We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel for layover” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Serenediva Colombo Transit

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Colombo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Serenediva Colombo Transit
Ranked #40 of 127 Specialty Lodging in Colombo
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great hotel for layover”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

We stayed at this hotel during our 8 hours layover in Colombo. Hotel is conveniently located in second floor (one floor above departure/arrival level) and was easy to find from signage on the wall. Room was spacious, clean and provided us with essential toiletries. Overall, a great place to stay for shorter layover (anything longer than 7-8 hours will be too pricey as it is USD55-65 for first six hours and $10-15/hour charge above). Also note that there is no need to clear immigration and departure gate is literally less than 5 min away.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Littlemun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    27
    18
    7
    4
See reviews for
13
21
11
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

Stayed here during a 9 hour layover between flights. We did not have an advance booking and I think we were lucky to get a room....definitely advisable to email and book ahead.

Absolutely excellent - we had a massive room, spotlessly clean. Receptionist was very helpful.

Bed comfortable and shower good.

Only negatives are that 1 pillow each is not enough and our complimentary toiletries had been half used.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Paul_RNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Podimore
Level Contributor
278 reviews
197 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

We had a 17 hour layover between flights and this hotel is a few steps before you go through immigration.
It is one floor above the main concourse. The Sri Lankan staff were helpful in the airport and on check in. The room was big, clean and the staff readily provided more water and blankets. The air conditioning is over enthusiastic and not controllable so the blankets were needed.
Wake up calls are available and the bed was comfortable. There were no rooms available with windows.
As a result of the long and changed layover we were given vouchers for breakfast and evening meal in a restaurant in the airport. We had otherwise very much enjoyed food in Sri Lanka. This was a notable exception! We did not eat most of it.
We were told by the booking agent in London that we would need to take charge of our cases and therefore arranged to have them taken off in Colombo. This was poor information and you cannot get your bags as you are not allowed out of transit. This was eventually sorted for the onward flight but we had no access to our things.
Overall this hotel is a good option if you are stuck in Colombo airport.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BangkokLoft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HK
Level Contributor
151 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

We decided to break our trip before heading out to Maldives by spending the night at the Serenediva. We bought our hotel vouchers with Sri Lanka airlines along with our tickets (which was cheaper than buying it direct). and booked for a triple room. They gave us a king size bed + a roll away bed (which they set up after we arrived). This is basically a no-frills, motel type accommodation, but it was perfect in the sense that for a reasonable price, we got to lay down flat and rest after long hours of travel.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank hkfornow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

I have stayed here for spending 6 hours transit at the Colombo airport with my 4 year old boy.
The Hotel itself is very nice and very very large for my boy to play around. Nice bed to relax. But the aricon is not cool, feels very hot after shower. The bathroom has nice bath tub for my boy to play and has all the essentials.

I fell the price is little expensive 55USD for 6 hours but because of little airport and nothing to go around, you have no choice. They give wake up call 1 hour before your flight so no need to worry of delay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeganarayanan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat, Oman
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

I had a 9 hour wait at Colombo Airport. I was coming from Muscat, Oman and my next flight to Cochin was after 9 hours. $50 for 6 hours is a bit too expensive but the room was neat. The wake up call came right on time. I could not arrange the ac temperature and there were no bath / hand towels and the soap kept in the bath was used by someone else. But, this is the only place where you can rest inside colombo airport and it is not bad. The room was very clean, neat and tidy. I had make my booking via e-mail and the receptionist had made all the arrangements when i arrived quickly.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tonny J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kannur, India
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

Good for a night halt at Colombo Airport. I stayed here on my way back fro Shanghai and had to stay overnight to catch my connecting flight. Convenient as the hotel is situated inside the airport. The rooms were clean .Could not adjust the aircon and no blankets were provided. Got chilled at night. Other wise the stay was comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vinod69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.0 mi away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
0.0 mi away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#6 of 52 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,613 reviews
0.0 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
0.0 mi away
OZO Colombo
OZO Colombo
#10 of 52 in Colombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,175 reviews
0.0 mi away
Clock Inn Colombo
Clock Inn Colombo
#5 of 127 in Colombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serenediva Colombo Transit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serenediva Colombo Transit

Property: Serenediva Colombo Transit
Address: Level 2, Bandaranaike International Airport, Colombo, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 127 Specialty Lodging in Colombo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing