We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very welcoming hosts. Delicious breakfast.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Colombo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Colombo Haven Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #21 of 148 Colombo B&B and Inns
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very welcoming hosts. Delicious breakfast.”
Reviewed February 4, 2014

I stayed the first two nights of my holiday here. I had the Banyon the first night and the Bamboo den on the second night. Both rooms were comfortable - I had no problem with the internal window in Banyon, as there was a curtain, but the Bamboo room was infinitely better. Banyon was basic, but Bamboo was a lovely room, so if you get the choice ask for that.
The hotel was very clean, so unlike the recent reviewer, i had no problem there.
The manager, John, and his wife were lovely. John still runs a travel company and he organised a trip for me round Sri Lanka for a week. He actually drove me himself as all his drivers were busy. He was very courteous and helpful, and the price was very reasonable. I had booked at the last minute, so hadn't planned anything, so he took care of that and found me some very nice hotels. In retrospect the trip was a bit too hectic, so next time I would take it more slowly, but that was my fault more than John's
Thoroughly recommended, and in a good location for Galle Face green - about 15 minutes walk. Not a very nice walk due to all the road works, so a tuktuk might be best until the work is finished. I stopped off on the way to have high tea at the Cinnamon Grand, which served as breakfast lunch and tea on my first day and was vey reasonably priced.

Room Tip: Go for an upstairs room, much nicer! Downstairs is OK if you have just got off the plane and need...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sussexART
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jon_kr, Owner at Colombo Haven Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your detailed review and recommendations. We greatly appreciate your time and effort in providing such a detailed review. It was our pleasure hosting you and being of help with your tour and other accommodation needs across the island. We sincerely look forward to another opportunity to host you again.

Blessings,
Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    60
    17
    5
    4
See reviews for
22
82
19
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

We stayed here on our last night in Sri Lanka before out flight! After eating the breakfast before our flight, I wished we pre booked dinner for the night we arrived as the women who worked there made the breakfast amazing which was a great end to out holiday! Best breakfast of the holiday had a range of foods! I'm pretty sure we stayed in the bamboo room, the shower was really fun could play the radio whilst in it however we couldn't get any hot water! Room was big, it had 2 big queens beds in it however as we only needed one bed the other bed had no sheets and I saw a few bugs on it however the rest of the room was clean. TV was working with plenty of channels which was a plus after a long day travelling into colombo, bathroom had a big mirror and was clean and wifi was working in the room. There was quite a big noise at night, I feel that there was some form of construction going on and the noise didn't stop till 11pm. Both the host were wonderful, very attentive! Not sure how much it was as it was included in our tour, overall great little place to stay at, make sure you have the breakfast as it truly is amazing!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolineLYD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jon_kr, Owner at Colombo Haven Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Dear CarolynLYD,
Thanks for your kind and detailed review. i am very glad that my team took very good care of you and that the breakfast was the best you had in the island. That is a compliment we get from many of our guests, that not only the variety, but also the qty of the food we serve is unmatched. I am really glad you enjoyed it and too bad we didn't get a chance to serve you some personalised dinner as well. May be the next time!

Glad you enjoyed the shower, but sorry about the delay in getting hot water though. It usually takes a few extra seconds since we use solar hot water tanks placed on the roof. because it is backed up with electric heater for any cloudy days, we have not had any problem getting hot water even on rainy days. Regardless, apologies on behalf of my staff if they didn't brief you in advance.

Not very sure about the bugs you saw on the spare bed, but we would look into it. Thanks for bringing this to our attention. Even though the climate is tropical and bugs can be found pretty much everywhere, we go to great length to make sure we keep them out.

Thanks once again for staying with us and we look forward to another opportunity to host you.

Blessings,
Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anglesey, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Once our driver found the place ( no sign on the road outside) we were warmly welcomed by the family who run the place. They were friendly and helpful throughout our stay. The Sri Lankan breakfast was amazing. The room was big and clean, hot shower, comfortable bed. I was so tired from the night flight we had that I slept really well. There is a lot of building work however. it stops at 8pm but starts again by about 7am.
Its much cheaper than the other hotels in that part of town and a short walk to shops, restaurants and other places to visit.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jon_kr, Owner at Colombo Haven Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Dear Sally,
Thanks for your review. We appreciate your time and effort to provide this review for us. It was our greatest of pleasures hosting you..

Sorry about any inconvenience caused due to not having a signboard on the main road. The ice cream parlour takes up all the prominence on top of our road and that's why we direct people to the Carnival Ice cream parlour, which cannot be missed with the big sign on the main road.

Thanks once again for your review and we look forward to another opportunity to host you at the Haven.

Blessings,
Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

The Manager and presumably his wife were very nice and helpful and we found we needed good, honest, local advice in Sri Lanka.
The location is a very noisy, exhaust fumed walk to Galle Green. Take a tuk tuk instead.
The room was a decent size but had two double/queen beds in it. We were just a couple, therefore they left the other bed next to us without a cover. We dumped our suitcases and bits and pieces on it. Probably not the cleanest way to handle things.
We asked for the Banyan room for peace and quiet, however, you will find people will be walking past your room at all hours. As there is no curtain over the indoor glassed area that looks into the stairwell, one felt a little vulnerable. There was a light immediately outside this curtainless window that shone into the room. I turned it off a couple of times, but it is simply put on again.
Get the Manager to show you how the shower works and be aware it takes forever for the hot water to reach the shower. We thought we didn't have any hot water.
Cleanliness left a lot to be desired. On arrival, we needed to brush the toilet. I wiped some fluid off the floor and the cloth came up filthy. The floor needs a good scrub and clean.

Our main issue was one night after midnight, we heard a fracas upstairs, directly above our room. There were raised, assertive voices; some glass was broken and people were coming and going past our room. We felt quite vulnerable as the only way out of the Banyan room was back up those stairs past whatever was happening. This went on for about an hour and a half and then ceased. The next morning we saw many empty alcohol bottles in the small garden area at the entrance to the hotel.

This was not a good experience for us. It is definitely over priced for what it is and though the breakfast is nice, it is pricey as well (not included). Pay a little more or go further out, pay less and take a tuk tuk to the centre.

Room Tip: Banyan is too open with the curtainless window and light; construction goes on around this complex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank G P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jon_kr, Owner at Colombo Haven Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear G.P,
Thanks for your detailed review, but very sad to hear that your experience was not the best. While we can't do much about the smoke from the vehicles on Galle Road while walking to Galle Face green, we can do something about improving things within our premise.

Having read your other reviews about places and hotels in Sri Lanka, it doesn't look like you have had a very positive view of your travel in Sri Lanka. Sorry if we couldn't change that for the better. With regards to the noise you heard from outside/above your room, I believe my manager had explained that it had come from outside and not within the premise. That said, I would like to further investigate the incident and hence kindly request for you to send me an email with the date of your stay. I can then follow up with other guests who stayed on the dame night to see what had happened.

With regards to privacy in your room, there is absolute privacy with the frosted window. That said, didn't realise that the light that might be coming through that at night is a disturbance. We hadn't had that as a complaint from any other guest in the last two years of operation, Therefore, didn't realise that it could be. Sorry about that. We hadn't put a curtain inside so that it doesn't block the light into the room, but would look at putting one ASAP. Thanks for bringing that to our attention.

As for the hot water, because we use Solar hot water with a tank on roof top it does take some time to get to the lower level. We want to be as earth friendly as we can while running the B&B. Sorry for any inconvenience caused due to that.

Once again, sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused. I can assure you that there was no danger in anyway for you even though you felt that way. I would investigate further and correspond directly with you about any update.

Blessings,
Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

The best thing about this place is the husband and wife team who run it. They are lovely, genuinely trying to help and prepared to go out of their way to meet guests needs (something we rarely found in other hotels and guest houses in Sri Lanka). The location is also fantastic, central and just off the main Galle Rd - from here it was easy to get to most places in colombo.

The rooms were average at best, tired, old furniture and generally dark and depressing. The bathrooms were acceptable and the high tech disco shower was special. The biggest issue is the noise. It is right next door to a very busy building site where the work seems 24/7.

All in all an acceptable place to stay, but not particularly comfortable and overpriced for what it is.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank cl001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jon_kr, Owner at Colombo Haven Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Dear Guest(s),
Thanks for your review. Glad to hear that my manager and team took good care of you. On the other hand very sad to hear that you thought the place was over priced. Not sure what price point you think is acceptable, but we have compared prices for places around us and have been competitive. That said, we are always willing to listen to our guests' input to make the place not only the best it can be but also great value for money. Please feel free to send me an email with your suggestions.

We are also very sorry to hear about the noise. Not sure exactly when in Dec you stayed, but most construction work around us is done and has been quiet of late. Regardless, even if it was not within our control, we apologise for it.

I am also surprised to hear that the room was dark. Once again not sure which room you stayed in, but each room has it's own advantage. The only room that doesn't have windows to the outside is the Banyan, but guests say that is the best room for sleep quality and quietness. The rest of the rooms have plenty of windows and outside light.

You also mentioned about the furniture in the room that you didn't like. We have the same mattresses as hotel Hilton has and even better 1000 thread count Egyptian cotton sheets that even some of the five star hotels don't provide. Regardless, we are open to constructive feedback on how we can improve and specially which furniture you thought should be different and why.

Once again, thanks for your review and we wish you and yours the very best for the New Year. Safe travels where ever your next destination is.

Blessings,
Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We stayed here for the last 2 nights of our holiday. The room was fine, and the shower was great! Despite the building work going on all around it stops at about 8-9 at night so doesn't keep you awake. John, his wife and the lady who works for them were all lovely hosts. John was really good to talk to about what to see and do in Colombo.
I would definitely recommend staying here - the food is food and the location is spot on.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CheesyClaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jon_kr, Owner at Colombo Haven Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Dear guest,
Thanks so much for staying with us and also for your kind review. We appreciate you pointing out that the construction around us didn't affect your stay. We do believe that we are in a very good, convenient location for Colombo, a very short distance to many of the things you want to do in Colombo.

It was our greatest pleasure hosting you at the Haven. My manager John, his wife and the other lady who works for us, all of them would be thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We greatly look forward to your next stay with us.

Blessings,
Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Pros:
City of the city In Galle Road, behind Carnival Ice cream!
Walk able distance to all Restaurants
Bigger rooms and nicely decorated
Traditional Srilankan Homely breakfast..I like it. They served me Veg only when I asked.
Friendly Staff!
Cons:
Big issue is Construction is going on behind this place, that cause noises in Night too!! This make the place down!!

Otherwise all well.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malgudiboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jon_kr, Owner at Colombo Haven Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thanks for staying with us and also for your review. Sorry about any inconvenience caused due to the construction near us. Even though it's not within our control, our sincere apologies for the inconvenience. Since your stay in Sept, the noise has subsided a lot. We hope to host you again very soon so that you can experience the hospitality yet again but without the construction noise.

Blessings,
Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.1 mi away
Renuka City Hotel
Renuka City Hotel
#22 of 55 in Colombo
651 reviews
1.1 mi away
Moss Colombo
Moss Colombo
#4 of 148 in Colombo
90 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort@15
Comfort@15
#28 of 148 in Colombo
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hostel Inn Colombo 7
Hostel Inn Colombo 7
#8 of 153 in Colombo
35 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casons B&B
Casons B&B
#32 of 148 in Colombo
32 reviews
0.0 mi away
Backpack Lanka
Backpack Lanka
#23 of 153 in Colombo
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colombo Haven Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colombo Haven Bed & Breakfast

Property: Colombo Haven Bed & Breakfast
Address: 263/6 Galle Road | Kollupitiya, Colombo 03, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 148 B&Bs / Inns in Colombo
Hotel Class:3 star — Colombo Haven Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With Daily rate of only $50-$60/night/double, and right next to the Sheraton Colombo (opening soon), why not stay in the best area in Colombo at an affordable B&B with 7 star hospitality? You can't miss Colombo Haven B&B either on the internet search, TripAdvisor or in person. We are one of the longest established B&Bs in Colombo. With a chef on site to make you fresh, customised breakfasts, lunch and dinner, we are as well known for our rooms and hospitality as our food. People even saying "it's the best food in the entire island" that they have had!(TripAdvisor reviews). Colombo Haven is a tastefully furnished four bedroom B&B located in the heart of the Colombo suburb of Colpity (Kollupitiya). Which is literally a stone's throw away from Liberty Plaza and is walking distance to places such as British council, American consulate, the presidential palace, Cinnamon Grand hotel, Galle Face Green, Liberty theatres, restaurants, carnival ice cream, Gangarama Temple, Vihara mahadevi park, etc. Facilities:• Air conditioned • modern bathrooms with Hot water• Five star hotel quality beds and linen• Freshly prepared breakfast,lunch, dinner, drinks • Free Internet/WiFi • 7 star hospitality!!! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing