We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good selection of vegan food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Milk and Honey Cafe - MOVED

Milk and Honey Cafe
Cuisines: Cafe, Mediterranean
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout
Warrnambool, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good selection of vegan food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014

good place to get healthy vegan food in Colombo. Not too far from the city. close to the park and museum. good selection of juice, diary free smoothies, wraps and cakes.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Weishen83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    14
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Wonderful, peaceful spot for a sandwich and juice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

We came here on our 4th day in Colombo and were so happy to have found it. It was such a nice retreat from the usual hustle and bustle of the city as it's situated on a quiet, leafy street in the Cinnamon Gardens area. The cafe has a children's bookshop attached so probably caters for young families however we were the only people eating there on this occasion (it was around 1pm). They have outdoor seating with umbrellas which was just perfect. The food was fantastic too, we haven't been able to find this sort of sandwich quality in all of Sri Lanka and we have been here for a month. We had a couple of really tasty vegetarian focaccias - one with mozzarella, pesto, rocket and tomato, the other with sundried tomatoes, cream cheese and rocket. Juices were also yummy. Great value for money.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave_Basia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, null, Hong Kong
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Quiet, cute little spot for sandwich, salad, cake or juice...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

This little place has some simple offerings on a healthy, veggie diet. It could be a godsend if you haven't had anything but overcooked veggies and coconut milk curries for weeks... but if you are used to real meal salads and juices that nourish, you might find the menu a bit lacking. They did profess their brownie to be wheat-free and it was moist and delicious. The chevre wasn't what you would expect and though my salad was said to include rocket, it turned out to be red leaf lettuce instead. But hey, they are filling a huge void in healthy veggy food in Colombo, and hopefully, it keeps improving as the years go on...

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank dylanyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious, healthy food in peaceful, friendly surrounds”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

This was exactly what I was looking for: fresh, healthy, delicious in a peaceful garden setting with lovely, friendly mostly female staff. I had a salad with roquette, chèvre, mung beans. roast pumpkin served with toasts. Perfect!
There's also a spa there that sells divine organic beauty products.
Great book shop for kids too.
Unfortunately they're not open Sundays otherwise I'd be there right now!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Roadleasttraveled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaffna, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Healthy but not tasty...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

It is a place where you can get veggie desserts but careful on one or two dishes egg is involved. There is nothing to mention but the foods are seem neat and healthy but really i didn't like the taste. I think for vegetarian diet Indian type foods are better.

This is just a small place also contain books and toys for kids.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mahinthan5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Milk and Honey Cafe also viewed

Colombo, Western Province
Colombo, Western Province
 
Colombo, Western Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing