We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
De Fonse Place
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Colombo
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Average 3/5
    View Hotel
    Average 3/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    OZO Colombo(Colombo)
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Average 3/5
    • Free Parking
    • Restaurant
    View Hotel
    Good 3.5/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Reviews (57)
    Filter reviews
    57 results
    Traveler rating
    35
    15
    3
    2
    2
    Traveler type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    35
    15
    3
    2
    2
    See what travelers are saying:
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    39 - 44 of 57 reviews
    Reviewed April 26, 2012

    We did not stay here so not commenting on the guest house per se. We had booked a room for 2 days 3 weeks in advance. I was told that payment would be done once we reach the guesthouse. Had chosen based on reviews here and had found the cost economical. 3 days before our trip i mailed to get details on how to reach when i was told that rooms are not available. At the last moment I had to book rooms nearly double the rates i would have got 3 weeks earlier that too on the outskirts. If you dont want any last minute surprises avoid and book assured room in hotel.

    Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    6  Thank Ashish b
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Ianthe W, Owner at De Fonse Place, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2012

    Hi Ashish,
    I am so sorry for the inconvenience, and that you feel like you were "ditched at the last moment".
    As I explained in my email, we are a small, family run guesthouse - and like any family we sometimes have to confront emergencies. In this case my husband had to undergo emergency surgery, as a result of which we were unable to receive guests.
    This was really an exceptional incident and entirely unanticipated.
    I hope you can understand this, and again my sincerest apologies.
    Mrs Ianthe Wijewardene

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed April 25, 2012

    nice, clean and spacious room with good bathroom, air condition available of needed. very friendly and caring owners who will help you with whatever you need for your stay. nice garden to relax and have breakfast in. good location on back street in residential area, tuk-tuk to galle place, the fort and so on only costs a few hundred rupees (or if its not too hot you can walk!).

    • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank hilmajohanna
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed April 22, 2012

    We arrive Colombo after 10 days long of traveling around Sri Lanka and De Fonseka place offered us just what we needed: quiet peaceful rest, comfortable personal space, warm shower and best of all wonderful conversations with the hosts. Our trip in Sri Lanka was great, getting a chance to stay at De Fonseka made it even better! We will return for sure and if any of our friends visit we would tell them, this place is a must!

    • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Wowdow
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed April 8, 2012

    My wife and and I recently spent six nights at the de Fonseka Place Guest House. Our second floor room was spacious and comfortable with the option of air conditioning. The location is very central with easy access to shopping, and restaurants, and the hosts are very helpful in providing local information. The breakfasts in the patio facing the private rear garden were most enjoyable. If one is looking for a comfortable home-stay experience in a good residential area of Colombo, this is it. Thank you Ianthe, and Rohan for welcoming us in to your home.

    • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    2  Thank Don B
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed March 26, 2012

    This was a lucky find. A warm home environment, clean and airy room, very comfortable in all respects. Will return.

    • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank bandoorajulia
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    View more reviews