We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for horror movie”
Review of Hotel Nippon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Nippon
Ranked #26 of 155 Colombo B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We didn't book any hotel in advance so randomly pick one from Agoda, base on the photos showing on their website and the price is relatively cheap, we gave a try. The reception is antique style, which is fine, however the room is horrible, first of all they didn't give us double bed, so the twins bed in different color cover sheet, look very old and used many years without replacement, very thin mattress, they don't have a kettle but using the plastic one from 1960, room is very dark, old, and toilet is nightmare, very dark inside, it is basically just a room with water supply and you feel very uncomfortable inside. After 10 mins we try to adapt the room, we decided to leave, because we know very well we can't fall asleep in such an environment, if you have money, just ignore this place.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
Thank QuakM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (65)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 65 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2013

We stayed only one night in an fan-room. I would not have stayed another night even if we planned it. But first the positive: Very good location and friendly and helpful reception staff. Not very positive are the rooms. The hotel is old and in dire need of repairs. Our bathroom was a dark hole with light fittings missing (and a cockroach shuttling around at night), and the room itself was terribly hot despite the fan. If one opened a window for whatever breeze of fresh air, the noise from the street below was so loud that we could not sleep. The carpet had a greasy feel with cigerette burns and at some places the plaster came off the wall. I would not recommend this place to my friends.

Room Tip: try to get a room facing away from the main street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sangoma02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Cockroaches in my room, in the halls, and on the breakfast table.

Reception area clean and modern, everything else in this place is worn out and dirty.

Avoid unless you really need somewhere central and cheap.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eric754
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

I visited colombo for 5times.
Now 3 years ago tax changed and almost all reasonably priced hotel changed prices up more than double.
But funny enough this hotel did not change the price that much.
Caz all other hotels added little bit renovation and tried to make bigger money.
This honest and lazy hotel remained cheap and dirty ,aha aha.
So this is one of the cheapest so called hotel in Colombo SriLanka.
if you fo to the countryside, you can find clean and cheap hotels everywhere in SriLanka.

But this hotel is a grate saver for me.
With aircon this price is really good!
( Note this hotel also has fan room with even cheaper price too if you like.)

Room Tip: besides with or without aircon,,there are 2 type of rooms( little better room than just old little d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maguder D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We used Hotel Nippon on the last day in Colombo in order to take a rest before going to the airport for a midnight flight. Since Galle Face Hotel did not allow us late check-out, we moved to Hotel Nippon at 10 AM and checked out at 9 PM. Although we paid for one full night, 3,600 Rs, it was a good deal for us because we could take hot shower and sleep for several hours.
People at the reception were friendly and efficient.

Room Tip: If you want to sleep in the daytime, avoid a room facing the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tsutomu A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in one of the corporate suites. It was huge, and very well appointed. There was a slight mix up with our rooms when we arrived at around 2.00 am, however this was handled very well by the hotel - always a test of a good hotel. The rooms are eclectic in their design but with a great attention to detail and a lot of style. I would generally class the feel of the hotel as on the chic side of shabby chic. The rooms don't have a view (at least the two that we had didn't) and the windows that do face outside are either frosted or coloured glass, with the result that the room is very inward feeling. Not necessarily a bad thing, given how beautiful the rooms are, but it might not suit everyone. The beds are huge and extremely comfortable. The pool is lovely partly because of a large tree around which it is built, however it is also rather cool (blame the tree I'm thinking). The service was very good. The manager, Willem, was great, as was our butler Arrun - both excellent. The hotel is off a busy road, but is quiet and peaceful. The breakfast is very good, as was dinner on the one night that we ate at the hotel (and very reasonably priced). Overall we thought that the hotel was good value for money and a fun place to stay. Minor quibbles: the room lighting is too dim, and there are some areas where the building maintenance could be improved. All in all a highly recommended hotel and we would stay there again if we come back to Colombo. BTW we had also considered Tintagel as a possible hotel, and are very pleased that we didn't stay there - we visited for lunch one day and there was no one in the restaurant and although it is an extremely beautiful building it would not appeal to those who like a little more activity in and around the hotel or who like a little more of the local Sri Lankan feel.
Room Tip: We chose room 4, because the bath is not in the bedroom but in a bathroom. It was lovely.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rowansSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2012

Large room/aircon/flat screen TV satellite many channels/fan/big bathroom/if this is the standard of budget hotels in Sri Lanka they can forget enticing the backpackers and budget travelers/bath room dirty /no hot water/room needed a good clean and airing to get rid of the stale cigarette smell/believe it or not this hotel did not even have internet for its own use .Could not recommend this hotel But in the right hands could be Colombo’s new backpacker central even a bar attached to the hotel we won’t be back till then or may be a cheap overnighter in Colombo

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 29OAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.1 mi away
Metro City Hotel
Metro City Hotel
#37 of 54 in Colombo
82 reviews
4.0 mi away
Great Southern Hotel (GSH) Colombo
0.9 mi away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#7 of 54 in Colombo
1,971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
0.9 mi away
The Steuart by Citrus
The Steuart by Citrus
#18 of 54 in Colombo
329 reviews
1.9 mi away
Colombo Court Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nippon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nippon

Address: 123 Kumaran Ratnam Road, Colombo, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 155 B&Bs / Inns in Colombo
Price Range: $63 - $97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Nippon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Nippon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing