We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place if you're looking for a cheap alternative to a hotel and you are in a group but not the greatest location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Supun Arcade Residency
Ranked #29 of 131 Specialty Lodging in Colombo
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place if you're looking for a cheap alternative to a hotel and you are in a group but not the greatest location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

Nothing luxurious about this place, pretty basic, but clean, apartments. The pool was closed for the entire time I stayed there and there are no gym facilities. The location is really not great, a long way from anywhere decent to eat which means you have to deal with the three wheelers all the time. Overall a good value alternative to the more expensive hotels if you don't mind travelling a lot to eat and drink.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Supun Residency S, General Manager at Supun Arcade Residency, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Valued customer,

Thank you very much for your review. I’m surprised that you couldn’t find any restaurants around ! There’re plenty of restaurants on marine drive (parallel road to the Galle road).

Our Apart hotel is located only 5 km away from Colombo fort and you can reach there in less than 20 minutes paying only 3 dollars. Our Residency would be the ideal place to stay for a reasonable price with most of the comfort customer would expect from a quality Apart hotel.

The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    52
    31
    10
    17
See reviews for
53
18
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

We (couple) stayed here for 3 nights. On check in the staff were very friendly. We were given an apartment with 3 bedrooms. The kitchen was well equipped and the lounge area was nice with luxury sofas and flat screen tv. It had a balcony over looking the busy but notary bustling city life below of Galle Road in Colombo 6. The roof swimming pool was a beautiful touch and seemed to always be deserted and we were the only ones ever using it early morning and early evening at sunset. From here you get great views of the sea. Overall this is a good value for money location within a tuk-tuk ride away to most places for tourists with an average of 300Rupees (in metered ones) each ride of 2.5kms. My only negatives with regards to the hotel were the hard mattress and lack of free wi-fi in rooms/apartments. The latter is probably the only reason I wouldn't stay here again. I think $5 a day to get wi-fi in the room in this day and age is ludicrous. Even lesser star hotels offer this as basic. By only having free wifi in lobby it made a very narrow lobby look even more narrower as people sit on sofas each side to surf the Internet on their laptops.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SavileImage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Supun Residency S, General Manager at Supun Arcade Residency, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Valued customer,

I would like to thank you for your wonderful review. We have taken note your remarks seriously and the good news is we have changed all the hard mattress for our future customers.

I understand that the WIFI is free in most of the hotels in the world. But unfortunately we can’t give it for free due to the heavy usage of the families who stays in our apartments. Our average number of people staying in an apartment per day is five & the usage exceeds every month. So we need to charge the customer to bear this cost.

Thanks for your understanding

The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
82 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

We - a family of four with two boys aged 7 and 10 - arrived at midnight in Colombo, being 2 1/2 hrs late on our flight from Bangkok. However, the transport to Sunpun Residency worked without any problems. We arrived in the hotel at about 1 a.m., and still, everything worked very nicely. These people seem to be used to these hours. The apparement we had was spacey, with two large bedrooms, not luxurious, but practical. What we did not like was the noise from the street starting at a very early hour. Otherwise, we cannot complain - all in all, this place is simple, with no breakfast (and just a bakery opposite of the buidling), but everything working.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Flabbergast52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Supun Residency S, General Manager at Supun Arcade Residency, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Valued customer,

Thanks a lot for your review and we highly appreciate it.

Look forward to having you with us again

Regards,

The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
153 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

We stayed at the Supun Arcade Residency for five nights on a recent trip to Sri Lanka and found it to be a great spot to experience the real Colombo, rather than staying in a large tourist hotel closer to the city centre. It is situated in Wellawatte, on very busy and noisy Galle Road, but the street life is authentic and colourful..

It is as other reviewers describe a residency, rather than a hotel and therefore does not have a restaurant attached, but this is not a hindrance as there are many eating places and small markets close by and the diversity of food is amazing. The apartments are huge and clean, with well appointed bathrooms, kitchen, laundry and living/dining area and have AC or overhead fans in all rooms.

The only downfall of this gem, is the extraordinary hardness of the beds: the hardest we've ever encountered, which made sleeping somewhat uncomfortable.

Room Tip: Ask for an apartment at the back of the hotel, where you can escape the noise of Galle Road and with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judi Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Supun Residency S, General Manager at Supun Arcade Residency, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Judy,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review and we’re so grateful for it. You’re the second person to complain about our beds. We have very few apartments with hard bed mattress and we didn’t change them because some clients happened to request for hard beds. Any way we’re planning to replace them in the near future.

Best Regards,

The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

Awesome big apartments which were very clean and tidy. The staff were helpful in keeping our bags for the day after we checked out. The rooftop pool was very nice as well. There were a few little things that meant this was quite an expensive option for what you receive (beds were overly hard, the shuttle pick up tried to charge us more because it was a van and not a car which we didn't request or need etc) but overall a positive experience.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EFBev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Supun Residency S, General Manager at Supun Arcade Residency, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Valued Customer,

Thank you very much for your lovely comment on us. I’ll check with our travel desk why they had to charge you more.
We’ll be changing the bed mattress soon & sorry for the inconveniences that it may caused you.

Look forward to have you with us on your next trip to our beautiful country.

Best Regards,
The General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

After spending two weeks travelling around Sri Lanka, we had booked our final night in advance at Supun. The main reason for booking this particular place was precisely for a rooftop pool as was advertised by the website and hostel world.
When we arrived, we requested how we accessed the pool and were told that it was currently under construction. We weren't happy with this as the pool was the deciding factor in going with this hotel. I requested to have some money knocked off the final bill as the full specification was unavailable and this led to around an hour of aggravation.
The man on reception was extremely unhelpful saying that he needed to speak to his management, but refusing to let us speak to them. We were then called by a sales and marketing rep who shouted down the phone at us both repeating the same statements. Eventually, they agreed to knock the taxes and services off however, for some reason, we would still be paying the apartment the same amount?!
When we questioned this, they told us that was because the man on reception had under quoted us our final bill. When we showed them the confirmation, they eventually backed down and knocked a measly £8 off the bill. We were that exhauste we just took it. They then refused to provide us an itemized bill although we had requested it and we're extremely rude when we asked for it.
Add to this the fact that the 'gent' on reception took my friend's personal telephone number off the security forms that she had filled in for the apartment and then proceeded to send her several messages of the flirtatious nature should give you a very good indication of how well Supun look after your personal data and also the level of professionalism shown by their staff.
They also booked a car to the airport for us which turned up late, we ended up taking a tuk tuk instead.
Basically one disappointment after another. I've never felt so frustrated and angry in my life with the levels of service in an organized business and professionalism obviously.
100% would not recommend. They nearly ruined our trip entirely.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travellingwellies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Supun Residency S, General Manager at Supun Arcade Residency, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Madam,

I’m really surprised with your comment & I consider this as a real vengeance. Actually you’ve booked the apartment on the internet without taxes. I offered you around 30% discount since the pool was not available but you wanted to have a discount more than 60% which was totally unfair !

I don’t want to go in to details but you’ve nicely built your story to damage our business.

Please note that it is impossible to provide the sort of reduction you asked for just for the reason of unavailability of one simple facility which is the pool. Supun Arcade Residency really takes care of the personal information of every client and it is difficult to believe that an employee had this behavior towards your friend.

Just because you couldn’t get the reduction you expected, please don’t make these kind of comments to harm the image of any business. Please avoid staying in hotels if you’re unable to afford the price they quote.

Anyway thank you for staying with us.

Best regards,

The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Colombo hotels

1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

We recently rented two Ocean view apartment at the Supun Arcade, and I am just writing to thank all the staff at the Supun for their hospitality. My family and our friends from Australia and England came to stay with us and we were all highly impressed with the level of professionl behaviour from and all the staff at the Front Desk, the maintenance/service staff and management.
The location was perfect, close to food and the city, it's a wonderful place for those who want to experience Sri Lanka from a safe and central location. Great place if you have a group of people.I also had the privledge of meeting the owner in the lift and he is a overwhelmingly friendly and informative gentleman. We hope to come back to stay at these apartments sometime soon in the near future and will be more than happy for you to use us as a reference for future clients. A special thanks to Lakshmi and the boys at the front desk for putting up woth us and making it that much easier for us.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JPasqual
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Supun Residency S, General Manager at Supun Arcade Residency, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Pascal,

We're all flattered by your wonderful comment.

Many thanks for this excellent review & I’ll pass your message to our team.

Look forward to having you with us again.

The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.2 mi away
Global Towers Hotel
Global Towers Hotel
#31 of 51 in Colombo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ocean Edge Suites & Hotel, Colombo
1.4 mi away
Pearl Grand Hotel
Pearl Grand Hotel
#24 of 51 in Colombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hilton Colombo Residence
Hilton Colombo Residence
#12 of 51 in Colombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
2.9 mi away
Unique Towers Luxury Boutique Suites
0.0 mi away
Breeze Apartment
Breeze Apartment
#38 of 131 in Colombo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Supun Arcade Residency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Supun Arcade Residency

Property: Supun Arcade Residency
Address: 56, Galle Road, Colombo, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 131 Specialty Lodging in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Supun Arcade Residency 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Supun Arcade Residency is a city aparthotel located in the heart of Colombo city, offering all the comforts of home within a luxurious setting. The 40-suite complex, spread across a spacious eight floors provides both short term and long term apartment suites.The apartments are completely air conditioned, and provide a panoramic ocean view or a dynamic city view. The architect-designed complex allows maximum natural light and ventilation into the spacious corridors and pathways, and the double elevators provide ease of movement within the complex.The fully furnished and well equipped apartments are each spacious and well-laid out with a dining area, comfortable lounge and seating area, fully equipped kitchen, laundry area and even separate quarters for domestic maids. The kitchen is equipped with all the amenities you will need in your own apartment including cooking facilities, refrigerator, cooking utensils, crockery and cutlery and even a rice cooker. A water filter is provided in each apartment and bottles changed on request, easing the burden of frequently purchasing your own bottled water.Each apartment has a master bedroom with attached bathroom, and one or two additional rooms with bathrooms. Each room is fully furnished with King Size or Twin beds, cupboards, dressing tables and designed to create elegance and warmth in each room. The Master bedrooms also have balconies, providing a relaxing place from which to view the outdoors. The beautifully tiled bathrooms have all the modern amenities and luxuries that you would expect from an international standard apartment complex.Supun Arcade Residency provides an efficient and luxurious space for you and your family during a visit to Colombo, whether you are exploring Colombo city or passing through on a wider tour of the country. Being located on the Galle Road, Colombo's main thoroughfare in Colombo 6 provides quick and easy access to any of Colombo's tourist landmarks or business locations. Supun Residency is located above the Supun Arcade which has a growing number of shops that sell a variety of goods, making it an easy place to pick up souvenirs or gift items.The Supun Arcade Residency offers a plethora of facilities to all its customers. The roof top swimming pool has a panoramic view of the city, and provides an excellent location for a quiet evening drink as you view the beautiful sunset over the Indian Ocean. The roof top restaurant (Bellevue) also commands a stunning view of the bustling city of Colombo with the backdrop of the Indian Ocean. The apartments are serviced daily by an efficient housekeeping system which replaces bed linen and towels, providing you with fresh linen each day. Wifi services are available and Cable TV in each apartment will keep you updated on business and world news, while also providing a great way to keeps kids entertained while indoors. The hotel's travel information desk will help you plan and book your travel itinerary within Sri Lanka, while also helping you with all the information about Colombo. Your every comfort and convenience has been thought of at Supun Arcade Residency, ensuring that it becomes your home away from home during your visit to Colombo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Supun Arcade Residency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing