We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Surprise - Retreat in Colombo”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Colombo Residences
Ranked #16 of 54 Hotels in Colombo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 6, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Residence in Colombo in April 2011 for 3 nights. We were in town for a wedding and most of the guests were staying at the Galle Face Hotel nearby but we wanted to use Hotel points for our stay to save on costs.

We arrived late at night and were able to arrange taxi service from the airport in advance by emailing the hotel. This was great service and made our arrival in Sri Lanka much more comfortable right from the start. I did not have any expectations of the hotel other than it was a Hilton, so I was pleasantly surprised and pleased with the amount of space we had! The room was more like an apartment than a room, with a full kitchen, two bedrooms, two bathrooms, a full sitting and dining area, and a terrace overlooking part of the city. We had more space than we knew what to do with but it worked perfectly for us!

We went to the grocery store across the street to get some food and washing detergent to do laundry. The location was convenient for heading to the grocery store. We were also able to walk to the Buddhist temple from the hotel. The tuktuk or taxi ride from the Residence to the Galle Face hotel was about 5 minutes or so, and was a reasonable price. There were always taxis and tuktuks available for hire outside of the hotel.

The breakfast at the hotel was amazing - they had a full buffet and options available to order as well. I particularly liked the traditional Sri Lankan breakfast versus the western breakfast, though all items were available to choose from.

Service at the hotel was great - we gave them a 9.5/10 star score upon checkout. We had great service, a huge room wtih tons of amenities (including internet and cable TV!) and we greatly enjoyed our experience at this hotel. We definitely recommend it for future business or leisure travelers in Colombo.

Room Tip: Arrange taxi transport before arriving
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank elh76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerHCR, General Manager at Hilton Colombo Residences, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2016

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.

Warm Regards,
Karim Schadlou
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (908)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

797 - 803 of 909 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2011

Hilton Colombo Residence is absolutely perfect.

I am a gold member of Hilton Honor and received warm welcome from the hotel and got an immediate upgrade. Hotel staff also delivered homemade cookies and a bottle of red wine to the room in the afternoon.

The apartment is gigantic. We got a 2-bedroom with a roomy living room, dining area, a giant kitchen and a balcony with epic view of the Indian ocean. As a matter of fact, both bedrooms have a window view of the Indian ocean, which is definitely the best part of the stay. All apartments have private wifi.

The second best is the breakfast, which we got the luck to enjoy twice during our one-night stay(we arrived really early in Colombo on the first day). ABSOLUTELY amazing breakfast. The hotel provides food options that are beyond your imagination - all kinds of Indian food, western food, fresh fruits, drinks, ... all tasty as hell!

The swimming pool is also very nice, lovely and quiet. It really is quite a joy seeing the hotel staff mingling with families with kids.

Will definitely stay there again if I ever have the chance to go back to Colombo. Being in this hotel really feels like being in the paradise, overseeing the crowd of the city.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GraceYang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerHCR, General Manager at Hilton Colombo Residences, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2016

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.

Warm Regards,
Karim Schadlou
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2011

We stayed in the Hilton Colombo Residence from the 20th to the 26th of March 2011. I was there with my 2 sons of 13 and 5 years old. What a wonderful place to stay. We had a 2 bedroom suite with kitchen, living room, dining room and 2 bathrooms. We even had a dvd player and a washing machine. The staff was behond helpful and kind. The swimming pool was nice, big enough and a great place to enjoy the beautifull weather of Sri Lanka. There was a big rectangle pool plus a kid pool with a little slide.

The little down side might be the very slow elevators. We were on the 30th floor, so we had to wait a lot and all the time, but on the other hand, we were on vacation so no rush and the slow elevators was a great way to talk with other travelers.

We had room services and food was excellent and not too expensive. We had wonderful massages (even the children) at the Ramani and Fernando Salons on the main floor of the hotel and it was just perfect.

Just beside the hotel you will find a grocery store with most of everything you need if you feel like cooking. They even have a liquor and wine store inside the grocery store too.

Outside the main gate of the hotel, just hop on a took took (rigshaw) and ride around Colombo. There are many things to see and do, not boring at all as long as you enjoy staying in a city. Oh and Colombo is surprinsingly VERY clean.

Have a great trip! We will certainly go back again.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sofi_the_Canadian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerHCR, General Manager at Hilton Colombo Residences, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2016

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.

Warm Regards,
Karim Schadlou
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2011

The service is very good. The rooms/apartments are very spacious but a little dated. Great breakfast. The location is a little out of the way but the tuktuk's bring you everywhere for little money.
All wit all we had a great stay

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank magdak13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerHCR, General Manager at Hilton Colombo Residences, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2016

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.

Warm Regards,
Karim Schadlou
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2011

Hilton Colombo Residence is a comfortable home away from home for a month or quarter long stay on short assignments. The health-club and pool is very useful. We stayed on 19th floor and savoured the sea view/breeze.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vikas05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerHCR, General Manager at Hilton Colombo Residences, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2016

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.

Warm Regards,
Karim Schadlou
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2011

My friends and I stayed here for 2 nights in March. This is basically an apartment hotel, so dont expect a grand lobby.

The rooms are good and very spacious with all the basic amenities. The rooms are not very modern but provide all the basic comforts. The service is good and staff is courteous. The breakfast was a good lavish spread of both western and local cuisine. The pool is handy and a nice area to generally chill. The location is not excellent i.e. it is not sea facing, however about 5-10 minutes away from everyhting. There is a good mall and a KFC just around the corner.

All in all, this is a great value for money place when visiting with a group of friends or family. It does not have the hustle bustle of a five-star hotel but nonetheless a good place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RMJK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerHCR, General Manager at Hilton Colombo Residences, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2016

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.

Warm Regards,
Karim Schadlou
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2011

We just had our wedding in Hilton Residence. The hotel and its staff exceeded my expectations by miles! The hall was very well prepared, the staff were looking after us and our guests from start to finish (including looking after the kids whilst the adults were dancing:) and we could not ask for more! The wedding was only for 45 guests but the hotel prepared the hall in such a way that it looked private and exclusive and yet luxurious. We had a traditional ceremony and I was slightly apprehensive at the beginning as the ceremony started in the hotel's corridors (the bride has to be walked into the hall) so it was observed by the hotel guests. I could see how they enjoyed this view as well, and they stopped to say their wishes which was very touching. The staff were amazing, they were well prepared with everything and I felt I did not have to worry about anything as they helped us and direct us in many ways, very professionally throughout. They were all very friendly and the managers (Anura Kulasekara and Saman) who we dealt with were amazing and very helpful (big thank you here!).The food was awesome! I wanted to have my wedding at the beach but now that we did it in Hilton Residence I can definitely recommend it. At the end of the wedding (around 12am) we rented Skoda Tudor Roadster (1949) with the open roof and went for a drive in the night on the empty streets of Colombo which was wonderful!!! The police and passing by cars were waving and wishing us all the best and it was such an nice and romantic end to our wedding.
Just to add, the location of the hotel is very central and it helped with the last minute preparations for our guests who needed fixing some sarees. Everything is just around the corner so in emergency you can catch a tuk tuk and get something done quickly if needed. Breakfast in the morning was very good. It's a buffet style with so many options from different parts of the world that you can't possibly try it all. The staff also came to us at breakfast time to ask if everything went ok the day before and to wish us all the best. We got complimentary fruits and wine in our room as well.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Monish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerHCR, General Manager at Hilton Colombo Residences, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2016

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.

Warm Regards,
Karim Schadlou
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.5 mi away
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
0.7 mi away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
0.7 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hilton Colombo
Hilton Colombo
#10 of 54 in Colombo
2,090 reviews
0.7 mi away
Taj Samudra Colombo
Taj Samudra Colombo
#8 of 54 in Colombo
2,233 reviews
0.4 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Colombo
Movenpick Hotel Colombo
#7 of 54 in Colombo
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Colombo Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Colombo Residences

Address: 200 Union Place, Colombo 02, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Colombo
#6 Family Hotel in Colombo
#8 Spa Hotel in Colombo
#9 Business Hotel in Colombo
#13 Luxury Hotel in Colombo
Price Range: $164 - $392 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Colombo Residences 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover an outstanding suite and room experience in the heart of Sri Lanka’s largest city; Hilton Colombo Residences is the ideal choice for business or leisure. Take in panoramic views from this 33-story tower, offering vistas of the Indian Ocean, city and harbor. The hotel includes superb venues for conferences and events for up to 850 people; it is located within 5 minutes of the central business district of Colombo, within close proximity to major banking institutes, supermarkets, shopping and cultural destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Hilton Colombo Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Colombo Residence Hotel Colombo
Colombo Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing