We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic introduction to Colombo and Sri Lanka”
Review of Highbury Colombo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Highbury Colombo
Ranked #16 of 151 Colombo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 16, 2013

From the pick-up at the airport to the room and breakfast everything at Highbury Colombo was perfect. I love the leafy garden with its scented plants and coconut tree. The en-suite room was spacious split-level and comfortable. Lovely views of roof tops and down to the garden. The breakfasts are superb, I took the Sri Lankan option which were cooked specially by the host. The hosts were very friendly and spent time talking and explaining the routes around town, where to eat and what to see as well as explaining the food. Totally recommendable.

Room Tip: As far as I know the rooms are all with a garden view, but the area and room was very quiet.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alhcookboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manojicolombo, Owner at Highbury Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2013

Thank you for taking time to write a review for us and also for awarding us with five stars. It was a great pleasure having you with us and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your positive feedback encourages us to continue delivering the service expected of us. I'm glad it exceeded your level of expectations keeping you comfortable and well cared for during your stay. We look forward to having you with us again on your next return to Sri Lanka.

With Blessings,

Manoji

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (310)
There are newer reviews for Highbury Colombo
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

176 - 182 of 310 reviews

Reviewed November 15, 2013

Colombo was manageable due to me being able to score a room in this unexpected oasis. Manoji was extremely helpful with information on a variety of things, I particularly enjoyed her spa recommendation. The location is convenient, short tuk tuk ride away from most of the main attractions in Colombo. The building itself is beautiful, lovely courtyard and the bathrooms a delight. Although there is no wifi in the rooms, the connection is fast in the main area of the house. I would definitely recommend this place and return to it if I'm back in Colombo.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ometepe2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manojicolombo, Owner at Highbury Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2013

Thank you for your lovely review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. It was a great pleasure having you with us. I'm glad you enjoyed the rain shower which was fixed in your bath room and you liked our guest rooms and design of the house. We certainly hope to welcome you back in the future.

With Blessings,

Manoji

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at Highbury Colombo. The house is quite beautiful and uniquely designed. It is located in a quiet neighborhood not far from most of what you want to see in Colombo.

Our room was on the top floor. It was nicely decorated and fairly large with a comfortable bed, ac, and a fan. The hot water is solar so it isn't very hot in the morning. We were told the wifi didn't work in the rooms, but it actually worked fine in our room after we got the correct password (the info on the door is incorrect).

Breakfast is delicious. I recommend the Sri Lankan breakfast--it will vary each day. Great coffee and fresh fruit too. Having breakfast at HIghbury gives you a chance to meet some of the other guests as well.

The owners are very nice and helpful. They really made our stay memorable.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BopperX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manojicolombo, Owner at Highbury Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2013

Thank you for your kind review and recommendation of Highbury Colombo. I write to confirm that during your stay what we had was an instant heating shower and probably it would have been set to a lower heat by a guest which we did not notice and we apologise for that. However, we have now changed it to a high pressured rain shower with a solar cum electric heating system.
I apologise for the incorrect wifi password which was written in the room. Although we were not officially giving wifi to the rooms we ensured that guests are able to access wifi from their rooms. We also had to change the password as it was hacked and now we are providing wifi to the rooms only on request and charges apply in providing wifi to the room. Once again I thank you for your generous compliments of our guest rooms and service and hope to see you again on your next visit to Sri Lanka.

With Blessings,

Manoji

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

The service was excellent and the place it's quiet... The room are well decorated and offer a nice view on the country. Nice swimming pool also. But i will said The menu of the restaurant is limited and after few meal I decide to try different restaurant.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louison D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manojicolombo, Owner at Highbury Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2013

Thank you for your kind review. However, I write to confirm that we do not have a swimming place at Highbury Colombo.

With Blessings,

Manoji

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

This was a wonderful start to our trip in Sri Lanka, we hope everywhere will be as good as Highbury! Manoji and her family were so friendly, welcoming and helpful. we were met at the airport from our very late flight, our rooms were beautiful (we stayed an extra night!) and we would love to return one day. peaceful spot with a wonderful lush garden, and just a short tuktuk to anywhere you want to go. feels like paradise in the city.

Room Tip: both garden view rooms are wonderful
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosieredpip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manojicolombo, Owner at Highbury Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2013

Thank you for your lovely review and also for awarding us with five stars. I'm delighted that our level of service exceeded your expectations keeping you comfortable during your stay. We hope to see you again on your next return to Sri Lanka.

With Blessings,

Manoji

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Our stay at the Highbury was far too short - we landed late but were met at the airport by our driver and had no problems at all getting to the guest house. The room was fantastic - split level and beautifully decorated. Unfortunately we had to leave the next morning but the owners were extremely helpful and organised a driver to take us to the bus station. Once at the bus station we decided to go to a different place across town and the driver was so concerned about our safety that he called the owners who called us to check all was ok - such fabulous and kind people. I would definitely stay here again if in Colombo as it is such a privilege to stay at someones home and the decor and furnishings were first rate.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vicky F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manojicolombo, Owner at Highbury Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2013

Thank you for your kind words on our service. Your positive feedback encourages us to continue delivering the service expected of us. It was a great pleasure having you with us and we hope to see you again in the near future.

With Blessings,

Manoji

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Our stay at Highbury was so magical. From the birds chirping in the morning to the breakfast and the amazing hosts. Eresha Weerasuriya was very friendly and most of all helpful. She recommended an assortment of restaurants and places to visit from which we could choose what most fitted our budget .We really got a good feel of Sri Lanka and it's character due to many books and leaflets left in the room .

The room at highbury was very clean and well maintained . There were many paintings in the room that kindled my interest. The garden view from the urban hideout is very natural and has many trees on which birds chirp on at the break of dawn . The room was well designed to fit the surroundings of the natural environment around .

Highbury was very peaceful and what stunned me the most was its very central location . A peaceful haven in a busy city . We loved our stay and highly recommend it to everyone .

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sharon t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manojicolombo, Owner at Highbury Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2013

Thank you for your generous compliments of Highbury Colombo. I am most heartened that my team's level of service exceeded your expectations keeping you comfortable and well cared for during your stay. We certainly hope to welcome you back in the near future.

With Blessings,

Manoji

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colombo hotels
3.1 mi away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
2.6 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
0.9 mi away
Colombo Courtyard
Colombo Courtyard
#9 of 54 in Colombo
778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
0.5 mi away
Ceylon City Hotel
Ceylon City Hotel
#26 of 54 in Colombo
262 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Ocean Colombo
The Ocean Colombo
#23 of 54 in Colombo
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highbury Colombo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highbury Colombo

Address: 14 / 1, Skelton Road | Havelock Town, Colombo, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Colombo
Price Range: $50 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Highbury Colombo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful rustic styled fully air conditioned apartments clean, bright and breezy located in the heart of Colombo in quiet, safe, peaceful surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Highbury Colombo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing