We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little out of the way. Quiet even in the city”
Review of Hotel The Saffron

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel The Saffron
Ranked #51 of 155 Colombo B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Nice little hotel, very friendly staff.
Our room was well presented, the furniture very sturdy and quality wood.
Bathroom and shower was nice, a interesting shower too.
The bed could have done with a little thicker matress as you could feel the wodden slats of the frame if you sat up.
The decoration was ok, our room needed a little attention to detail, One part of the wall needed a second coat of paint and one item of furniture let the room dawon needing a re-finish. the item worked fine but the laquer was very tired. shame it let the room down a little when you noticed it.
Breakfast was good, limited choice but this seemed the way of Sri Lanka's well priced hotels.
Definately would stay here again. Planning another trip now even!

Room Tip: All rooms seemed the same, we had a room at the back which overlooked a river. Nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 01Michael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (50)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

32 - 38 of 50 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

Slightly outside the center but only a 300 rupee to the train station. Rooms were fine with a quirky shower. Family run who were all very kind and welcoming! Nice breakfast too :)

Overall great value for money! Thank the lord for the aircon in the room!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonathanandkatinka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

I stayed at the Saffron for two nights on my way to Kandy. The rooms were comfortable (the AC strong), clean and atleast the room I was given had a great view of the water body behind it. The couple that run the hotel are very friendly and very willing to help. Excellent value for money

The room was massive and was full of beautiful antique furniture. There had been an attempt to create a natural waterfall in the shower (the shower floor was covered in pebbles) which didn't work that well.

The main drawback is that the hotel is located in a very quiet residential neighbourhood. I had arrived at night and asked about going to the closest restuarant and I was told that there is nothing within walking distance. (The hotel itself is also a little hard to find) The owner-managers serve excellent Sri Lankan food at the hotel (Breakfast is particularly good) but you can't just walk down to a nearby cafe or street. The owners will call you a taxi or a rickshaw if you needed to get to the more touristy parts of Colombo (which is about 20 minutes away).

There is good wifi in the public areas but none in the bedrooms. The other problem I faced was the inability to accept a payment via credit card. I had visit the ATM and pay in cash.

All in all, good value for money, makes a great stop over in Colombo on your way to somewhere else

Room Tip: Ask for rooms that face the back. You'll get a fantastic view of a lake, and birds early morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank R D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Last month (Dec, 2012) I booked this hotel for 2 days for our stay in Columbo. Hotel confirmed the booking. I also called them a week earlier just to make sure every thing is alright. I was promised that the room is already reserved and things are taken care off.
When we reached the hotel we were told that there was no room. I showed them confirmation email but they rudely told us that there is nothing they can do about it. We were left stranded !!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Service
3  Thank vigi_sunnyvale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anthony s, Owner at Hotel The Saffron, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Hi,
We never faced like this situation. So we guess that it is a mistake of the guest who put it on our page. If the customer made a booking with us then we will reserve the room for them. As the guest has asked we have treated very badly. But we can assure that we are not in that way therefore I am pretty sure that this is a wrong listing. please give your attention in this regard.

Thanks
Dilruklshi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

I stayed at the Saffron for just one night on arrival in Colombo before travelling to the south coast.
It is clean and friendly, the AC is good and showers nice and hot. The food is great and there is plenty of exotic bird life in the surrounding trees. The furniture is nice carved wood and I had a four-poster bed. It was nice and quiet and there is a 24 hour guard. The airport transfer was good and well organised but I felt a little pricey at 28$. They also have a resident tuk-tuk, which took me promptly to the train station for my onward journey.
I would definitely stay here again. It is great value for money.

Room Tip: Not sure about the other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisRoughley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Anthony welcomed my girlfriend and I at the airport after we arranged for the pickup with his guesthouse. He was genuine and friendly along the congested drive into Colombo from the airport (a keen cricket fan). All these attributes were reflected by his staff at Hotel The Saffron. N.B. It is also situated in a suprisingly quiet and peaceful neighbourhood - an absolute godsend in Colombo!

Dinner was our first Sri Lankan curry and was just as tasty as it was generous and appreciated completely.

Our room was clean and equipped with a fan and airconditioning which was put to good use. Strangely though, there was no mosquito net over the bed but this appeared to be a trend in Colombo from the 2 different guesthouses we stayed at during our trip. Amenities in our room were also clean with plenty of hot water.

Breakfast was an adequate affair.

The difference between Hotel The Saffron getting a great review from us and the rave review we are giving it is due to Anthony's flexibility, generosity and kindness (and also the fact that TripAdvisor doesn't do half-star ratings). After unsucessfully telephoning around for a driver to get us to Adam's peak, Anthony basically dropped his scheduled to drive us the 7 hours there in his car just so that we could kickstart our holiday (he would have had a patient 7 hours drive back!!!).

In addition to this, Anthony also maintained occasional contact with us throughout our short stay in his country to ensure our schedule ran smoothly. The comraderie developed during the drive has remained even after our return home.

In summary: Amazing service, great (and QUIET) location and the rooms represent value for money. Oh, it's in a quiet location!

Room Tip: Try and get a room not on the ground floor. If you have time - try and venture up to the main roa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

A basic, clean and more than adequate B&B. Owners and staff were very friendly and helpful. Both breakfast and dinner were good and value for money. Owner arranged tuk tuk to city and transfer from the airport.
Pros
Quiet suberb away from chaotic city
Friendly and helpful staff
cons
Hard to find fro tuk tuk drivers
Far from city centre

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colombo
2.9 mi away
Great Southern Hotel (GSH) Colombo
4.0 mi away
Villa 63
Villa 63
#21 of 155 in Colombo
38 reviews
2.6 mi away
CJ Villas
CJ Villas
#15 of 156 in Colombo
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.3 mi away
The Saffron Airport Hotel
The Saffron Airport Hotel
#2 of 17 in Katunayake
3 reviews
1.9 mi away
Palm Nest
Palm Nest
#13 of 155 in Colombo
163 reviews
2.5 mi away
Clock Inn Colombo
Clock Inn Colombo
#5 of 156 in Colombo
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel The Saffron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Saffron

Address: No 32/5, Galpotte Road | Koswatte, Nawala, Colombo, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 155 B&Bs / Inns in Colombo
Price Range: $27 - $46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel The Saffron 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a place where senses are delighted and desires indulged. A place of colours, sounds and unexpected pleasures. A place where you pick the pace and you choose the mood. Uncompromising on comfort the finely built guest rooms are tastefully decorated and designed with valuable antique furniture. Providing free Wi-Fi, The Saffron in Colombo has air-conditioned rooms, some with views of the lake. A satellite TV is included. En suite bathrooms have a shower. Guests can enjoy Indian, Arabic, Maldivian and Western food at the on-site Wadiya Restaurant or through 24-hour room service. The WADIYA style restaurant with beauty view of a lake. It has wide range of traditional Sri Lankan and Asian cuisine to choose from and specialize in corporate outing, Birthday parties or even a family outing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel The Saffron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing