We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical Atmosphere”
Review of Highbury Colombo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Highbury Colombo
Ranked #17 of 155 Colombo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Excellent place to experience and live the pure Sri Lankan ambience and share the house of a welcoming, lovely and friendly family. Other then a hotel, it is a quiet colonial style distinguished residence, surrounded by an inspirational nature and where you can be at home and manage your own daily life. Transport to center of Colombo and major attractions is very convenient. Convenient also for trips in the surroundings of Colombo. I recommend it strongly for artistic people, writers and business people that expect to stay couple of days to 15 days in Colombo.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
1  Thank BenanSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manojicolombo, Owner at Highbury Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2012

Thank you for the positive review with generous expressions about our place.
Your review gives us a lot of encouragement for a better service. We look forward to seeing you again.
Manoji

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (317)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

268 - 274 of 317 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2012

The location is perfect! Just a short and very inexpensive tuktuk ride from the Colombo Fort Station. The best part of this hotel is that it's a quiet retreat at the end of a long day of touring the busy Colombo streets. The owner was very friendly and inviting. She even allowed us to check-in early, which was much appreciated after a long airport layover and a very early arrival time. The room is clean and the balcony overlooks the owner's lush tropical garden. Very hard to believe that it is so close to the traffic congested streets of Colombo! There is a nice breeze coming from the large windows (no air conditioning in room but it isn't necessary due to the breeze). The owner serves a generous and nice breakfast for whatever time you need in the morning. Our only suggestion is to add the mosquito netting over the bed since we did get quite a few mosquito bites. Lovely place to stay in Colombo!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank derek c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manojicolombo, Owner at Highbury Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2012

Thank you for your review. It was encouraging and we hope to maintain this standard through out and improve further.

Manoji

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2012

We found it a perfect place to stay. While in the heart of Colombo it feels like being in a forest, in our apartment overlooking the treetops, one awakes with birds singing. The house is finely designed in oriental style, and the very kind landlady and family make you really feel at home. Also ideal because the house is two blocks away from one of Colombo's main streets, close to shopping centres, supermarkets, for everything one might need, and most importantly, 10 minutes away from the beach. A lovely home worth a second visit.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maarten L L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 9, 2012

Thank you so much for taking time to write a review. We are happy that you felt comfortable with us. We do hope to see you again.

Manoji

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2012

Great location and a beautifully designed room has made my stay perfect in Colombo. Walking distance from Majestic City, Barefoot and other places in Bambarapitiya. Also, you can use washing machine and dryer for reasonable price. Perfect base for people who travel around Sri Lanka for long or short duration, nice to stop here in Colombo and relax for a while. Attached bathroom, hot water shower, hot water pot, & small fridge in the room. Charming English-speaking owners.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kanaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manojicolombo, Owner at Highbury Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2012

Thank you for your review. We look forward to seeing you again.

Manoji

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank zagara72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Alle Zimmer sind besonders
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank hannesbaern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2016, traveled with friends
Thank spacecontro l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colombo hotels
3.1 mi away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
0.5 mi away
The Ocean Colombo
The Ocean Colombo
#23 of 54 in Colombo
308 reviews
2.6 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
2.1 mi away
Taru Villas - Lake Lodge
Taru Villas - Lake Lodge
#1 of 155 in Colombo
798 reviews
0.8 mi away
Moss Colombo
Moss Colombo
#3 of 155 in Colombo
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highbury Colombo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highbury Colombo

Address: 14 / 1, Skelton Road | Havelock Town, Colombo, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 155 B&Bs / Inns in Colombo
Price Range: $52 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Highbury Colombo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful rustic styled fully air conditioned apartments clean, bright and breezy located in the heart of Colombo in quiet, safe, peaceful surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Highbury Colombo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing