We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful boutique hotel”
Review of Colombo Courtyard

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Colombo Courtyard
Ranked #9 of 52 Hotels in Colombo
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful boutique hotel”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We were a party of 4 arriving straight from the airport. Our rooms were instantly available and we were made to feel most welcome by all the staff who kindly upgraded our rooms to suites. Very stylish decor throughout with many very interesting photographs on the walls. Particularly loved the central sculpture in the staircase. Stunning pool area. We ate 2 evening meals there both of which were very good. Our only complaint being the lack of lighting in the Cloud Restaurant on the roof. Breakfast was included and was freshly cooked to order and of a very high standard.
Thank you all for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent but no lift to the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PENJLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    366
    272
    74
    21
    18
See reviews for
97
334
51
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights in Dec. At first it was a little hard to locate the hotel because the cab driver had no idea where it was. However, once we entered the place it felt like an absolute hideaway in bustling Colombo. Interiors were decorated with an industrial and rusty look. Rooms were well maintained and spacious. The hotel is small and mostly with open spaces. It had a rooftop area with decent food and a funky bar that was chilled out. Service was excellent - staff was extremely helpful. Thank you to front desk, receptionist, Shalini, for adhering to our requests.

I highly recommend this place to anyone traveling to Colombo. This was our first time and if we ever come back I will stay again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the new wing. They are building a pool and spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sadiq_U11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo C, General Manager at Colombo Courtyard, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
We are overwhelmed to see your review and the genuine admiration of the concept of Colombo Courtyard which is steel and rust, Hence service, food and staff far exceeded your expectations in all aspects concerned. It may be worthy to note Colombo Courtyard originally comprised of four residences built during varying architectural periods and three story office bakery building before the transformation of this magnificent yet unique property which features unmatched quality in design concept and architecture.
Colombo Courtyard is rated as the only art hotel in Sri Lanka which could be compared to a few of the best found globally.
Sustainable or environmentally friendly materials and design elements used in the hotel are Recycled brick floors, Recycled Railway sleeper for ceiling & column cladding, Recycled metal sculpture as a divider and main feature of the Lobby, Live Bamboo [C4 plant] privacy screens, Recycled Metal Entrance door, Recycled metal planters, Indoor/Outdoor main lobby with natural ventilation, Retention of 70% of the original structure, Planting of indigenous species for shade, Recycled Cement-mixer as a water feature and Interconnecting open-spaces creating long views in a limited space.

We have shared your comments with all associates concerned and hoping to see you soon.

Sunny regards,
Imran Naufal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile


Thoroughly enjoyed are recent stay at Colombo Courtyard while attending a conference in Colombo. The hotel is well maintained and has a chic modern look throughout.
The room was fantastic and spacious with two TV's and an iMac and was very conducive to getting some work done too.
Despite being located on the busy duplication road. We were rarely disturbed or didn't feel like the hotel was located in a busy part of town.
We had most of our meals in our room, however we did try out the cloud cafe which is located on the rooftop and has a really great ambience.
Despite being a relatively small city hotel, it was great to see so much greenery around the pool area and also the very tasteful pieces of Art displayed through out the hotel.

All in all it was a great experience. Thankyou!

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo C, General Manager at Colombo Courtyard, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
It is a pleasure to see such a fantastic review posted and thank you whole heartedly for taking time to do so. As you may know Colombo Courtyard is the only art of hotel of its kind in Sri Lanka with a very unique design and concept with steel and rust. Hence gone into very attention to detail which is what had made this hotel far superior to competition. We are sure you may have seen our extension which is further enhanced the quality of the product with the addition of a main pool, spa and seven more rooms in terms of variety. We do hope you will recommend us to all your friends and family and visit us soon.

Sunny regards
Imran Naufal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Colombo Courtyard at the end Jan 2013 and I must say it is a lovely boutique hotel in a good central location which gets a 5 star rating from me. Everyting in the hotel is brand spanking new, the rooms are exactly like in the picture very comfortable beds and bathroom fitted with rain and power showers with good powerful water pressure, which is a plus point. Great food at the restaurants a combination of authentic Sri Lankan and Western menu. Very courteous, attentive and helpful staff. Mr.Imaran is the hotel GM who is practically there 24X7, a great chap with excellent customer service and always obliging. The housekeeping makes up your room at least three times a day, practically everytime you go out and come back the room is made up and all in-room amneties replenished. I would most definitely stay at the Courtyard on my next visit to Sri Lanka.

Room Tip: Don't get the room facing the road as it can be a bit noisy during the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ram_Selva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo C, General Manager at Colombo Courtyard, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
It is certainly a delight to see such encouraging comments and we at the Colombo Courtyard consistently strive to deliver far beyond expectations. Colombo Courtyard offers huge variety of amenities and features as a post to a standard five star hotel which is certainly what makes us different and unique. We do emphasize heavily on staff training and retention and pleased indeed to bring to your notice a very happy bunch passionate in ultimate customer satisfaction going beyond the call of duty hence personalized. Hoping to see you soon.
Sunny regards,
Imran Naufal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sri Lanka
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

prices are high and the menu is limited , 2nd & 3rd time dining you don't have a choice to select. we had the meals at scarlet room ... the view on the road is not so nice. there is only wash rooms in this floor hence other floor/redcurrants visitors visit and its distressing

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aryaratne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo C, General Manager at Colombo Courtyard, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
We are indeed impressed to note you appreciate the design and the ambiance at the scarlet room. Scarlet Room menu was launched in September 2012 with a view of introducing an epicurean delights hence focusing on Italian and Mediterranean food based on demand and thorough customer feedback and assessment which we are sure you appreciate. Furthermore, this menu will be operational for minimum of one year which is explanatory. We strongly recommend you to try our rooftop cloud café which is once again great ambiance and completely focusing on different types of food on your next visit. Thank you once again for taking the time to post this review and eagerly looking forward to entertaining you in the very near future.

Regards,
Imran Naufal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
Reviewed February 3, 2013

During our recent trip to Sri Lanka we've had the pleasure of staying at the wonderful Colombo Courtyard hotel. Being frequent travellers we were simply astounded by the hotel. Every detail from it's swimming pool, to it's several restaurants and the amazing layout of the rooms has been lovingly considered. Art features are laid out throughout the hotel giving it a stylish and modern vibe. The staff are INCREBIDLY friendly and attentive and we had an awesome night out at the cocktail bar which offered fantastic happy hour prices. Our room was so, so nice - spacious, huge TV with great variety of channels, HUGE comfy bed, all the amenities and a wonderful modern bathroom (something that's not always easy to find in Sri Lanka...). Dinner at the Cloud Cafe was absolutely delicious, reasonably priced and had a great ambience. Hotel is PERFECT for a romantic stay away. Our only regret is that we didn't stay longer - thank you Colombo Courtyard - we are already dreaming about our trip back!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo C, General Manager at Colombo Courtyard, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
It is certainly an awesome feeling to be rated as one of the best hotel you stayed considering frequency of travel and visiting so many countries. Your comments have been shared with all associates and they are indeed overwhelmed which certainly motivate us in consistently delivering beyond expectations. Colombo Courtyard is a one of a kind property in terms of concept, feature, design and layout and certainly matches the criteria of well reputed art hotels around the world. We do have a rigorous training and development program for all our associates and consistency is key to our success. Thank you once again for visiting us and taking the time to post this review and eagerly looking forward to hosting you in the very near future.

Sunny regards,
Imran Naufal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Colombo Courtyard is a very nice boutique hotel with an excellent aura and expression. Every detail is perfect and the designer has managed to take the most modern style from top-end London designhotels and mix that with genuine SriLanka style. When you walk around on the hotel premises you see new angles and new water-sculptures eerywhere - the space is really exploited with taste and innovative thoughts There is an excellent bar, two really nice restaurants and a roof-garden with a great spirit. Every single staff was fantastic and friendly - not in a 'business-way' but in a genuine human way - such a pleasure. On top of this: within 10 minutes of walking distance you find the most unique and best restaurant in Colombo, "The Galleria", which reminds you of high end California. That restaurant really provides great synergy with The Courtyard for anyone who wish to enjoy a luxury visit to Colombo and the Courtyard. We will definetely return when our road passes SriLanka, Sincerely Lotte and Torben, Denmark

no disappointments at all.

Room Tip: The floor level rooms were very quiet and pleasant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Torben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo C, General Manager at Colombo Courtyard, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
It is certainly delighting indeed to note you have been overwhelmed by the design and concept of our hotel and to go along with it staff and the service.
We at the Colombo courtyard believe quality of product, food and service is our almost priority and promise and very encouraging clients such as you appreciate what we do and have to offer as a top end boutique hotel catering to discerning traveler looking for ultimate luxury and pampering. We are confident you will recommend to all your friends and family passing the roads of Sri Lanka to visit Colombo Courtyard.
Sunny regards,

Imran Naufal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colombo hotels
1.7 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
1.0 mi away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#6 of 52 in Colombo
1,761 reviews
2.2 mi away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
1.1 mi away
OZO Colombo
OZO Colombo
#11 of 52 in Colombo
1,331 reviews
1.8 mi away
Taj Samudra Colombo
Taj Samudra Colombo
#7 of 52 in Colombo
2,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colombo Courtyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colombo Courtyard

Property: Colombo Courtyard
Address: 32 Alfred House Ave, Colombo 00300, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 52 Hotels in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Colombo Courtyard 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the city, is an urban boutique hotel that perfectly captures a fusion of contemporary style with intrinsic elements of environmental design. The hotel offers a choice of 15 suites & 17 rooms complete with all modern features, 3 dining areas - Scarlet Room & Cloud Cafe, Loft Lounge Bar, a Library, Jacuzzi and Plunge Pool and even a corporate Gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Colombo Courtyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing