We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very affordable though I did not buy anything” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gem Museum

Gem Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$55.00*
and up
Private Kandy City Tour Including Peradeniya Royal Botanical Gardens
Ranked #85 of 144 things to do in Colombo
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: one could see a variety of gemstones and a huge collection of jewelleries. Gem Museum, as its name, has every collection that one could never miss admiring. Our staff would offer you a high quality service which will help you the most in selecting a precious product.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Very affordable though I did not buy anything”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

I went here with my colleague who purchased huge quantities of gems from here. I was just fascinated by what I saw though I could not afford to buy anything. Also, I was a bit petrified about what stone would be right for us. However, it was a worthy visit

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Partha_Majumdar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    6
    10
    5
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good Place if you are interested to buy staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

interesting to be educated , should have the freedom of your choice to purchase !! too much pushy on sales ....

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jerome N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palakkad, India
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“amazing gems”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

rare colors of precious and semi precious stones,never before seen anywhere

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank jyothishivaram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“The tour guide trap. If you want to buy gems check prices in your own country first.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2012

Like many people, I was taken to this attraction by my tour guide. He was from Jetwing travels (the biggest tour operater).There is no such "GEM MUSEUM" in Sri Lanka. No Museum will ever sell stones. There are many shops by the name of "Gem Exchange", "Gem Museum","Gem Center" ect. Most of these shops sell fake stones and are run with government backing. They all give a standard cut of 30% to the driver or tour guide.Even many renowned companies such as jetwing, aitkenspence are given commisions inorder to get tourists to come to such shops. If you want good stones, cheap, its better to buy them in your own country. A tourist is very vulnerable where ever he is.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Bandula A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Sapphires my love”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2012

I love this place. Nice Sapphires, Rubies, Green stones. well worth a visit.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Angela Vladimir P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gem Museum also viewed

Colombo, Western Province
Kandy, Central Province
 
Kandy, Central Province
 

Been to Gem Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing