We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Urban Hideout"... The name says it all!”
Review of Highbury Colombo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Highbury Colombo
Ranked #16 of 135 Colombo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"Urban Hideout"... The name says it all!”
Reviewed June 11, 2012

The location is perfect! Just a short and very inexpensive tuktuk ride from the Colombo Fort Station. The best part of this hotel is that it's a quiet retreat at the end of a long day of touring the busy Colombo streets. The owner was very friendly and inviting. She even allowed us to check-in early, which was much appreciated after a long airport layover and a very early arrival time. The room is clean and the balcony overlooks the owner's lush tropical garden. Very hard to believe that it is so close to the traffic congested streets of Colombo! There is a nice breeze coming from the large windows (no air conditioning in room but it isn't necessary due to the breeze). The owner serves a generous and nice breakfast for whatever time you need in the morning. Our only suggestion is to add the mosquito netting over the bed since we did get quite a few mosquito bites. Lovely place to stay in Colombo!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank derek c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manojicolombo, Owner at Highbury Colombo, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Thank you for your review. It was encouraging and we hope to maintain this standard through out and improve further.

Manoji
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    61
    20
    10
    14
See reviews for
46
120
53
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bergamo, Italy
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2012

We found it a perfect place to stay. While in the heart of Colombo it feels like being in a forest, in our apartment overlooking the treetops, one awakes with birds singing. The house is finely designed in oriental style, and the very kind landlady and family make you really feel at home. Also ideal because the house is two blocks away from one of Colombo's main streets, close to shopping centres, supermarkets, for everything one might need, and most importantly, 10 minutes away from the beach. A lovely home worth a second visit.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maarten L L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Highbury Colombo, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Thank you so much for taking time to write a review. We are happy that you felt comfortable with us. We do hope to see you again.

Manoji
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2012

Great location and a beautifully designed room has made my stay perfect in Colombo. Walking distance from Majestic City, Barefoot and other places in Bambarapitiya. Also, you can use washing machine and dryer for reasonable price. Perfect base for people who travel around Sri Lanka for long or short duration, nice to stop here in Colombo and relax for a while. Attached bathroom, hot water shower, hot water pot, & small fridge in the room. Charming English-speaking owners.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kanaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manojicolombo, Owner at Highbury Colombo, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Thank you for your review. We look forward to seeing you again.

Manoji
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.9 mi away
Colombo Courtyard
Colombo Courtyard
#8 of 51 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
1.9 mi away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#6 of 51 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,692 reviews
0.6 mi away
OZO Colombo
OZO Colombo
#10 of 51 in Colombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
3.1 mi away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
0.5 mi away
Ceylon City Hotel
Ceylon City Hotel
#28 of 51 in Colombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highbury Colombo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highbury Colombo

Property: Highbury Colombo
Address: 14 / 1, Skelton Road | Havelock Town, Colombo, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 135 B&Bs / Inns in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Highbury Colombo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful rustic styled fully air conditioned apartments clean, bright and breezy located in the heart of Colombo in quiet, safe, peaceful surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Highbury Colombo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing