We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget Accommodation In Colombo...”
Review of Hotel Sunshine

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Sunshine
Ranked #91 of 157 Colombo B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Decent , budget Accommodation @ Colombo. ... This place is good for budget travellers who like to be in value of your money type accommodations, near-by is the beautiful sea shore at walking distance for your pleasure. Food is available for the guests.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DARSHAN_PENDSE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asitha L, Owner at Hotel Sunshine, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2014

Thank you for staying at hotel sunshine colombo 4.we re really appreciate for your recommendation about our hotel and the location .we ll well come you back should you visit to colombo.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (46)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 46 reviews

Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

Wonderful and confortable hotel. All the staff is very kind and professional. If you have a problem they will solve it. The lobby is a quiet and nice place where you can have some tasty tea. Lavinia italy

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Lavinia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asitha L, Owner at Hotel Sunshine, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Dear Madam

Thank you for staying at hotel sunshineColombo and especially your recommendation. We very much appreciate your kind feedback on our location, rooms and our staff we look forward to welcome you back should you visit srilanka again.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Good value. Good location.
Friendly- the guys behind the desk helpful, not pushy or lairy.
Told me good local places to eat and what to ask for. Cheap restaurants round the corner, and a supermarket.

Excellent location( it's not in the centre of town) , its near to Indian visa place. 20mins walk to Cafe Colombo Cricket for nice beer, through safe streets. Interesting mix of embassies and locals. Didn't feel threaten at all. I am a young single girl traveller.

Cinema nearby for normality if you've been traveling for a while.
Ocean road two minutes away.

I'm staying there again whilst a get my indian visa.

Fully recommend this place, for a capital city it's cheap and had a nice clientele. Mix of Sri Lankan's and western holiday makers and travellers.

Don't miss out on what it has to offer!!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarah079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asitha L, General Manager at Hotel Sunshine, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Thank you for your review of the Hotel sunshine Colombo and especially your recommendation. We are delighted that you chose to stay with us and that you were not disappointed.

We very much appreciate your kind feedback on our location,and the staff.we look forward to welcome you back to yet another memorable stay in our Sunshine hospitality.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

I have stayed here twice, in September and October and had a different experience both times. On both occasions I have emailed in advance and been told there are no budget rooms available so have had to book superior doubles however when we have arrived there has been no guests around. Since it has happened on more than one occasion we think it is a ploy for customers to spend more. It cost 2600Rs per night and 300Rs per day for wifi.
The first room was nice, very clean and comfortable with a balcony, hot water and toiletries and the wifi was super but after a few days staying we were called by the reception staff and instructed to pack our belongings as we needed to move rooms to make way for new customers. Not knowing what was happening we packed and was shown to a room that smelled really a strongly of urine and was a lot worse quality. We quickly refused to pay the same price for a sub standard room and requested to move back which we did after a very long and challenging talk with the manager. The customer service was terrible and the whole experience was stressful and unnecessary.
The second time we were in a very dark, small room, with a strong smell of perfume. Although it was clean there was no wifi signal even though we had paid extra and it was on the stairway.
Overall, this hotel is one of the cheapest in Colombo and was one of the only ones within our budget but for the price the quality of service and room standard does not make it value for money. The location is good, you can get a taxi or a bus into the centre with ease and there are a lot of local, friendly arteries to try around the streets of this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chelsea R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asitha L, General Manager at Hotel Sunshine, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Thank you for stay at the hotel sunshine Colombo 4 and taking time to share your feedback.we sincerely apologize for the servere inconvenience experienced by you during your stay with us.The problem you encountered is not in keeping with the high standard that we try to do our best at all times.how ever ,I would request you personally to give us another chance to make these thing up to the standard.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Looking for a reasonable buget hotel for one or 2 night stop over in Colombo then Sunshine hotel offers great value. The hotel is clean and staff are curtious and helpful. In the heart of colombo everything is within walking distance. There are no meals served but there are plenty of small street eating places within the vacinity where you can eat cheaply. The hotel does have WIFI factility.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UKLara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asitha L, General Manager at Hotel Sunshine, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2014

Dear Madam

Thank you for staying at hotel sunshineColombo and especially your recommendation. We very much appreciate your kind feedback on our location, rooms and our staff we look forward to welcome you back should you visit srilanka again.

Happy new year

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Stayed here two nights on our way out of colombo last we week when in town. The rooms are nicely kept, recently upgraded & very clean. On top of that the staff is extremely friendly & the prices are affordable. Located in Colombo 4, by the ocean ( not on the beach ) with access to all main roads. Almost all attractions, restuarents, pubs/clubs from this hotel is an extremely short cab ride away ( less than 500 rupees on a Cab and prob less on a tuk-tuk ).. Great budget/medium price ranged hotel in Colombo!

Room Tip: See if you can get a room on an upper floor facing north
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nycnls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asitha L, General Manager at Hotel Sunshine, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Thank you for your review of the Hotel sunshine Colombo and especially your recommendation. We are delighted that you chose to stay with us and that you were not disappointed.

We very much appreciate your kind feedback on our location, rooms and of course the facilities on our top floor; and look forward to welcome you back to yet another memorable stay and a further indulgence in our Sunshine hospitality.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Since 2004 i used to stay on this hotel for my business trips to Sri Lanka, the rooms are good and clean, at the rate of LKR 1750, its great value for money. i like the lobby of this hotel which was very spacious and calm, also the staffs are very friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karthick Subramani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asitha L, General Manager at Hotel Sunshine, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Hello
Thank you for staying with us continuously. We look forward to having you over again. We do our very best to make sure our guests has a comfortable and a pleasant stay .

Cheers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colombo hotels
2.8 mi away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
2.1 mi away
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
2.3 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#7 of 55 in Colombo
2,100 reviews
4.5 mi away
Villa 63
Villa 63
#22 of 157 in Colombo
39 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hilton Colombo
Hilton Colombo
#12 of 55 in Colombo
2,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sunshine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sunshine

Address: 5A Shrubbery Gardens Road, Colombo 00400, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 157 B&Bs / Inns in Colombo
Price Range: $34 - $39 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sunshine 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A/c and n/ac comfortable rooms with free wifi / elevator/24hrs room service/laundry /24hrs security / Taxi service/ Master / Visa card accepted / close to all major shopping malls and hospitals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Sunshine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing