We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Boutique Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Colombo Court Hotel & Spa
Ranked #9 of 54 Hotels in Colombo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 5, 2014

This boutique hotel is a gem. The service provided from the staffs are excellent.

Bed and bathroom in the room are perfect. They do provided plenty of tea selection in the room and a great swimming pool. There are many cafes nearby at Queens road for your dining as well.

Hope to come back again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EWayC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo C, Chief Executive Officer at Colombo Court Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2014

Thank you for your 5 star rating and for your wonderful praises !

I’m delighted that you enjoyed the staff, the amenities and the convenient location of the hotel, with many trendy cafés nearby. Hopefully next time you will be able to sample the delights of our food & beverage options at the hotel premises. (Two restaurants & three bars).

Our staff work very hard to pamper our guests and make them feel as comfortable as possible and even go above & beyond their expectations. I shall pass on your kind words to my team.

We all look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Until such time, Warm Regards

Nishan Moonesinghe
Chief Executive Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (796)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

487 - 493 of 796 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2014

A lovely boutique hotel in a great part of Colombo. We only had a short night there, as we had an early start the next day, and we would have liked to have spent more time familiarising ourselves with the place. There were lots of little nooks and crannies to explore - a reading room, the pool area the little bar downstairs (and supposedly one upstairs that we didn't get to!) There is a brilliant sculpture in the reception area made of bike frames, which was pretty cool, a lot of attention to detailing and design, which made for a very pleasant stay. The basic room was very nicely appointed and had wonderful furnishings - some nice touches.

Upon checking in we let them know that I had accidentally booked the hotel twice, through 2 different booking agencies, and they fixed that up without any problem whatsoever. When we left to go out for dinner, we organised the hotel car for us early the next morning but that wasn't available when we got at 5am in the end, which was a bit disappointing especially as we were on a very tight timeframe. But it was sorted out and they booked a taxi for us which arrived soon after so there were no major dramas. As we had such an early start, we missed the breakfast, but they prepared packed breakfast boxes for us to take on our way.

All in all, a great find.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NickyandRick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo C, Chief Executive Officer at Colombo Court Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us. Such comprehensive feedback is appreciated.

We are delighted that you had a total indulgence of our facilities. Thank you so much for encouraging Colombo Courtyard with such generous comments.

It is important for us that you found the service to be impeccable, and our accommodation nicely appointed and most of all comfortable. Thank you for noting those unique features you appreciated in our hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon for a longer stay during your next visit to Sri Lanka.

Until such time, Warm Regards,

Nishan Moonesinghe
Chief Executive Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Loved this hotel, whilst its backed onto the road once you get inside the hotel its like a peaceful retreat. The hotel itself has a boutique feel to it and the rooms are spacious, clean and attractive. The breakfast has plenty of choice and caters to different nationalities. Location wise its just a short tuk tuk ride into the more touristy destinations.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nunnenwills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo C, Chief Executive Officer at Colombo Court Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

Thank you for your great five-star review. We are delighted that you had a memorable and a comfortable stay at Colombo Courtyard.

We are so pleased that you found our accommodation spacious, clean and attractive.
As you have mentioned, the location is of course ever so conveniently situated for shopping and other attractions in the city.

We do appreciate your encouraging sentiments and we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back on your future visits to Sri Lanka.

Until such time, Warm Regards,

Nishan Moonesinghe
Chief Executive Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

From the moment we arrived I felt like we had arrived in a tranquil, beautiful place. The service was attentive and extremely professional and we were quickly checked in and they even accommodated an early check in without any hassle. We stayed two separate nights during our trip and both times I felt like we've arrived home away from home (luxury that is!). The first plunge in the pool after long flight and relaxing by the pool - couldn't beat that! We also opted for late night plunge after an early dinner, wonderful. We stayed on the second floor at two separate suites and I honestly couldn't choose which one I preferred - they were both amazing!! And by far the comfiest beds and some of the cleanest rooms and amenities during our stay (and we stayed in other 4/5 * hotels). The staff were always smiling and friendly and were also very attentive and accommodative with our 2 year old daughter. Don't miss out the rooftop bar for a cocktail or two and pretty decent pizzas too..! Yes, breakfast selection isn't a big buffet but then I wouldn't expect that from a small, boutique hotel, much prefer the individual ordering/selection that caters for many tastes. And they have good, strong coffee :) The only slight criticism I had was that the front of the house looked like it needed a bit of an uplift but as we returned for our second night, they were magically starting the works. Perfect! And as a major bonus for us at least, it is centrally located a short walk away from both Barefoot and Paradise Road Gallery. Thanks you Colombo Courtyard, we will be back and will definitively recommend you for friends & family. Keep smiling, you're doing a great work!

Room Tip: Loved both 207 and 211, spacious suites with private balconies and big four poster beds. Luxury!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RJMH67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo C, Chief Executive Officer at Colombo Court Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

Thank you for your great five-star review.

Delighted that you and your family had a relaxing vacation with us at Colombo Courtyard. Thank you for selecting our Hotel. We were so pleased that the whole arrival experience was somewhat like being welcomed back at “home”(to your own Colombo residence) and that our staff were both helpful and friendly with a smile at all times.

We’re pleased that you were made to feel special. That is what we strive for, with all our guests!
Also thank you for noting those features you appreciated in your suite.

I am thrilled to see that you have now claimed Colombo Courtyard to be your favorite hotel in Sri Lanka.

We look forward to seeing you again as soon as your schedule permits.

Until such time, Warm Regards,

Nishan Moonesinghe
Chief Executive Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Upon arrival, it's clear that service comes first. There were multiple folks waiting by the entrance to take our bags (which is a relief since our daughter and her many bags joined us). The fish in lobby with the cool temperature simply disappeared our previous stress from taxis, airports, etc.

The art deco made from recycled bicycles was stunning, as it climbs the entire stairwell. We spent most of our time in the pools, each offered different levels of privacy. This was nice, as there were times when we wanted to chat with new people, but not always.

The rooftop restaurant offered rich cocktails, and just good, solid food. Wish I ate there more, but we wanted to see the city. By the end of the first day of being a tourist, coming back to my hotel room felt like coming back home.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Parag B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo C, Chief Executive Officer at Colombo Court Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2014

You are very kind & generous with your five star rated posting on TripAdvisor regarding your visit in March . It is always a pleasure when we read that the experience was so positive and that the guest was really pleased to have chosen Colombo Courtyard.
I will be sure to share your comments with my team in relation to the warm welcome and attentive service that was provided. This is how a home-away-from-home should sound and feel like!

Thank you for pointing out how much you enjoyed the rooftop restaurant, cocktails and the food. I hope that you had happened to be there on a Friday, when we have our live Jazz band present. Always a great buzz on that night!


Once again thank you for your comments, and we hope to have the pleasure of a return visit with your family in the not too distant future.


Until such time, Warm Regards,

Nishan Moonesinghe
Chief Executive Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

stayed at Colombo Courtyard for 2 nights in June and had a fantastic stay. The property is absolutely superb with a comforting and unique fusion of colonial and modern decor. Local art and functional sculpture is displayed throughout and really adds to the ambience. Rooms are large with luxurious four post beds, good A/C, Smart TV. Each room is equipped with an iMac on the desk. WiFi and internet are free. There are several restaurants and lounges integral to the property including a great rooftop restaurant-bar with great pizza. I would definitely recommend this hotel to a friend. Only drawback to the property is a very small fitness center with limited equipment.

Room Tip: Upper level rooms have more natural light. Splurge a bit and get a suite with a private balcony and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan-Gloria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo C, Chief Executive Officer at Colombo Court Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

It is always such a pleasure to read such positive comments regarding our guests’ experience. Thank you for your posting on TripAdvisor following your recent stay with us.

It is great to hear that you enjoyed our facilities and amenities offered, as well as the artistic design of the hotel.

Thank you also for the delightful comment about our pizzas in Cloud Café.

We do hope to be able to welcome you on your next visit to Colombo, for an even greater experience.

Until such time, Warm Regards

Nishan Moonesinghe
Chief Executive Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

The best things about this hotel are the beautiful pool/spa area and the location. Just a block away there is a cluster of restaurants and bakeries that seem catered to Western tourists. These are handy because the restaurant at this hotel is overpriced, serving small dishes of average quality - not great value for your money. Personally, I had a less than impressive experience with the service at this hotel. For one, as my wife and I were relaxing in our room before dinner, half-clothed, a room attendant started pounding on the door and yelling, and then tried to barge in even after I yelled for him to wait. Luckily I had the security latch across the door so I was able to get some clothes on before opening it. All to give me a small plate of fruit. Quite strange. Ten minutes later, same thing. Pounding and yelling, "Excuse me! Hello! Excuse me!" until I opened the door with no shirt to be offered "turn-down service". (Who in this century cannot peel down their own sheets?). The second irritation was when we tried to arrange for a taxi the following morning at 5am to take us to the airport. The rep at the desk tried to pressure us into paying 4200 Rs to take the hotel car and we had paid only 3000 to get to Colombo in the first place, so we knew it was a rip-off. He told us that he wouldn't recommend getting a taxi off the street, assuming that we were stupid, I guess. But, in the end, he called a local taxi (knew the number off by heart) and we paid only 2200 plus a 300 expressway toll. Private transportation in Sri Lanka is a pretty honest trade from what I've seen, so if anyone tells you that certain taxis or tuc-tucs are not reputable, they're probably just trying to undermine the competition. The ride to the airport was just fine, by the way. Overall, this is a beautiful hotel that is somewhat loud in daytime hours due to the close proximity to busy traffic, but even being right beside the street, we had no trouble sleeping. After dark, the traffic dies down, which means the honking diminishes. However, we only stayed one night. I wouldn't have wanted to spend several days here, as relaxing in the daytime with the noise would be a bit of an annoyance.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SteveKeddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo C, Chief Executive Officer at Colombo Court Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2014

We thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor following your recent stay at Colombo Courtyard.

Your words concerning our location, and the ambiance at pool /spa area are very appreciated!

Nevertheless, we were deeply sorry to read that your experience has not been entirely in keeping with your expectations and that you had to face an unpleasant experience during evening turn down service.

All your comments are very much valued, while taking remedial measures to overcome such situations in the future, by fine tuning our training programs and thereby assisting the team to be more alert when it comes to expected service guidelines. We sincerely apologize for not being able to live up to your expectations on this occasion.

Once again thank you for your kind words regarding the product itself, and yes we agree with you that it is the people that make the difference. Our aim is that our teams’ actions exemplify that sincerity and thoughtfulness necessary to be truly a luxury hotel.

We appreciate you taking time off your schedule to keep us informed of the areas of concern and hope you would give us another opportunity to ensure you take pleasant memories of Colombo Courtyard. Looking forward to welcoming you back.

Until such time, Warm Regards,

Nishan Moonesinghe
Chief Executive Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colombo hotels
2.2 mi away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
1.0 mi away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#7 of 54 in Colombo
1,971 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
0.2 mi away
Mandarina Colombo
Mandarina Colombo
#16 of 54 in Colombo
164 reviews
1.1 mi away
OZO Colombo
OZO Colombo
#11 of 54 in Colombo
1,485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colombo Court Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colombo Court Hotel & Spa

Address: 32 Alfred House Ave, Colombo 00300, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 54 Hotels in Colombo
Price Range: $88 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Colombo Court Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the city, is an urban boutique hotel that perfectly captures a fusion of contemporary style with intrinsic elements of environmental design. The hotel offers a choice of 15 suites & 17 rooms complete with all modern features, 3 dining areas - Scarlet Room & Cloud Cafe, Loft Lounge Bar, a Library, Jacuzzi and Plunge Pool and even a corporate Gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Colombo Court Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing