We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”
Review of Shalimar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Shalimar Hotel
Ranked #32 of 136 Colombo B&B and Inns
Conwy, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good value”
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Good value for Colombo where most hotels aren't on a travellers budget.

Decent location for railway station if you're getting an early train.

Friendly and helpful staff.

Comfortable beds but wierd noises in the night!

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank gl23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    91
    60
    16
    8
See reviews for
12
106
35
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
216 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012

We had a two day stay in this hotel. A Colonial structure.
While in Colombo, collect the local currency from an automatic teller machine and use the local cash for transactions. I was advised by my bank not to use credit cards as far as possible. Their worry was that cloning is done in their. We used it only in the hotel and in a government art store.
Use a navigation device. When you use the same the taxi and three wheelers tend to take you by the short routes. Metered vehicles are available. Else non metered and non navigated taxis
tend to fleece you.
Ethnic foods can be very chilly hot.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

This hotel is interesting.

Firstly Colombo 10 is not the greatest place to be stay, there is a pretty lively street down the road with local joints to eat but that about it. It is close to the two main train stations (one in walking distance) so its okay if your heading down to Galle or elsewhere (which you probably should because I cant think of many reasons to spend too much time in Colombo). Otherwise go stay down near the fort where everything for tourists is located - including the scammers.

The staff are pretty interesting. All blokes and all dubious looking, but friendly. The bar/restaurant is just full of guys drinking bottles of scotch from open until close and it has an ominous feel about it. I probably wouldn't recommend female solos to stay here.

The rooms are big, the showers leak and the cleanness varies between rooms. All in all it's not bad value by Colombo standards, but if your staying in Colombo for more than two nights, look elsewhere.

Room Tip: We stayed in two different rooms, the cleanness varied greatly. Ask to see the room first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

When I first arrived, they assigned me to the most basic room and it was nice. However, at 7pm the hotel staff offered to upgrade me to a bigger room for free, but it was much older. It was also situated near the restaurant, hence it was quite noisy until 11pm. In addition, I found 3 cockroaches in the toilet, and the kettle to boil water was not very clean. I asked for a change but nobody came in the end.

The good thing is that this is a 5 min walk from the Maradana Train Station and a 20 minute work to the Colombo Fort train station.

Room Tip: Stay in the basic rooms as they are newer, avoid the bigger rooms as they tend to be abit more dated...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhebeB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Colombo hotels

Timisoara, Romania
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

If your aim is to visit Colombo for a longer time, I would recommend other area than Colombo 10, but if your aim of staying in Colombo is to go on next day to Kandy, Shalimar is THE place to stay. It is a short tuktuk ride to the Colombo Fort railway station, or even a walk to the Maradana railway station. It is far from being a romantic spot, but all you need in this case is a good shower and a good night sleep in a clean location - and Shalimar provides all this, topped with free wifi internet in the rooms.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank virgiliupop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

The Shalimar Hotel, Colombo is very good value by Colombo Standards,classic and clean. The room was spotless as was the bathroom, both hot and cold water running at a good pressure. The free WiFi works well. Breakfast (not included) is served on the second floor and is reasonably priced.The main restaurant is very popular at lunchtime and the adjacent bar popular in the evenings. The reception staff are very helpful. The hotel position is not the greatest unless you are looking for car and truck spare parts, many shops selling everything you could imagine for a car or truck in that street, however there is always a Tuk Tuk at the front that will take you anywhere you want. The hotel security is very helpful to explain to non English speaking drivers, where you want to go. Tuk Tuk's are suppose to charge a Government set rate for trips in Colombo which is very reasonable. We found drivers to be honest and helpful although we did ask a couple of them if they could drive little slower. The position of the hotel is fine considering the low cost of the of this nice little hotel. Overall we would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: For a view, the rooms facing the street with a balcony are great, but you might not appreciate the t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2012

It doesn't look nice from the outside and when you walk in, you'll think "what kind of dungeon i walked in" BUT the staff is VERY friendly(even though some of them look like the bad guys from an old james Bond film :-), the rooms are very specious and clean and the restaurant serves good and affordable food.
It looks a bit dark but don't let that scare you off.
So yes

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gekko1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colombo hotels
1.5 mi away
Grand Oriental Hotel
Grand Oriental Hotel
#37 of 51 in Colombo
520 reviews
1.4 mi away
CityRest Fort
CityRest Fort
#5 of 136 in Colombo
344 reviews
1.3 mi away
City Beds The Regent
City Beds The Regent
#3 of 136 in Colombo
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Mahasen by Foozoo
Mahasen by Foozoo
#29 of 136 in Colombo
19 reviews
1.5 mi away
Casons B&B
Casons B&B
#33 of 136 in Colombo
28 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ivy Lane Colombo
Ivy Lane Colombo
#17 of 136 in Colombo
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shalimar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shalimar Hotel

Property: Shalimar Hotel
Address: 46, Panchikawatte Road, Colombo, Sri Lanka (Formerly Shalimar Holidays)
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 136 B&Bs / Inns in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Shalimar Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Shalimar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing