residences
Ranked #16 of 54 Hotels in Colombo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Our first night in Hilton Colombo Residences was not a very good one as there was repair work happening on a floor above us. We Were on 27th floor and strangely we were not told of this construction work at check in.
Anyways, long story short. When I raised an alarm next morning (we were up at 5 am due to constant noise), we were graciously upgraded to the PentHouse suite on 33rd Floor.

The Hotel: This is a suite hotel only. All floors have 1,2 or 3 bed room suites with kitchenettes, living area, dining area etc.
The suite: Our suite was spacious enough for atleast 5 people. The master bedroom had an attached bathroom and closet space. The other 2 bedrooms had single beds with closets inside the room. Both the other rooms had 1 common bathroom which we thought was a little inconvenient but when enquired, all the suites had similar layouts hence we couldn't shift anywhere else.
Breakfast: very average, infact some of the food items on menu like sambaru, vadas, open dosas were really bad in taste. Same goes for muffins, dough nuts, breads and cakes. Service was quite nice but the food was very average.
Other amenities: Pool is a good place to lounge around in evenings. They also have happy hours. Their steam/ sauna is decent as well. Gym: Cardio section is good, weight training equipment is very old, hence wouldn't recommend it's usage to anyone.
Internet is chargeable (Rs 2000 for 24 hrs) but it didn't work in certain parts of our apartment and hence we thought, it was a rip off.
Overall hospitality: humble staff: be it bell boys, reception staff, chefs, pool staff. Everyone was very friendly and that was just a very good feeling.
Our multiple requests for ice buckets, wine chillers etc was duly met and they never gave a reason to complaint.
Also, welcome fruits platter, cookies and complementary red wine was of good quality.
Restaurants: Didn't see much here. I am told Hilton Hotel has better places to eat. We ate there as well (that will be a separate review).

Will I stay again? If going with family (incl kids): for sure, yes... if going with friends or partner: maybe no. Rather stay on Galle Face road for it's view..

Room Tip: All rooms have good views. Opt for higher floors and ask facing towards the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gary25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerHCR, General Manager at Hilton Colombo Residences, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Dear gary25,

Thank you for staying at Hilton Colombo, it was a pleasure having you with us.

Your detailed and constructive feedback is very much appreciated and gives us valuable insights on our strengths and areas for improvement. I am very sorry to learn of the inconvenience caused by the repair works during your first night with us. I have discussed this with my team and we recognise that our communications on this matter could have been better executed. Please rest assured that the comfort and well-being of all our guests are among our highest priorities. The team are heavily reinforcing the importance of customer-focused service and communications delivery in all their process reviews and on-going training.

I am nevertheless pleased that you were happy with our Penthouse suite, facilities and the good service and hospitality that you received from the team. Your feedback regarding our breakfast buffet quality and internet service has since been shared with the relevant departments with prompt action and necessary rectifications carried out.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and for posting your helpful review and photos on Tripadvisor. We would certainly be happy to have you and your family with us again in the future so that we may continue extending the warm Hilton hospitality experience that we always seek to deliver.

Yours sincerely,
Manesh Fernando
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (907)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

680 - 686 of 907 reviews

Reviewed January 25, 2013

It was a very comfortable stay. Te morning breakfast is huge, i would recommend to give yourselves time to eat through it al!! Happy to skip lunch and dinner!! The staff are very friendly. You can request any thing else, outside the menu. Like I order an avocado milk shake, vegetable juice, soya milk.
The Khanda, which is a Sri Lankan porridge, was healthy and delicious.
The internet is bit expensive I would recommend you buy a local sim with internet connection. If you are not surfing a lot. The internet is free at the Business centre.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anusha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerHCR, General Manager at Hilton Colombo Residences, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Dear Anusha S,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at Hilton Colombo Residence, we are delighted that you enjoyed a comfortable stay.

We are also very pleased to receive your feedback on our breakfast buffet spread and the service you received by the team.

It was a pleasure having you with us and we hope for another opportunity to extend our warm hospitality to you when you next return to Colombo.

Yours sincerely,
Manesh Fernando
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

It was a wonderful time at this property when we friends had been to Colombo for a holiday. Very comfortable apartments which made us feel at home and great service. friendly staff and good food made it even better. Centrally located with superb facilities made our holiday memorable. Would love to return.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HPTC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerHCR, General Manager at Hilton Colombo Residences, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Dear HPTC,

My team and I are delighted that you and your friends had a wonderful holiday with us at Hilton Colombo Residence.

It is very encouraging for the team to learn that their warm hospitality and great service made you all feel comfortable and at home. It is also good to know that you were happy with our food, facilities and location.

Thank you very much for staying with us and we certainly welcome another visit from you in the future!

Yours sincerely,
Manesh Fernando
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Simply put, this is the place where you can travel with friends, family and be in the same apartment/room. We had a two bedroom, two bath and because of hour Hilton Status we were greet with fruit, bottle of wine, cookies and tea. This place is a must book when staying in Colombo. I'm glad I checked out of the Grand Oriental and paid 15,000 miles plus $$ despite having a free room. Everyone person on the staff was not only professional, but helpful and loved their job of providing 110% customers service and care. I got the feeling that I was their VIP and only customer. Everyone was great from the Bell Staff to the Front Desk to the Hotel Operator to the the staff on third floor and even security. My only small concern was that the Jacuzzi is inside next to the steam room and sauna. It would be nice for the jacuzzi to be outside next to the pool. The food came out a little slow but given the order was taken on a napkin perhaps there was a communication/translation issue. I still rate this place the top and the only place to stay in Colombo if you want plenty of room, nice staff, caring staff and plenty of the little things.

Room Tip: The Elevators move slow. There are only three for 32+ Floors. Keep this in mind when deciding if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jdreynoldsjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerHCR, General Manager at Hilton Colombo Residences, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Dear jdreynoldsjr,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at Hilton Colombo Residence, it is always a pleasure when our guests enjoy their stays with us.

My team have received your compliments with much heartfelt thanks. Indeed, they work very hard to always deliver the exemplary service and great stay experience to all our guests. It is very rewarding to know that what they do everyday contributed to your wonderful stay experience.

We are honoured to be among your top choice of hotels to stay in the world and are grateful for your recommendation. We hope to extend our unique Sri Lankan hospitality to you once again, should you return to Colombo in the future.

Yours sincerely,
Manesh Fernando
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

This hotel has most of it: central location, a few good restaurants, pleasant service and a pool deck on the thrid floor which gives a feeling of beeing in the country side rather than in the middle of a busy capital.

This is more of a residence hotel than an ordinary hotel: most rooms contain a spacious living room, kitchen and 2 bedrooms and bathrooms. The kitchen is well supplied with utensils and a large fridge/freezer. I know people who have used this as temporary accomodation for more than 3 years, and it certainly gives the feeling of a home.

What this placecan improve is difficult to say. Maybe elevators which run faster? The staff is fantastic. From the greetings on arrival, room cleaning, laundry service and restaurants, you are met by an attentiveness which is not found many places. On this occasion I am particularly grateful for room cleaning on the 21st floor, the chef in the breakfast room who knows exactly how I want my omelette and Victor at the entrance who always is keen to make my life easier when I am running from meeting to meeting.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stein54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerHCR, General Manager at Hilton Colombo Residences, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Dear Stein54,

Thank you for staying at Hilton Colombo Residence, it is our pleasure to be your home in Colombo.

We truly appreciate your kind feedback on the apartment, our facilities and the good service you received from the team. It is good to know that you felt well-looked after during your stay. We are grateful for your special mention of our Housekeeping team, our chefs and Victor, who all played an important part in contributing towards your wonderful experience with us.

We look forward to seeing you again, when you next return to Colombo.

Yours sincerely,
Manesh Fernando
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

well one hotel i can go gaga about everything was good the hotel staff the rooms the service cleanliness all perfect all i can say is if you have the budget this hotel is for you in colombo it rocks.located centrally and the pool sauna etc are great trust me book this hotel without any doubt.

Room Tip: all the rooms are good just check in and leave the rest to the smart staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irfanind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerHCR, General Manager at Hilton Colombo Residences, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Dear irfanind,

Thank you for your kind review of Hilton Colombo Residence, we are delighted that you enjoyed a wonderful stay with us.

We truly appreciate your positive feedback on our service and facilities, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Yours sincerely,
Manesh Fernando
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

The location was ideal for us, the staff were very helpful and tended to all our needs, they got excited for our wedding, helped with dressing our guest in tradtional clothes. There was a day where we had an in promptu getogether, and no problem, the staff just arranged a dinner for all our extra guests. Perfect. The pool staff got to know us well and our dietry need and it was delicious. The reception , amazing , no matter what time you arrive, you will get very good service.

Room Tip: They are very spacious, so just choose how many beds you need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trauna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerHCR, General Manager at Hilton Colombo Residences, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Dear trauna M,

It was indeed our pleasure to have you with us and also for us to be a part of your very special occasion!

We are delighted that you enjoyed every moment of your experience at Hilton Colombo Residence. The team extends their heartfelt thanks for your warm feedback, they couldn't be happier knowing that their level of service made you and your family feel well-taken care of during your stay.

Thank you very much for staying with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future, perhaps for future anniversary celebrations and family holidays.

Yours sincerely,
Manesh Fernando
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.5 mi away
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
0.7 mi away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
0.7 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hilton Colombo
Hilton Colombo
#10 of 54 in Colombo
2,088 reviews
0.7 mi away
Taj Samudra Colombo
Taj Samudra Colombo
#9 of 54 in Colombo
2,232 reviews
0.4 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Colombo
Movenpick Hotel Colombo
#6 of 54 in Colombo
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Colombo Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Colombo Residences

Address: 200 Union Place, Colombo 02, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Colombo
#6 Family Hotel in Colombo
#8 Spa Hotel in Colombo
#9 Business Hotel in Colombo
#13 Luxury Hotel in Colombo
Price Range: $165 - $398 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Colombo Residences 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover an outstanding suite and room experience in the heart of Sri Lanka’s largest city; Hilton Colombo Residences is the ideal choice for business or leisure. Take in panoramic views from this 33-story tower, offering vistas of the Indian Ocean, city and harbor. The hotel includes superb venues for conferences and events for up to 850 people; it is located within 5 minutes of the central business district of Colombo, within close proximity to major banking institutes, supermarkets, shopping and cultural destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Hilton Colombo Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Colombo Residence Hotel Colombo
Colombo Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing