We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not stay at this hotel! Filthy and disgusting!”
Review of Shalimar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Shalimar Hotel
Ranked #34 of 138 Colombo B&B and Inns
Rayong, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Do not stay at this hotel! Filthy and disgusting!”
Reviewed December 20, 2012

I booked this hotel after reading the reviews and decided that it would be OK for a few hours sleep en route to Kandy. We arrived in Sri Lanka around 1.30 am and had to phone the hotel because the airport pickup we had arranged failed to turn up. We got to the hotel around 2.15 am and were shown to our gloomy, dark and filthy room. The sheets were the only thing clean in the room. The door had no proper lock, just a metal latch to prevent anyone coming in. The bathroom had not been cleaned in months. The dirt was visible everywhere. Even the cheap rugs were filthy as well as the stair carpet. The 'hotel' - doesn't deserve to be called a hotel It was so disgusting that we checked out by 6am. Paying to stay in a room like that even for a few hours was not a pleasant way to start our holiday,

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank minxy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    91
    60
    16
    9
See reviews for
13
106
35
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

Second stay at end of holiday. after long train journey very friendly efficient check in. This hotel is good value and they dont charge extra to pay by card which other similar range hotels did.

The hotel is clean and has a colonial style feel with big rooms and good air con in rooms that have it. beds are comfortable and bathrooms adequate.

special mention for the restaurant staff who are really genuinely friendly and nice to be remembered from our first stay. food would embarass some higher end hotels and is reasonably priced.

hotel has a car for hotel pick ups and drop offs which is reasonably priced and efficient.

Only a short tuk tum ride from station.

What else can i say! Would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank penguin000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Situated quite far from airport (takes around an hour to reach). Rooms are clean but the staff has little value for customers. No proper guidance to visit places in Colombo. No good restaurants nearby. All you can see towards righ of hotel is automobile shops to a far stretch. Food at hotel restaurant was not very impressive. Choose this hotel only if you run out of any other options.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vibha_88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

This hotel can be an option when you are on a transit or not staying more than 2 nights.Nothing negative about the facilities you get in the rooms: AC,Clean bathroom,comfortable bed,wifi(very slow),clean toiletories,room size and prompt service.
The problem with the hotel is its set up.The rooms are so dimly lit that u feel gloomy and fall asleep as soon you enter the room.Its impossible to know whether its day,night or raining outside.We had a room on the back side with the restaurant adjacent to the room.The windows of our room was permanently fixed as restaurant was beside them and you can hear hotel staffs chatting(it feels they are just next to you) when you are using the bathroom(sometimes it feels intimidating).
Service in the hotel is prompt and the boys are very polite and hospitable.The restaurant is decent if you want to sit with a beer and novel or wanna surf the net and have a fag coz the food there is not upto the mark.
We paid 9500++ LKR for 2 nights.
Overall its a nice budget option with almost all the facilities you need for ur stay but the gloomy set up may feel a bit annoying.Its cheaper when compared to other options in the same category in Colombo.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Digvijoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

stayed in colombo for the cricket and the hotel is perfectly placed. Clean, cheap, with spacious rooms that you can access the wifi in so ideal for a stop over or when you need a central hotel on a budget.

dont expect luxuries, and the restaurant wont win any awards!

dont choose a room at the front if youre a light sleeper!

Room Tip: rooms at the back protect you from traffic noise. no lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank londonmammal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jodhpur, India
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Great location, nice clean rooms, hot shower, great wifi reception!
Very good value for the money,the staff are nice and friendly! They even offered us a room to shower after we checked out before our bus!!!!!
I would deffently come back and recommend this to everybody!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noam297668
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

I stayed in Shalimar along with my cousin for a few days during World T20. It's a fairly old building on one of the busy thoroughfares in an area of the city known for auto spare parts; so it's quite noisy alright, but it is quite close to the Premadasa Stadium - a short LKR 100 tuk-tuk ride gets you to the venue - and quite close to Fort Railway station and Odel too.. The room I'd booked was a deluxe double room, which was quite spacious, about 300 sq ft in area. The issue i had with the room was that the beds were at one end of the room and the A/C was on the other side, so it took a good 30 mins to get the room cool enough and because there's no ceiling or table fan, you're left to stew in the room till the A/C takes effect.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Prabhuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colombo hotels
1.6 mi away
The Steuart by Citrus
The Steuart by Citrus
#20 of 52 in Colombo
284 reviews
1.5 mi away
Grand Oriental Hotel
Grand Oriental Hotel
#37 of 52 in Colombo
526 reviews
1.8 mi away
Renuka City Hotel
Renuka City Hotel
#22 of 52 in Colombo
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
CityRest Fort
CityRest Fort
#5 of 138 in Colombo
353 reviews
1.3 mi away
City Beds The Regent
City Beds The Regent
#3 of 138 in Colombo
367 reviews
1.5 mi away
Casons B&B
Casons B&B
#28 of 138 in Colombo
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shalimar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shalimar Hotel

Property: Shalimar Hotel
Address: 46, Panchikawatte Road, Colombo, Sri Lanka (Formerly Shalimar Holidays)
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 138 B&Bs / Inns in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Shalimar Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Shalimar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing