We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unique place”
Review of Highbury Colombo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Highbury Colombo
Ranked #15 of 140 Colombo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, AZ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“unique place”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

I stayed at Highbury Colombo for 4 nights. It was an amazing experience. Unique architecture, beautiful indoor and outdoor gardens, friendly people, hospitality, clean and comfy rooms come with the package. The management and the staff are very helpful.
I really enjoyed staying here and recommend to anyone who is looking for short term stay in Colombo.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nish R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manojicolombo, Owner at Highbury Colombo, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review us on trip advisor and we loved reading your amazing review of Highbury Colombo. We. Pride ourselves in being unique and different to typical establishment hotels. It is a great feeling to know that we have been successful in giving you a wonderful, relaxing and memorable stay. Thank you for sharing your wonderful comments with other travelers on Trip Advisor.

With Blessings

Manoji
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    62
    20
    10
    14
See reviews for
47
120
54
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Velika Gorica, Croatia
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Our tour of Sri Lanka begun in Colombo and our first accommodation was Highbury Colombo. Prior arrival I've contacted the owner, Mrs Manoji, who arranged an airport pick up for us for USD 35.

Here are some characteristics of Highbury Colombo:
-early check in available for USD 20
-tasty breakfast (coffee, tea, toast, butter, jam, fried eggs/omelette, fruit) - not included in room price
-huge room (suite) with AC and fans
-small bathroom with shower that isn't separated (bathroom is shower itself)
-small but adequate kitchen
-only common areas have wi-fi
-LKR 200-300 by to tuk-tuk to city centre
-nice residential neighborhood

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FerdoBoffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manojicolombo, Owner at Highbury Colombo, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Thank you your review and we appreciate your positive feed back on your stay at Highbury Colombo. It was a pleasure having you with us and we look forward to having you with us again on your next return to Sri Lanka for a brand new experience at Highbury Colombo.

With Blessings,

Manoji
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

Once again we trusted tripadvisor and were not disapointed. This hotel is more a travelers' house where you can meet fascinating people living there for long stays. The building is really beautiful: the owner's house is an old colonial house, just behind the building with rooms has a really charming and unique architecture. Common spaces are also charming and quiet. Rooms are clean, well decorated and well equiped. There is a very familial atmosphere. It is located in colombo 5, but you can get to colombo 1 in 5min and for less than 300 rps.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Benjamin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manojicolombo, Owner at Highbury Colombo, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review on Highbury Colombo! We appreciate your comments on our guest rooms and architecture . It was a pleasure having all of you and we do hope to see you again on your next return to Sri Lanka.

With Blessings,


Manoji
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Our friend booked this place for us to stay as it had a garden and it was a great place to stay. The owners greeted us with a lovely cup of coffee and chat. They offered suggestions where to eat and what to do. Organising taxis for us to the airport. It was just a short stroll to pick up a tuk tuk to take us where ever we wanted to go. The room was very clean and comfort able, just like a home away from home.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RuthHowes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manojicolombo, Owner at Highbury Colombo, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. It was a pleasure having you with us. We look forward to having you again on your next return to Sri Lanka.


With Blessings

Manoji
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We started our trip in Sri Lanka at the Highbury Colombo and were greeted by the friendly owner with a nice cup of tea. Our room was located upstairs and very airy and well designed. It could have been cleaner, but we later found out that most of Sri Lanka's guesthouses in this price range lack cleanliness. The design of the hotel is quite special with a courtyard, lots of nice plants and a garden area that is home to lots of birds. The location of this place is okay. We usually walked about half an hour into town and took a tuktuk back. The tuktuks in Colombo are very tourist friendly, because they are metered.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelSisi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manojicolombo, Owner at Highbury Colombo, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Thank you for taking time to write a review for us on Trip Advisor . It was a pleasure having you and we look forward to having you with us on your next return to Sri Lanka.

With Blessings

Manoji
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed in Highbury for only 1 night on our vacation in Srilanka as we wanted to travel more... but to be honest with you this is fantastic decorated and maintained bungalow... i wish i could have spent more time...

We have booked room by Agoda and got some discount.. we stayed in small room on ground floor for few hours and then shifted to first floor (We arrived early, so this happened).. Our room on first floor was fantastic.. well decorated... room had some wooden stairs which takes one to bed area.. which was giving superb look to room.. it was big enough room with basic things (no TV or fridge - It was told to us that room wont have such facility)...

Reception area of bunglow was very well decorated (Check profile picture of place.. it was same)..

I like the place.. it was fantastic value for money in Colombo and would love to go again...We dint had any food there, so no comments on that...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nirmal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manojicolombo, Owner at Highbury Colombo, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Thank you for your descriptive review. We are delighted that you and your family enjoyed our food and hospitality and had a comfortable stay with us. We appreciate the sentiments expressed and your thorough recommendation of Highbury Colombo.
We would like to welcome you to Highbury Colombo for another memorable longer stay.

With Blessings,

Manoji
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We paid 60usd in total from Agoda to have a room in highbury, first of all its location is not easy to find, we spent an amount on hiring taxi to reach that place, also local have no idea about this place so we reach there by Google GPS. Since we thought we will arrive in midnight at the beginning so our room was not prepared in advance, we waited for 20mins to get the room done. The lady owner is fine but annoyed my partner by telling him don't smoke in her place (which my partner later on decided will never stay in homestay), we were being told their main building is full so they put us to another room outside the building, room is very simple, no TV, no view, group of ants inside the toilet. The door lock was broken and we couldn't go out because no safebox there, so a guy was repairing that for another 2 hours. Another day we requested to check out for 1 hour late, however the place owner couldn't do us this favor but consider previous day we wasted our time on their lock. Anyway we checked out on time, this is a clean room in Colombo, but not much you can enjoy, with this price you almost can book a 3stars hotel inside the city.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Quak M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manojicolombo, Owner at Highbury Colombo, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback on our room rate and atmosphere. I agree that there are plenty of hotels cheaper than ours as they pay less tax as a hotel and 100% less on consumption of electricity.
Highbury Colombo is well known for its tranquil atmosphere and we are saddened by the fact that you could not enjoy it. We are committed to always providing the best stay experience thru out personalised service which has generated positive feedback from our guests. We do not intend having TV's in guestrooms as it takes away the tranquil atmosphere . Also it is clearly mentioned in our description that we have no TV's and have designated smoking areas.
This reservation came from Agoda with a special note on late night check in and a high floor room. Our earliest check in time is 2 pm and guest arrived at 12 noon instead of late night. I believe this is a review written on the dissappointment of not getting a high floor room. I would have been happy to give a high floor room if one was available. There were high floor rooms more expensive available at the time the booking was made. But a ground floor room was booked instead.
We are sorry that the lock broke at the time it was opened. At times things do happen which is beyond our control. It was unexpected as the lock was new but we tried our best to expedite replacement.
I totally deny that you were not granted extra hour for check out. Infact we gave you time till 12.30 when our check in time was 11 a.m. We asked for the room as the next guest has already arrived.

With Blessings

Manoji
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.9 mi away
Colombo Courtyard
Colombo Courtyard
#9 of 52 in Colombo
750 reviews
2.6 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
3.1 mi away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#6 of 52 in Colombo
1,760 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Ocean Colombo
The Ocean Colombo
#24 of 52 in Colombo
279 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ceylon City Hotel
Ceylon City Hotel
#28 of 52 in Colombo
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highbury Colombo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highbury Colombo

Property: Highbury Colombo
Address: 14 / 1, Skelton Road | Havelock Town, Colombo, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 140 B&Bs / Inns in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Highbury Colombo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful rustic styled fully air conditioned apartments clean, bright and breezy located in the heart of Colombo in quiet, safe, peaceful surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Highbury Colombo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing