We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An enchanting place in the heart of Colombo”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Highbury Colombo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Highbury Colombo
Ranked #16 of 134 Colombo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
“An enchanting place in the heart of Colombo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

I first came to Highbury by hazard last September after I had spent several days in these typical business hotels due to work. Initially I planned to stay 1,2 days, finally I extended my stay by a week. Already 6 months later I am back at this lovely place and I enjoy every single day.

It is the combination of fascinating architecture, the tranquility in this bustling heart of the city and the hospitality of the owner.
Already when you enter the garden and the way to the house you feel this peaceful atmosphere around, topped by the chirping of birds.

The house has this very unique charisma, tropical Sri Lankan architecture combined with contemporary design, the rooms are on different levels connected by small stairs and bridges. Everywhere you find these little details and tasteful decoration. Each room has his unique flair, I adore every morning waking up with this amazing view surrounded by palm trees and the evening sitting on the balcony (it is the hideout apartment where I am currently staying).

Highbury is owned and managed by a very charming and hospitable family, very helpful and open minded.

There is free wi-fi in the house what is important for me due to the fact that I have to work from time to time and have to be online.

I enjoy every single day at this calm oasis in the heart of Colombo....highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Britta S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manojicolombo, Owner at Highbury Colombo, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Britta,

Thank you so much for taking your time to write a review for Highbury Colombo and for awarding us with five stars. We look forward to having you with us again on your next business visit to Sri Lanka.

With Blessings

Manoji
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    60
    20
    10
    14
See reviews for
45
118
53
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

A delightful B&B with charming English-speaking Sri Lankan hosts and conveniently located in a leafy suburb just 2 blocks from Galle Road. Delicious Sri Lankan style breakfast was served in the Geoffrey Bawa-inspired downstairs living area and our "urban-hidout" room in the treetops of the garden was a private, simply furnished and comfortable retreat from busy Colombo. I'm sure the hosts would have happily provided a more western style breakfast if we wanted it - eggs were offered and their coffee was the real thing anyway! The air con was quiet (a rare thing in SL) and the fridge kept our drinks cool. This was so much better that a boxy hotel room.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThursdaysChild52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manojicolombo, Owner at Highbury Colombo, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We are glad you enjoyed staying at Highbury Colombo and we look forward to having you with us again for a brand new experience in the Urban Hideout which is refurbished now.

With Blessings

Manoji
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
llondon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

The b&b was very centrally located just off a quiet tree lined street 8 mins walk from the main part of Colombo. The owner was very pleasant and accommodating. The rooms were of average up keep.

Just a couple points of note, the internet doesn't work and payment is cash only if you haven't booked and paid ahead of time.

We didnt have breakfast as it is only served between 7-8.30.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gumbiestar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manojicolombo, Owner at Highbury Colombo, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for your review. Due to a damage of the cable in the area we did not have wifi for two days. I also write to confirm that we provided alternate internet facility on those days.

Breakfast is usually till 8.30 a.m but on special request made it is extended till 10 a.m. mostly for guests who arrive after 12 midnight.


With Blessings

Manoji
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
asnieres
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed two nights here on arrival and one one month later before taking our plane back. The architecture of the house is beautiful and interesting, our room was big and quiet. The house is well located and we found interesting shopping for clothes only 5mn away by foot ( much more interesting as the places indicated in our guides). The family helped us solving some problems. The only reserve I would make is that the lady is sometimes helpful and sometimes not implicated, that would explain the difference of appreciation among the visitors.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marcasnieres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manojicolombo, Manager at Highbury Colombo, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for taking time to write a review for us. It took many hours to solve the issues you had as you lost an Iphone in a cab and I'm sorry I was too busy to help you out at times as we had other guests with issues too. But we managed to find your phone in the end and I hope you appreciated it.

With Blessings

Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
78 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Highbury provides a beautiful escape from the hurly burly of Colombo. In a lovely residential area but close enough to all the central attractions.

The house and gardens are lovely and there is some great art - and the overall feeling is one of tranquility.

BUT..... the room we had had definitely seen better days - the fridge was a bit rusty and things fell out when you opened then door - and service was really disappointing too.

When we arrived we were told that there was no key to our apartment as the previous guests had left with it (which was fair enough) but five hours later the owner still hadn't got us a replacement which meant we had to go out for the evening and leave our room with all our valuables unlocked.

Breakfast was also off-hand. We were given just one cup of coffee, we had to make our own toast and the only cooked food we were offered was cold scrambled eggs left over from previous guests.

A real shame - as it had the potentail to be a fab place to stay!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DJguapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manojicolombo, Owner at Highbury Colombo, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thank you for your review. I'm sorry I could not replace the keys on time due to unavoidable circumstances. Guests taking keys with them has become a common occurrence now and we have suffiecient duplicates now.
The fridge we have now is new and is not rusty. We have removed fridges from other rooms as we live close to the beach and the fridges become rusty very fast.
We do not include breakfast in our voucher and it is provided only at the request of the guest.
I deny totally that we ever gave old scrambled eggs. Our kitchen is right next to the dining table and guests can actually see us making eggs.

With Blessings,

Manoji
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

We had a nice stay at Highbury Colombo in February 2013. Manoji was very serviceminded and friendly and made our stay pleasant. She helped us arrange airport transfer and other transport. The house and garden were very stylish but our (standard) room was quite basic. Highbury Colombo is situated in a quiet and nice villa area, 10 min tuk-tuk ride to city center.

We would definitely recommend other to stay at Highbury Colombo!

Room Tip: It was not a big price difference between the rooms so we recommend you to take the more expensive o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flipski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manojicolombo, Owner at Highbury Colombo, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review us. I'm glad you had a pleasant stay at our place.
We look forward to having you with us again on your next return to Sri Lanka.

With Regards,


Manoji
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

We booked a stay in the hotels heritage room which their website says has 2 double beds.

It does not it only has 1 double bed !
We had hoped to share the room with our 2 young children and luckily found out before we arrived that the hotels website is very misleading.
I guess its possible they were hoping to let us arrive and try and charge us for another room.
Whatever we asked the hotel for some help and gave them a chance to put things right and they were totally unhelpful and even lied to us saying they had no more rooms available when they were still bookable on line.
As we found at a late stage we ended up paying a higher rate to book elsewhere - dont make the same mistake as us and believe their website.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manojicolombo, Owner at Highbury Colombo, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
I totally deny the contents of your review.
I write to confirm that we have not made a mistake in our website. It clearly states that the Heritage Room has one bedroom and a living room. I also state that you have fraudulantly paid for only two persons being totally aware that you are a family of four persons. We mentioned to you that we have other rooms available but you wanted us to provide you with a free room and this review is in retaliation of not providing you with a free room.
You certainly would have had to pay much more than USD 58 for 4 persons.
We have lost dearly many times as many families are doing this to us.

With Blessings,

Manoji
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.9 mi away
Colombo Courtyard
Colombo Courtyard
#8 of 50 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
1.9 mi away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#5 of 50 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,653 reviews
0.6 mi away
OZO Colombo
OZO Colombo
#11 of 50 in Colombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
3.1 mi away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
0.5 mi away
Ceylon City Hotel
Ceylon City Hotel
#27 of 50 in Colombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highbury Colombo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highbury Colombo

Property: Highbury Colombo
Address: 14 / 1, Skelton Road | Havelock Town, Colombo, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 134 B&Bs / Inns in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Highbury Colombo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful rustic styled fully air conditioned apartments clean, bright and breezy located in the heart of Colombo in quiet, safe, peaceful surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Highbury Colombo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing