We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Style and comfort in the city”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Colombo Courtyard

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Colombo Courtyard
Ranked #8 of 51 Hotels in Colombo
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Style and comfort in the city”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

We started out trip to Sri Lanka with two nights here. we had a very comfortable suite - with a superb lounge downstairs and a bathroom/bedroom upstairs. This was all,very well furnished and with a rear location at the back of the hotel was more than adequate for two great night's sleep! The apple computer was a very welcome addition to the room.

Service was good and efficient. Yes the pool adjoins the main road - but there always will be noise in a capital city! we ate at the poolside - a very western tasty bar snack menu.

Colombo is worth some time to get to know - it may not be as immediately appealing as much of the rest of the tourist offer, but its certainly a fascinating place, Combined with this great hotel, it made a very positive start to our holiday.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo C, Chief Executive Officer at Colombo Courtyard, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Thank you for your five star review and your recommendation of Colombo Courtyard. It is a pleasure to note that you enjoyed your 2 nights stay with us.

We appreciate your valuable feedback on our rooms and amenities. We are delighted that you enjoyed your dining experience and appreciate your words of praise and recommendation. Nothing is more important to us than the satisfaction of our valued guests and the team and I thank you so much for your very encouraging feedback, which is truly a reflection of that achievement.

Thank you once again for your review and for your patronage; and we are looking forward to welcoming you on your next stay with us.

Best Regards,

Nishan Moonesinghe
Chief Executive Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

718 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    345
    265
    71
    20
    17
See reviews for
90
326
46
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

My wife and I visited Colombo in March 2014. Our experience at Colombo Courtyard was amazing.

Ambience: We attended an ongoing pool party when we were there. There was some really good music provided by a DJ and the drinks/food being brought in from the restaurants were great. The courtyard and pool design were beautiful and zen like. During the party we were offered foot massages that were super relaxing. We also thoroughly enjoyed the rooftop restaurant area and the bar area.

Food & Drinks: The food was outstanding. We ate at the rooftop one night and my wife particularly liked the pumpkin risotto with bacon (it sounds weird but its delicious!) and I really liked the lobster. For drinks, I highly recommend the strawberry mojita, it tastes super fresh, and also try out the Dark and Stormy, if it's available and featured.

Rooms: The room was very spacious and the bathroom had a huge tub! The giant sized iMac was a nice touch as well. I really liked how the TV came out of the wall and angled towards the bed. Many times TVs are in awkward positions and can't move so this was great!

Overall, we highly recommend it to anyone visiting Colombo. We will definitely be back again (hopefully soon)!

Room Tip: Ask for a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karankapoor16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo C, Chief Executive Officer at Colombo Courtyard, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Thank you for the five star review of your amazing experience at Colombo Courtyard. It is heartening to learn that we have served you to your entire satisfaction and your stay was a memorable one.

We continuously endeavour to keep up to the standards expected by our valued guests and it is encouraging when our efforts are recognized. We value your patronage and we are delighted with your assurance to stay with us again soon.

Thank you once again for taking the time to share your guest experience. All the staff join me in the hope that we will see you again in the not too distant future!

Best Regards,
Nishan Moonesinghe
Chief Executive Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
52 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

The place is nice, the staff are very friendly and the decoration is beautiful but is next to a big avenue so it can be very noisy specially in the swimming pool area. If we travel to Sri Lanka in the future we would skip Colombo as there is no much and it's easy to get to a beautiful place in the country side just in a couple of hours.

Room Tip: Try to get a room far away from the big avenue
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julianavelez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo C, Chief Executive Officer at Colombo Courtyard, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Thank you for your feedback about your experience at Colombo Courtyard, and we are pleased that you have enjoyed the design, architecture and the friendly service of our staff.

We thank you very much for taking the time to review your experience with us, and wish you the very best in your future travels and hope you will stay with us again, if you do visit Colombo in the future.

Best regards,
Nishan Moonesinghe
Chief Executive Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

Pleasantly surprised by theColombo courtyard despite some of the mixed reviews. It is well designed, calm and a little green oasis in Colombo. The rooms are nicely done with tea and coffee making facilities and good wifi. Our shower was enormous and the toiletries more appealing than many ersatz products on offer elsewhere. There is a roof bar with limited selection of cocktails but I saw people ordering off menu. The choice of four breakfasts (English, Sri Lankan, Indian and continental) are freshly made and ours very tasty. The menu offers a limited selection of Sri Lankan cuisine but wider international fayre.

Location on the main road mean you can pick up a tuk tuk easily so not difficult to travel to different parts of the city.

Yes the rooms are not enormous, but I am not sure that matters. Most people don't stay in Colombo a long time and they are well appointed and comfortable. We were at the front of the hotel and it was noisy during the day but we weren't in our room during the day and at night it quietens down considerably. Plus closing our bathroom door made a big difference to the noise. The staff were helpful, polite and efficient.

Recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank girlinagirdle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo C, Chief Executive Officer at Colombo Courtyard, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Thank you for a super review.

It makes us very proud to read your comments and know that we have been successful in giving you an enjoyable, unique and memorable experience at Colombo Courtyard and also we are pleased that you enjoyed the food and the facilities on offer.

It is also pleasing to note that you have really enjoyed the design and ambience of Colombo Courtyard.

Thank you so much for your recommendation of Colombo Courtyard, and we would love to see you again sometime soon, for another fantastic experience

Best Regards,

Nishan Moonesinghe
Chief Executive Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

Salaam wualeikum,
We did not visit the restaurant but our review is for staff and room
Room was excellent suite room.
Huge bed huge bathroom with stand up shower and a huge concrete bath tub.
Room decorations was really good. Staff was excellent helped us in everything that we needed.
Thank you for everything and goodbye
Salaam
Fyi close to mcdonalds

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank adalvasquez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo C, Chief Executive Officer at Colombo Courtyard, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
It is pleasing to know that we have given you an amazing stay at Colombo Courtyard , and thank you so very much for your wonderful comments with regard to ambience, décor and our service.

Our greatest endeavor is to make your stay with us unique as possible in every way, and we truly believe in giving you a very personalized service at Colombo Courtyard, because that is where we make the biggest difference in your stay.

Thank you for your recommendation of us to other travelers, and we look forward to the day when we will be able to meet you again at Colombo Courtyard.

Best Regards,
Nishan Moonesinghe
Chief Executive Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

My friend and I spent two days basing ourselves in Colombo at the end of our trip. Though the hotel rooms and hotel itself were lovely, the service just wasn't up to scratch. We asked for tips on restaurants, we never got them, an adaptor, never got one. Toiletries not replaced yet constant and blatant requests for tips which were awkward and just not something experienced any where else. As two girls travelling along, it would have been nice if hotel staff could have flagged tuk tuks outside the hotel.
I would say don't bother visiting.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ilovebeingaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo C, Chief Executive Officer at Colombo Courtyard, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
We are concerned to note from your review that your stay with us has not been up to your expectation, even though you had a comfortable stay.

We have taken due note of your observations with regard to the service issues encountered by you and thank you for bringing them up to our attention. We are sorry for any inconvenience caused to you.

I hope it will be heartening to note that all efforts have been made to take corrective action to rectify service failures experienced by you during your stay.

Should you wish to stay with us again, notwithstanding the mentioned, please feel free to contact us directly at reservations@colombocourtyard.com and we shall make arrangements to make your next experience with us a very pleasant one.

Best Regards,
Nishan Moonesinghe
Chief Executive Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
256 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

We booked on line with several e-mail exchanges to get airport pick ups, etc. We arrived early and was worth the extra pay for early room. Great room with bath in the living room, big I-mac as well; comfy bed. The pool is nice, and spa very good. Food was also a pleasant surprise! good.
Breakfast good… go for Indian, and the Sri Lankan!
Good location to get around the city.
There are many 'chill areas', and one with books, 2 separate computer rooms with a.c.
They treated us as it was our 30th wedd. anniv.; awesome cake by in-house French pastry chef, and bottle of wine. Highly recommend this place!

Room Tip: we had top floor, room 105(?) super!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terri L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo C, Chief Executive officer at Colombo Courtyard, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
It is wonderful that you had a memorable stay at Colombo Courtyard and have taken fond memories back home. We are delighted that you were impressed with our offerings and also experienced comfort.

Our team has enjoyed reading your review about how they were able to take care of you, and Chef Jean Pierre was delighted to acknowledge your thoughts about his cake.

We appreciate very much your recognizing our staff and acclaiming our hospitality. Thank you for your valued patronage and we look forward to having you with us again soon.

All the Hotel staff join me in the hope that we will see you again in the not too distant future!

Best regards,
Nishan Moonesinghe
Chief Executive Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colombo hotels
1.0 mi away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#6 of 51 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,655 reviews
1.7 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
2.2 mi away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
OZO Colombo
OZO Colombo
#11 of 51 in Colombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,224 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
1.3 mi away
Uga Residence
Uga Residence
#1 of 51 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colombo Courtyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colombo Courtyard

Property: Colombo Courtyard
Address: 32 Alfred House Ave, Colombo 00300, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 51 Hotels in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Colombo Courtyard 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the city, is an urban boutique hotel that perfectly captures a fusion of contemporary style with intrinsic elements of environmental design. The hotel offers a choice of 15 suites & 17 rooms complete with all modern features, 3 dining areas - Scarlet Room & Cloud Cafe, Loft Lounge Bar, a Library, Jacuzzi and Plunge Pool and even a corporate Gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Colombo Courtyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing