We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful and serene” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Seema Malaka Temple

Seema Malaka Temple
Book In Advance
More Info
$75.00*
and up
Colombo Sightseeing and Shopping Private Tour Including Lunch
Ranked #15 of 144 things to do in Colombo
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Colombo
Level Contributor
62 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Beautiful and serene”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

Often visit this place. So quiet and serene. Ideal place to sit and meditate overlooking the Beira Lake. One of the must see places in Colombo.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Eresha w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    117
    40
    10
    4
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
151 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Scenic and worths a photo”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

My first impression was good, no entrance fee no donation..

We were lucky to bump into a local wedding held in the Seema Malaka Temple, We could see how the traditional Sri lankan wedding looks like.

Designed by Sri Lankan architect Geoffrey Bawa, the temple is built on the Beira Lake, which gives such peaceful and stable feeling. Surrounding by many Buddha, it is scenic to capture beautiful pictures from different angles.

I would say it is no harm to stop by and visit this temple for a little while, it is convenient and easy to be found by car/ walk.

Cheers
D

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DominiqueUltee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foshan, China
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“it is just a temple overwater”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

i was so excited to see the temple over water, but after i been there, it is just temple over water! the water around the temple is green colour! pollution?? there are some clothes hanging near the Buddha!!! Excuser me?!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nikki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Oasis in a busy city”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

I visited for a brief period of time on both of my days in Colombo. It is calm and peaceful in a crazy city.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank BWtraveled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
70 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Peaceful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

I just love how its setting and surrounding. Its so peaceful once you enter the small island. City views are amazing as you are covered by it and the lake.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank KrishanRodrigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seema Malaka Temple also viewed

 
Colombo, Western Province
Colombo, Western Province
 

Been to Seema Malaka Temple? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing