We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel with good location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Colombo Courtyard

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Colombo Courtyard
Ranked #8 of 50 Hotels in Colombo
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel with good location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

Stayed here for 10 nights in Sep/Oct. Lovely little hotel with a plunge pool. The hotel is currently expanding to include a pool and more rooms.
We had a little issue when we checked in, being accused of not having paid for our stay as our card had been declined. We knew this was not true as we had pre-paid for our stay and the money had already been taken from our account a week prior to our arrival. However the manager sincerely apologised for their mistake the day after. But this did leave us with a very poor impression for the hotel.
However the rest of our time was excellent, thanks to all the staff being VERY polite, friendly and helpful.
When we complained of the shower drainage being blocked, it was attended to immediately.
The room and bathroom were clean,large and the bed very comfortable. There was also free Wi-fi and a large Apple Mac, it also a large flat screen TV.
There's a choice of 4 different breakfasts ; all very good. The bar had a good choice of drinks. Their fish pakoras were excellent !
The hotel has a convenient location . All in all the hotel had a very warm and friendly feel to it. I would definitely stay here again !

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gastronomic-girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo C, Public Relations Manager at Colombo Courtyard, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you very much for your detailed feedback. Your appreciation of the location, spacious rooms, variety for breafast, wifi and special touches such as the i-mac computer are very encouraging.

Your comments about check in as mentioned by yourself were rectified after and further measures have been taken in this regard.

We hope to see you again soon.

The Colombo Courtyard Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    343
    265
    71
    20
    16
See reviews for
89
326
46
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sherborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

We stayed in a suite which was clean and spacious. The hotel is a decent city hotel choice, unremarkable in many ways but that is true of most of them. Great location in a good area, a short walk away from the Gallery Cafe. The hotel has a lovely roof top bar which is worth a visit. The mocktails in particular were excellent. Staff were very nice and helpful. Good choices for breakfast which was very sustaining and good quality.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aspire66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo C, Public Relations Manager at Colombo Courtyard, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you appreciate the rooms and rooftop cafe.

We do hope to see you again at Colombo Courtyard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

This hotel is a gem, in a busy and pleasant part of the city but feels calm and peaceful. Top quality design and furnishings. Excellent range of foods and drinks. All staff super helpful and smart. Highly recommended for business and pleasure.

Room Tip: All rooms face away from main road and no noise in our room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ali M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo C, Public Relations Manager at Colombo Courtyard, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thankyou for your very positive review encompassing the ambience, design and cuisine options.

We do hope to see you again soon.

The Colombo Courtyard Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

Lovely time at the Colombo Courtyard. It is brilliantly located right at the heart of Colombo and walking distance from many of the city's top draws. Cheerful, large rooms and friendly service gives a cosy friendly feel to the place. It is also a relatively new property and the rooms are well furnished. Free WI-FI and a large screen mac in the room helped me take care of some much needed emails!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dagriffman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo C, Public Relations Manager at Colombo Courtyard, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful feedback. We are glad we made your stay more comfortable with the complimentary wifi and i-mac computer offered in the suites.

We do hope to see you again soon.

The Colombo Courtyard Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

This was my first time in Colombo. Ostensibly, I had gone to see the T20 semifinals, but the real reason was to finally go to Sri Lanka.

The hotel was recommended to me by by local Colombo friends,and what a choice it turned out to be!.
The hotel is brillian! It is right in the middle of Colombo, in perhaps thethe best area there. Barefoot and Barefoot cafe is a walk away, so is Gallery Cafe. The sorrounding area is very nice with mangalore-tiled houses.
I am a little wary of boutique hotels, they tend to have small rooms and pitiful service - the worst hotel i have stayed in was a boutique in NY.
But this one is superb. the rooms are amazing - large, airy, seem like a suite. big four poster beds, huge bathrooms with a big big tub. among the best rooms i have stayed in. dining options are very nice - great breakfast, with Sri Lankan, English and Indian options.. did not have time to check out the bar. free wifi and a Mac in every room!

only grouse - there is a nespresso machine in every room, but i found out while checking out that they charge for the coffee you make in the room! Am ok with that, but they should tell the quests, since room made coffee is generally free.
the staff is brilliant, and Imran, the GM, is the most hospitable hotel GM i have had the pleasure to meet.
Nice lobby with a courtyard and koi ponds. great atmosphere - laid back and relaxed like the rest of Sri Lanka.
I wil definitely, definitely stay there again

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaspreet1301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo C, Public Relations Manager at Colombo Courtyard, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for your detailed review. Your appreciation of the location, spaciousness of rooms and vareity in cuisine is very encouraging. Your feedback that guests must be educated that the capsules used for the espresso machine are chargeable has already been acted upon.

We understand that this was your first visit to Sri Lanka but do hope to see you more often.

The Colombo Courtyard Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

Friends in Colombo recommended the Courtyard and I was glad I went with their suggestion. The boutique hotel is a relatively new property which is extremely well placed right in the heart of Colombo 3 shopping/cafe district (Barefoot, Paradise Cafe, Cricket Club). It's very close to a couple major interesections so tons of public transport just a stone's throw away.

The rooms are extremely well appointed - Kind size beds, large L-shaped sofa beds, nice desk, Large screen Mac, super large bathroom, large screen LED TV etc. Could not have asked for more. The room was large enough that it would not have felt crowded even with a family of four occupying it. My rate included a airport pickup/dropoff, WiFi, and breakfast (local, continental, or English - all served with coffee/juice/fruit/bread basket) which made the overall package attractive.

The property has a small pool, a lounge room (AC and a good selection of reading materials) and outdoor sitting areas. There was free WiFi throughout the property but I ended up using the large Mac in my room for most of my email/surfing. The staff were helpful and friendly throughout my stay and the on duty manager always found time to come by to say hello. Recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a very well located mid-price boutique hotel experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guru_Wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo C, Public Relations Manager at Colombo Courtyard, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you for your feedback - much appreciated.

You have mentioned the pool. We are pleased to let you know that by the end of November 2012 we will have our extension to the hotel ready with a larger pool and spa.

We do hope to see you back then.

The Colombo Courtyard Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

Tranquil little haven in the middle of bustling Colombo. Very elegant design and well appointed rooms - ours had a little balcony, massive stone bath tub and a shower big enough for 4! On top of that free wifi and an iMac in the room as well as an expresso machine!

We a light meal and drink in their roof top bar - the cloud cafe which had a hip and friendly crowd. Make sure you try the traditional sri lankan or indian breakfast in the morning.

Would definitely go again and recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank london_sun_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo C, Public Relations Manager at Colombo Courtyard, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you for the lovely feedback. We are happy you enjoyed the extra toushes such as the i-mac and espresso machine.

We do hope to see you again soon.

The Colombo Courtyard Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colombo hotels
1.0 mi away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#5 of 50 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,653 reviews
1.7 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
2.2 mi away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
OZO Colombo
OZO Colombo
#11 of 50 in Colombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,218 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
1.3 mi away
Uga Residence
Uga Residence
#1 of 50 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colombo Courtyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colombo Courtyard

Property: Colombo Courtyard
Address: 32 Alfred House Ave, Colombo 00300, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 50 Hotels in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Colombo Courtyard 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the city, is an urban boutique hotel that perfectly captures a fusion of contemporary style with intrinsic elements of environmental design. The hotel offers a choice of 15 suites & 17 rooms complete with all modern features, 3 dining areas - Scarlet Room & Cloud Cafe, Loft Lounge Bar, a Library, Jacuzzi and Plunge Pool and even a corporate Gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Colombo Courtyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing