We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best, but not bad!”
Review of Highbury Colombo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Highbury Colombo
Ranked #16 of 151 Colombo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Stayed at Highbury Colombo for 3 nights. Arrived at 1.40am into Colombo Airport and our pre-booked airport pick-up was there waiting for us in the arrivals hall. A friendly and chatty driver and comfortable car took us at the guest house for $35 USD. The driver showed us to our room but never gave us a key and there were no towels in the room which was disappointing as we wanted to shower after our long flight (lucky we brought our own). After a quick sleep we came down to reception at 10am and received a very muted and awkward welcome with no check-in procedure, offer of breakfast and directions/suggestions for the day ahead (basically no chat). Having said that, the chat improved over the next few days - maybe we caught them at a bad time. We had breakfast the following morning, fried eggs, banana bread, delicious dahl, curd and treacle, fruit and toast. We slept in the loft room which was comfortable. The bathroom was a little cramped and there were no supplied guest amenities so bring your own body wash and shampoo/conditioner. Air-con worked a treat and it was a very relaxing and quiet neighbourhood, a 300 rupee tuk tuk into the city. Wifi in the communal area only, beware of the mozzies! Overall not a bad start to our Sri Lankan getaway!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rach3lHoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manojicolombo, Owner at Highbury Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2014

Thank you for your review. We are sorry that you feel this way about us. Maybe I was very busy in the morning as most arrivals are for one night and all rooms are taken during the season. Since we are closed at 11 pm airport transfer is arranged and I'm sorry he did not ask you to sign on the register. I'm also apologies for not keeping towels in the room although extra set of towels are always kept in the cupboard. We do not have mosquitoes in the room as the rooms are sealed for air conditioning. as our house is inside out and because its a tropical country we do have a few mosquitoes especially after a heavy rain.
Once again I am sorry that you were not completely satisfied with your stay at our place.

With Blessings

Manoji

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (310)
There are newer reviews for Highbury Colombo
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

157 - 163 of 310 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for two nights in the suite room. The room was spacious, elegantly furnished and decorated. I especially liked the many and large windows. Good fans and AC. The bathroom however is really small. Everything gets wet when you shower as the shower is 20 cm from the toilet. The kithenette is ok for making coffee or tea. 

You also get access to a lovely garden and a lounge area inside. Unless you attract every insect ever alive, like I do, both these areas can be very nice to relax in. Wi-fi is also only accessable in the lounge. 

The host and her family are friendly and very pleasent. She had lot of good advice for both sightseeing and dining. 

The location is a bit bit from the center (Colombo 5), but there was always a tuk-tuk waiting on the corner. Make sure you buy your snacks or drinks before you head home though, as this is a residentcial area and not many stores etc. 

Highly recommended (if you can live without a pool and wi-fi in the room). 

Stayed: January 2014
2  Thank Clara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manojicolombo, Owner at Highbury Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2014

Thank you for your kind detailed review on Trip Advisor. As we do not have many guests coming from Norway your review was most valuable for us. I'm happy to inform you that the Suite room toilet was renovated last week and is much bigger now with a three feet shower area and a one foot distance from the rest of the area in the bathroom and it is also re tiled. This was the last bathroom to be renovated and it is completely done up with modern fittings.
We also have Wifi in the room on request.
I'm glad your were happy with our services and appreciated our house and hospitality and advise.
Hope you had a most wonderful holiday in Sri Lanka.

With Blessings

Manoji

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014 via mobile

This is a wonderful first port-of-call in your Sri Lanka journey. A beautiful little Geoffrey Bawa-esque building with a lovely garden in the front. Catch a cab straight from the airport so you can wake up to a traditional curry breakfast in the open plan dining room. Highly recommended!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Fitzcarraldo84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manojicolombo, Owner at Highbury Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at Highbury Colombo. We are delighted that we were able to meet your expectations in every aspect. It was a pleasure indeed having you with us.

With Blessings,

Manoji

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

This has to be the most beautiful and my overall favorite place I stayed during my month-long trip around Sri Lanka. I shared the Urban Nest room with my boyfriend, and it was a great place to unwind and recover from jet lag. This house is BEAUTIFUL. I would love to base my future home on the architecture and indoor-outdoor design of this house. It's CLEAN - no cockroaches in sight, which isn't something I can say about all guest houses.

The location is great, only a short walk (7-10 mins) to Galle road and maybe a 20 minute walk to many great areas and restaurants in Colombo. (Café on 5th, Commons Coffeehouse, Bars Café) Manoji and her husband are wonderfully inviting and kind, present when you need them but also give you space and privacy when you want it.

I will DEFINITELY be staying here again when my parents come to visit me. It is IDEAL.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ClaireThatTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manojicolombo, Owner at Highbury Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

It was a pleasure reading your wonderful review . We are delighted that we were able to meet your expectations in every aspect and was of assistance to you. It was our pleasure having you. We hope to see you again on your next return to Sri Lanka.

With Blessings,

Manoji

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

We are a family of five with teenagers and we stayed in the family room on our departure from Sri Lanka. We were tossing up whether to stay one or two nights (the second we were wondering whether we should be at Negombo so as to be closer to the airport) but within seconds of seeing the room and the beautiful setting we immediately asked if we could stay another night. We wished we had found this place earlier. It is often hard to find accommodation for 5 that is reasonable value and in a good location. This place is in a well to do area of Colombo- quiet residential streets. The same tuk-tuk drivers wait at the end of the street who will take you pretty much anywhere for around 300 rupees. We got to know them and they were pretty nice guys. So the location is great. The family room is very spacious and comfortable. There is tasteful artwork and it has many architectural books as well as books on Sri Lanka that makes it a very comfortable place to hang out. The breakfast was just lovely- extraordinarily generous and the owner made our teenagers the most delicious banana pancakes as a special treat. I would definitely recommend this place to stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Japtour2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manojicolombo, Owner at Highbury Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at Highbury Colombo. Having your lovely family with us was a great pleasure. Thank you for choosing Highbury Colombo for your stay. We wish you and your family all the very best in all your future endeavours.

With Blessings,

Manoji

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

I stayed 3 nights in upstairs room in the main house. Stylish house. Nice garden. Walking distance to Galle Road shops and 15 minute tuktuk to city area. Quiet, clean, good breakfast (at extra cost), helpful host. Good place to relax after 15 day bike ride around Sri Lanka.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
Thank Lindsay2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manojicolombo, Owner at Highbury Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Thank you for taking your time to write a review for us on Tripadvisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again on your return to Sri Lanka.

With Blessings,

Manoji

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

We had two rooms at this small hotel/guest house. The double was fully renovated tastefully with a particularly modern bathroom and although small was generally very nice. However we also had a triple in an annexe which was much less impressive. Although the bathroom was nice and the room very large the furniture in the room was very old and dated and looked to be items that had been deemed not good enough for the rest of the house. The kitchen was extremely basic.

This room rather lets down the rest of the house and the management is clearly rather embarrassed by it. Of course, they were not embarrassed enough not rent it out which is what they should do if they are concerned about poor reviews.

The location is quiet and just 15 minutes tuk tuk ride from the centre of Colombo. The breakfast,although not cheap,was pleasant.

Room Tip: Avoid the triple/family room until it is renovated.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holidaymakermaking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manojicolombo, Owner at Highbury Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Thank you for your review. What you are reffering to is a budget room given for very low cost and which is in a seperate old building. Appreciate your comments on the bathroom and comfort. Old antique furniture is purposely kept in that room as the room is in a heritage house and is one of the oldest remaining British houses in Colombo. I'm sorry that you were not able to appreciate its old charm.

With Blessings,

Manoji

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colombo hotels
3.1 mi away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
2.6 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
0.9 mi away
Colombo Courtyard
Colombo Courtyard
#9 of 54 in Colombo
778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
0.5 mi away
Ceylon City Hotel
Ceylon City Hotel
#26 of 54 in Colombo
262 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Ocean Colombo
The Ocean Colombo
#23 of 54 in Colombo
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highbury Colombo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highbury Colombo

Address: 14 / 1, Skelton Road | Havelock Town, Colombo, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Colombo
Price Range: $50 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Highbury Colombo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful rustic styled fully air conditioned apartments clean, bright and breezy located in the heart of Colombo in quiet, safe, peaceful surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Highbury Colombo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing