We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent and well priced”
Review of Semondu

Semondu
Ranked #13 of 576 Restaurants in Colombo
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent and well priced”
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Excellent food. Great choices. I had a difficult time deciding and m a picky, healthy eater! The prices are very reasonable - our group felt we found a real gem. Will be back!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank mpsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    208
    179
    33
    14
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice while we were there...”
Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

Seemed nice food but about 6 hours later I was very unwell. Really disappointing way to end to our trip, we even had to reschedule our flight the next day (with Sri Lankan airlines!) and pay an for additional hotel night. The least they can do would be to reschedule the flight for free as it was their restaurants fault in the first place!

Helpful?
3 Thank Chris9240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Awesome food”
Reviewed July 2, 2014

We stumbled upon this place by accident, were really hungry..so decided to step inside Cafe Semondu. Out of this world prawn curry and crab in black pepper sauce. (I'm hungry now just thinking of this).

Nice and attentive staffs.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bey79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best of Fusion!”
Reviewed June 26, 2014

It was my first try at Semondu with my husband on 26th June 2014. We had an enjoyable dinner. Indeed it has lived up to its standard of 4.5 rating. But I would give it full score of 5! Ambience was good, service was fast, food was tasty. Both of us shared the delicious crispy fried calamari and another Hot Appetizer; he had grilled cajun chicken while I had Trio at Seafood for mains. Even though we were quite filled from the appetizers, it is just impossible to resist the mains which was well prepared and presented. We both left the restaurant feeling satisfied and will surely come again! Cheers!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Feli_Ong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great place for executive lunches...!”
Reviewed June 6, 2014

Went with office colleagues. Great variety. Super ambience and good quick service. We were done in 45 minutes. A must visit restaurant at the Dutch hospital precinct!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Moderage M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Semondu also viewed

Colombo, Western Province
Colombo, Western Province
 
Colombo, Western Province
Colombo, Western Province
 

Been to Semondu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing