We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for short stay”
Review of Shalimar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Shalimar Hotel
Ranked #51 of 151 Colombo B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Under budget hotel, this one tops the list. I was a bit reluctant to book this hotel but since it was on a sudden note and no other hotel was available, took it and thank god I did so. It deserves more than 3* stars. Convenient and reasonable be it rooms, staff or food everything was up to my expectations. Breakfast was served at second floor- crowded at peak hours with adjacent bar. Wi-fi was complimentary with descent speed. No problems faced from staff side as well. Room service was timely and they even changed the towels regularly even if unsused. Altogether it was a nice experience but being a budget hotel, don’t expect too many luxuries or comfort here. Good for short stay though.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
Thank jayden64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (209)
There are newer reviews for Shalimar Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

91 - 97 of 209 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2013

I spent half of a night and one morning at this hotel as a transit. Nothing bad to say not a luxury or leisure hotel obviously- everything was as explained by other reviewers: it is conveniently located nearby the old fort of Colombo and Pettah area. The surroundings are not great but nothing bad or dangerous. There was a bad smell in my room when I came but the room itself was incredibly comfortable and clean - not a single sign of dust. The bad smell coming probably from bad plumbing system in this district it went away after we opened the AC. The rest of the hotel is clean and good enough. The interior patio is quite pleasant for breakfasts and it is very quiet. Staff was very helpful in helping me organizing my itinerary. Breakfast was ok. I had requested a driver to pick me up at the airport and he was there right on time. Considering the price, i I would recommend it for its efficient and good service.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BertoldV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Not much far from Ford railway station, in fact very close to mardana , so location wise its good... it was decently clean and i find no issues staying there ... they accept the card , and the staff and manger there are fan of Indian crickets as well , specially Virat Kohli :) ... overall value hotel and recommended to stay ..

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Priyanka A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Shalimar is a nice enough place to stay. I paid roughly 40 USD per night for what was quite a large room, complete with air conditioning (though the units are a bit loud, as others have mentioned) and working hot water (a bonus given some of the other places I stayed in Sri Lanka).

Note that you have to ask if you want your room cleaned, and new bottles of water. They were happy to do it when I asked (and didn't charge me) but wouldn't have done it otherwise. WIfi was available but seemed a bit intermittent some days.

The hotel provided an airport pick up for about 25 USD, which was great given I didn't clear customs etc until 1 AM.

I though the location is quite good - it's in an industrial area by Maradana Station. It's about 20 minutes walk to the Fort Station, and about 35-40 minutes walk to the Cinnamon Grand Hotel and Crescat Mall. A tuk-tuk to either should be about 250-400 Rupees.

Hotel restaurant was a bit average, but the staff there tried very hard. As others have mentioned, reception staff could be a bit more smiley, but they were always happy to help when I asked questions.

Would recommend if you want somewhere cheap, but clean, in Colombo.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bad-Jelly-123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Shalimar is a great budget hotel, very clean and has good facilities. The only downside is that the staff needed some training in customer service. No-one looked like they wanted to be there but if you can look past that its great for the price.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NKelly186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed at this hotel as seemed good value for an a/c room in Colombo. We had an airport pick up which was good and cost 20 dollars, we arrived early in the morning and our room was available which was good. The room was average, quite clean, ok bathroom. Very loud air conditioning unit and generally a lot of noise both from the road and inside the hotel (building works). The room wasn't cleaned during our stay. Wifi was available in the communal areas but these were not areas you would want to sit in!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SAA988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

This hotel looks like an ordinary hotel but its value for money. I went for my honeymoon in sept 2012 and we stayed 3 nights at Shalimar hotel. when we arrived late at night we had no option to go out as the hotel management warned us that its not safe for foreigners to step out late at night. We ordered from the hotel and food was not delicious at all though apart from that. Room service was great and Staff was very friendly.
highly recommended if you plan to stay all day out and come back to the hotel for a good sleep.

Room Tip: corner suites are large and sunny.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FIZALI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colombo hotels
1.4 mi away
CityRest Fort
CityRest Fort
#5 of 151 in Colombo
370 reviews
1.3 mi away
City Beds The Regent
City Beds The Regent
#4 of 151 in Colombo
387 reviews
1.9 mi away
Comfort@15
Comfort@15
#27 of 151 in Colombo
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Colombo City Hostel
Colombo City Hostel
#4 of 150 in Colombo
94 reviews
2.3 mi away
Drift BnB Colombo
Drift BnB Colombo
#2 of 151 in Colombo
458 reviews
1.5 mi away
Casons B&B
Casons B&B
#31 of 151 in Colombo
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shalimar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shalimar Hotel

Address: 46, Panchikawatte Road, Colombo, Sri Lanka (Formerly Shalimar Holidays)
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Colombo
Price Range: $35 - $62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Shalimar Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Shalimar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing