We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite place in a busy city”
Review of Zylan Luxury Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Zylan Luxury Villa
Ranked #18 of 154 Colombo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 29, 2012

A Boutique Hotel, located in Colombo 7, a quite and great area in Colombo. Service: just great. People: very friendly and service oriented. A pool: on top of the house, perfect for a small swim after sightseeing or business.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank evap2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (170)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

131 - 137 of 170 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

It was well situated for our needs to watch cricket. The staff were supper accommodating and friendly. The villa is clean, spacious and beautifully furnished.
The breakfast was very good with a large variety. I recommend room 204 as it has a lovely big balcony.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TMAguide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Having read good reviews on this website, we booked 2 rooms at Zylan Villa for August 2012. we booked via Agoda. This was supposed to be the end of our 3-weeks trip in Sri Lanka. Unfortunately, after a day of travel, and once we finally found the place (nobody knew it in the neighborhood), the manager told us that they had no booking for us and that the hotel was full...

So after some long and painful discussions (still not sure if they screwed up or if Agoda did...), they organised a room for us at the Galle Face Hotel. I must say that i would have much preferred to stay at this new hotel.... There are 10 rooms, the design is impressive and great, the rooms were great (from what we could see) and the mini-pool (yes mini) on the roof was very appealing to our kids. The food was also excellent (they served our kids some food while we were waiting).

So i would recommend you double check before going there...

Room Tip: make sure you have one....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BernieBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Before stumbling across Zylan, I stayed at a few large hotels in Colombo and was an ardent fan of Galle Face Hotel for its unique history and faded charm.

However, Zylan will be a welcome addition to my Colombo accommodation dictionary because:

1. After many days in the hustle and bustle of Sri Lanka, the location of Zylan in Rosemead Place's relative quiet was really good for a relaxing winding down and finish to our holiday.

2. Zylan is beautifully decorated. On first look, one sees a nondescript driveway and facade. After checking in, one walks past the lobby, through a side sliding door, into a large lounge/living room. I felt like I was staying in someone's large mansion, which was quite a change from being ushered into one of the many rooms in a mainstream hotel.

3. It was obvious that the manager Helen had paid a lot of attention to detail in designing a comfortable experience for guests. I liked the high ceiling in the common living room, lots of natural light and large couches on which to read a plethora of magazines, the grand piano in the corner and delicate finishings like decorative tiles, airwells, paintings. Tall people will find that Zylan offers a lot of space and doesn't feel cramped. You also won't bump your head while walking through door frames and the beds are generously sized.

4. Bathroom is luxurious and clean with all the mod cons and fittings. Everything works, there is no problem with water pressure or taps going hot and cold. Bedroom is clean and quiet.

5. Staff is attentive and polite, but not intrusive. In the course of transporting our luggage the porter damaged one of the handles of a suitcase. When the damage was pointed out, the staff promptly and politely repaired the handle, with no drama or fuss.

6. The only thing which somewhat disappointed was the breakfast (guests can order unlimited helpings of items from an a la carte menu). The choices are simple, yet the food took longer than expected to arrive and some items were not done as requested. For example, cornflakes in milk which does not need much preparation, took much longer to arrive than scrambled eggs, and scrambled eggs and mushrooms arrived without mushrooms.

7. Zylan is a 10-to 15 min walk to Siddhalepa Ayurvedic Spa, which offers good Ayurvedic body massages for Rs. 2800/hr.

The price is reasonable for the boutique and exclusive experience. Would stay there again.

Room Tip: Deluxe suite was really nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SinyeeKoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Love the decor and warm hospitality! The breakfast was very yummy. Pleasantly surprised when a group of staff presented a birthday cake to me. Very memorable stay indeed! I wish I have more money to stay a few nights more.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shoppingyogi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We stayed one night is Villa Zylan, what a lovely place. Very boutique arty style, with great decor. Our room had a huge corner balcony and the facilities are great, lovely pool and good gym. We ordered room service and the food was excellent. Overall a lovely hotel, beautifully designed and 10 minutes in a tuk tuk (250 rupees) from Galle road. The hotel is in a very nice, upmarket area. Very impressed, would stay again

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deborah O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Located in a very nice residential area, this is a great option for those who prefer smaller facilities. The hotel looks like a luxury home (perhaps it was at some point in the past) changed into a hotel. The common areas are elegant and charming (piano, sofas, plants, etc) and there is a very welcoming pool on the roof. Rooms are clean and confortable. Vharamahadevi Park and Odel, for those who want to do some shopping, are located on a walking distance from the hotel. All in all, a great option to stay in Colombo.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BGR78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colombo hotels
1.8 mi away
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
2.0 mi away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
1.3 mi away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#9 of 54 in Colombo
1,927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
1.7 mi away
Colombo Court Hotel & Spa
1.7 mi away
Mandarina Colombo
Mandarina Colombo
#14 of 54 in Colombo
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zylan Luxury Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zylan Luxury Villa

Address: 115 Rosmead Place | Colombo 7, Colombo, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 154 B&Bs / Inns in Colombo
Price Range: $91 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Zylan Luxury Villa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Zylan Luxury Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing