We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Sunshine
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$179
$125
Cinnamon Grand
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$173
$125
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$61
$57
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$159
$128
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
OZO Colombo(Colombo)
$83
$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$125
$116
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$99
$52
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (49)
Filter reviews
49 results
Traveler rating
8
16
15
5
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
8
16
15
5
5
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 49 reviews
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Budget accom in colombo is tough, but I think this may be the answer, rooms average at about 2750rps, but i got mine for 2000rps! Room 107, room was clean, but could do with a bit of a touch up..advertised as cold water only, but o my second night i had the hotest shower i have had in weeks!! wifi 300rps per day. Location is good, supermarket 2 min walk away! 300rps tuk tuk to bus station in fort.
Plenty of budget southern Indian restaraunts located nearby, as well as chinese,thai etc.
All in all. If staying in Colombo on a budget, you could do a lot worse than here!!

Room Tip: room 107, was fine, no issues or concerns at all!
Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asitha L, General Manager at Hotel Sunshine, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Thank you for stay at the hotel sunshine Colombo 4 and taking time to share your feedback.we sincerely apologize for the servere inconvenience experienced by you during your stay with us.The problem you encountered is not in keeping with the high standard that we try to do our best at all times.how ever ,I would request you personally to give us another chance to make these thing up to the standard.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

This place was perfect for us. We stayed in Room 101, a simple fan room, and a great value at US $15. The bed and pillows were comfortable and the room was very clean. It was nice and quiet when we were there. This hotel is located in Bambalapitiya, which is three train stops south of the Fort railway station. The train is very easy and inexpensive to use, but not during the rush hours when the trains are loaded to capacity. From the railway station, you walk about 6 or 7 blocks south along the water to Shrubbery Gardens Road. A tuktuk hired from the front of the hotel can take you to the Fort, or better yet, the Fort bus station for the airport bus, for just 300 Sri Lankan rupees, and then the AC minibus bus directly to the airport costs just 150 each. It took us about 2 hours from the hotel to the airport, but we allowed 3 hours to be on the safe side. Another nice thing about this place is its proximity to delicious South Indian vegetarian food. The Saraswathie across the street on Galle was our favorite, and its open from 6:30 AM to 10 at night. Plus, Hotel Sunshine is just a few blocks away from House of Fashions, an outlet for the Sri Lankan garment industry where you can spend quite a bit of time sorting through the racks - no try on rooms, you can return for exchange only. Most important, the staff is friendly. The entrance and lobby has a boutique stylishness that surprised me in this price range. There was some noise coming through the airwell in the bathroom, but we just kept the door shut. There is no top sheet provided, you could try requesting one, we bring our own. There were a couple of mosquitos, but not bad, just to be aware in case you are really sensitive. The wifi costs 300 rupees extra, but it wasn't working on the day we were there. Anyways, we were really happy to stay here and everything was great.
Thanks, Hotel Sunshine!

Room Tip: room 101 was really nice if you like a good value fan room with cold water.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dustydiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asitha L, General Manager at Hotel Sunshine, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Thank you for staying at hotel sunshineColombo and especially your recommendation.
We very much appreciate your kind feedback on our location, rooms and our staff we look forward to welcome you back should you visit srilanka again.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

I'm not sure how things work in this place, but the bathroom had broken windows (two of those), which meant I had to ask for two towels and tie them up to cover the windows. Everything in the bathroom would have been visible from the local arrack bar nearby. Oh, yes. If you open the window in the room, you get a view of people drinking arrack and staring back at you. If not for this crap, I could have given this place one more star.

There was a pipe which was connecting the room with the toilet (it opens in both ends, and I'm not sure why. This is perhaps for the mosquitoes to come into the bathroom and then directly into the room.

Very basic room without TV or any kind of contemporary equipment, whatsoever. Two very dim bulbs provided to strain the eyes, and to compensate for sunlight never entering the room through the day.

The door lock was on the verge of breaking apart.

Stained linens await you on the bed, and there was a thin blanket (stained) to protect you from cold, if any.

Fresh air hasn't seen the room in weeks until the door was opened up for us.

There's a charge for using wifi. Not even a bottle of water was provided.

The 'manager' in the reception wasn't looking too happy to even receive us. We were told that there was just this one room available and we were allotted that room. When we were discussing the rates and so on, a Chinese couple arrived and enquired if there are any rooms, and they told that several rooms are available and a 'bell boy' was sent with them to show the rooms. I'm not sure where were these rooms hiding when we asked for the same.

A complete dump of a hotel, run by people with crap attitude.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank W-Clyde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asitha L, General Manager at Hotel Sunshine, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Thank you for stay at the hotel sunshine Colombo 4 and taking time to share your feedback.we sincerely apologize for the servere inconvenience experienced by you during your stay with us.The problem you encountered is not in keeping with the high standard that we try to portray at all times.how ever ,I would request you personally to give us another chance to truly experience the grand indulgence of hotel sunshine.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Great hotel for the price. The room we had was clean, had hot water, large balcony and nice wooden doors and windows giving the room character. The location was a short walk to shopping areas and some reasonable resturants. I've stayed in many large cities in South Asia and this hotel was by far the best for the price. A refreshing change for crap you get in India for the same price.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Orwellwasright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asitha L, General Manager at Hotel Sunshine, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Thank you for your review of the Hotel sunshine Colombo and especially your recommendation. We are delighted that you chose to stay with us and that you were not disappointed.

We very much appreciate your kind feedback on our location, rooms and of course the facilities .we look forward to welcome you back to yet another memorable stay and a further indulgence in our Sunshine hospitality.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012 via mobile

Fantastic value for money, friendly helpful staff and really tasty food (not included) I had my first string hoppers and curry here for breakfast and they were delicious! This is a great budget/basic find in Colombo. Definitely recommend

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amba6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asitha L, General Manager at Hotel Sunshine, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Thank you for your review of the Hotel sunshine Colombo and especially your recommendation. We are delighted that you chose to stay with us and that you were not disappointed. We very much appreciate your kind feedback on our location, rooms and the staff. look forward to welcome you back to..our hotel again and again.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews