We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Boutique hotel,needs fine tuning”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Colombo Court Hotel & Spa
Ranked #9 of 55 Hotels in Colombo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Nice new boutique style hotel, centrally located. Large rooms, big beds and a unique bathroom design, where u have to talk through the bath room to reach the bed room. ( found it a bit odd though).

Staff were very helpful and accommodating. We arrived around 2am. Used the hotel transport which offered refreshing towels and a bottle of water on the way from airport, which was much needed.
We had requested for a twin room, however it was not available. But despite the late hour , Rizkhan at the reception helped arrange an extra bed , without charge, and we were very thankful for that.
The poolside was nice, but didn't get to spend much time there.

Main drawback of room was the blinds, which when shut lets light through. So your bed room is bright at 6 am. Their were mosquitoes in the room the first night, probably came though the open ventilation in the bath room. Requested for extra repellent, was OK after that. Bath room is concrete style, which was nice, but at times a bit hot in the bathroom. The overhead shower is unique, but somehow the water comes in huge gushes.


Roof top restaurant was nice in the evening for drinks and the snacks were very nice. However there was limited choice for breakfast. Maybe a buffet would be nice.
Overall a good experience. Wouldn't mind coming back, when the room has better blinds.. since im a bit of a late sleeper.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hykal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo C, General Manager at Colombo Court Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2013

We thank the reviewer for taking the time in posting this review which is most appreciated in spite of a busy schedule. It is further greatly appreciated comments in detail. Colombo Courtyard has a total of 32 bedrooms which are extremely conceptualized and uniquely designed, hence consist of three room categories.
Colombo Courtyard is one of a kind of property where you will find 90% of fixtures and fittings are of recycled materials including floor, chairs, lamps, lampshades and many more. Every room, even similar category has different color schemes and layouts. It is a dream location for anyone who is passionate of interior. We are proud to be winners of International Hotel Awards -2013 Asia Pacific regional competition for Best Interior in justifying our possession as a top end luxurious boutique hotel.
It is sad to note you did not have much time in enjoying the main pool which was launched in February ’13 which has no doubt further enhanced the product Colombo Courtyard boast of.
We do thank the reviewer once again for the concerns regarding blinds of the rooms which are attended as a matter of utmost priority. We at Colombo Courtyard strongly believe customer comes first and personal attention is given in every opportunity and changes made where appropriate.
Thank you once again and eagerly awaiting to welcome you in the foreseeable future.

Sunny regards
Imran Naufal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (835)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

648 - 654 of 835 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2013

My friend and I got to know Colombo Courtyard through TripAdvisor and the hotel's own website. We were filled with excited anticipation when we touched down at the airport near midnight on 22 April. When we were given Rm 102, we were a little disappointed. The bathroom with its rain shower and the comfortable bed was my only consolation then.

However the friendly and helpful staff made all the difference, especially Lasantha of the front desk, and Dilani who served us breakfast the two mornings we were there. All in, we had a pleasant stay, and if given a choice, we would stay at Colombo Courtyard again, perhaps in a different type of room?

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darshana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo C, General Manager at Colombo Court Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2013

We are delighted indeed to see your review on trip advisor. Hence quite concerned to note your dissatisfaction having been given room # 102 which is a superior deluxe with a private courtyard. Furthermore surprisingly this particular room is preferred by many who are our regulars, but not meant to be for you. We have furthermore shared your positive comments regarding our associates at Colombo Courtyard some of whose names have been mentioned personally which is no doubt a motivating factor; they are overwhelmed indeed.
Thank you once again and wish you all the very best in your endeavors, hoping to see you at the Colombo Courtyard in the foreseeable future. Until such time, very best wishes from all of us.
Sunny regards
Imran Naufal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

A boutique hotel in Colombo, very charming and elegant.... Rooms are beautiful, large, with all comforts... The hotel overall design using recycled materials is very pleasant... The staff is friendly and helpful, the restaurant has an excellent choice of Italian pasta and very good food. Finally the value for money is excellent. I will definitely come back on my next trip to Colombo !

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sonia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo C, General Manager at Colombo Court Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2013

Sonia,
It is amazing to see your comments and kindly accept our sincere gratitude in abundance. It is fascinating to note Colombo Courtyard has far exceeded your expectations in all areas concerned. We believe getting it right every time, first time. Hence so encouraging to note you did enjoy the selection of Italian food we are specialized in. Comments such as yours no doubt encourage the team of experts in Colombo Courtyard to reach from pillar to post due to its sheer genuinity. We have no hesitation you will recommend Colombo Courtyard to all your friends and family crossing the roads of Sri Lanka which is no doubt a paradise in itself ; amazing beaches, wild life, history, culture, heritage, food and genuine hospitality.
Thank you once again and wish you all the very best in your endeavors, hoping to see you at the Colombo Courtyard in the foreseeable future. Until such time, very best wishes from all of us.
Sunny regards
Imran Naufal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Great location, walk to everything easily. Room was nice and bathroom clean - all exceded our expectations. A memorable property and a great stay. Property is immaculate and beautiful throughout. We will be back!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo C, Public Relations Manager at Colombo Court Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Jim, simply overwhelmed is what we could say having seen your review on Trip Advisor, we appreciate very much the time taken to post your comment and your description of a memorable property is no doubt due to the under mentioned reasons;

• Its unique design and concept focused on arts and elements,
• Recycled materials,
• Paper lamp shades and chairs,
• Railway sleepers,
• Recycled flooring,
• Feature tree made of bicycle parts,
• Crows made of bicycle parts,
• Cement grinder

To name a few which is a must see.

We have no doubt that you will visit us one again in the near future and hoping to see you soon.

Sunny regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

The property is lovely; the location is perfect; and the staff was helpful and accomodating. The room really clean and comfortable. The beds are comfortable. A charming hotel in a beautiful city. Highly recommended and definitely staying there again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo C, Public Relations Manager at Colombo Court Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Jacky, thank you so much for taking your time to post your review on Trip Advisor as you may know Colombo Courtyard is the only art hotel in Sri Lankan lounged way back May 2012. We are pleased to bring to your noticed having completed one year in business hence been rated very highly on Trip Advisor by all our clients merely due to personalize service exceptional quality of food locality which is the heart of the city and overall quality of product.

As top end boutique art hotel catering to discerning traveler. It is certainly pleasing to note you have left us with fond memories and absolutely no hesitation in recommending Colombo Courtyard to all your friends and family. We shall eagerly look forward to hosting you with the true hospitality we are known for at Colombo Courtyard in the forcibly future.

Sunny regards from all.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

The rooms have everything you might need (and more), including lovely bathroom & large TV. The pool area is stunning, the bars (yes plural) are funky and stylish and the staff are friendly and professional. The hotel also has great and quirky sculptures - all constructed from bicycle parts! What more could you ask for?

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loveholidaysAnnette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo C, Public Relations Manager at Colombo Court Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Annette, simply a stunning review is what we see in short about Colombo Courtyard. Please accept our heartfelt thanks. Our aim at Colombo Courtyard is make every client feel important, special hence go with memories to last a life time.

Colombo Courtyard is different to all boutique hotels found in Sri Lanka due to its unique design and concept focused on art, elements and recycled materials such as paper lamp shades and chairs, railway sleepers, recycled flooring, feature tree made of bicycle parts, crows made of bicycle parts, cement grinder to name a few which is a must see.

Hence your comments regarding associates have been conveyed to all who are overwhelmed and thank you so much. We have no hesitation in seen you in the near future and trust you will recommend us to all your friends and family passing the sky’s of Sri Lanka.

Sunny regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We stayed at the hotel in October 2012. I agree with previous comments that the hotel was quite pleasant /different in terms of atmosphere. We stayed in a big kingsize bed room with a blue wall as a backdrop and had a huge free standing tub in the middle of the room, right in front of the TV...gorgeous.
But not for the price we had to pay. The hotel is small and at the time we stayed was not very well organized. Many of the facilities were not working: extremely slow internet, no rooftop facility, no pool. It does have the feel of a family operation, not very professional.
None of this was going to matter to us because we appreciated the effort that clearly was spent into designing the hotel...but at check out we found that there was a tremendous amount of additional charges. Apart from the standard service charges and government taxes in Sri Lanka, we actually were given a different room rate than the initially booked one and when we tried to argue they had a million excuses of why and how this happened.
After a lengthy negotiation, we reasoned with them and lowered the room rental to the initial booking fee, only to find out that the hotel consequently tried to charge the difference to our credit card.
Quite frustrating and expensive experience, definitely not good value for money!!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank longyani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo C, Public Relations Manager at Colombo Court Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Thank you indeed for having posted this review which has made us open our eyes and focus more on areas where genuine client tail such as you have to say.

We are glad even though your stay was way back in October 2012, the genuine time and effect taken in talking about The Colombo Courtyard.

We do agree with most of your concerns and regret very much challenges you placed during check out however pleased indeed to bring to your notice Colombo Courtyard has come a long way in the last seven months to be rated where we are currently on Trip Advisor.

The reason for our current position is paying attention to genuine comments such as yours furthermore having made changes where appropriate.

You may see most comments in the recent past talk of helpful associates always willing to go beyond their call of duty nearly for exceptional customer satisfaction, which is what Colombo Courtyard is all about.

We believe in listening to our clients whether it may be a positive or negative comment hence taking it on board as constructive criticism for consistent improvement.

Thank you once again for sharing your thoughts and very confident you will visit us again and no doubt will see the difference.

Sunny regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colombo hotels
1 mi away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#7 of 55 in Colombo
2,159 reviews
1.7 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
2.2 mi away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mandarina Colombo
Mandarina Colombo
#18 of 55 in Colombo
222 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
1.2 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Colombo
Movenpick Hotel Colombo
#8 of 55 in Colombo
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colombo Court Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colombo Court Hotel & Spa

Address: 32 Alfred House Ave, Colombo 00300, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 55 Hotels in Colombo
Price Range: $101 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Colombo Court Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the city, is an urban boutique hotel that perfectly captures a fusion of contemporary style with intrinsic elements of environmental design. The hotel offers a choice of 15 suites & 17 rooms complete with all modern features, 3 dining areas - Scarlet Room & Cloud Cafe, Loft Lounge Bar, a Library, Jacuzzi and Plunge Pool and even a corporate Gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Colombo Court Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing