We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If in Colombo, stay here!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Colombo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Colombo Haven Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #22 of 151 Colombo B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We stayed at Colombo Haven for 2 nights and it was great. It's clean, walking distance to good sights including the Galle Face Green for great food at sunset. Most importantly, the manager John Samson couldn't make you feel more welcome if he tried. He's happy to help with anything - booking transportation, tours, directions, trip suggestions...he was so friendly. And the bonus - the breakfast was utterly delicious! His wife cooks the biggest breakfast we could have imagined (Sri Lankan and/or Western foods, depending on what you want). You won't beed lunch, that's for sure! Overall, it's the perfect little place to stay right in the middle of the bustling city and it's surprisingly quiet. He can arrange pickup to/from the airport so it's nice and easy to get to.

Room Tip: I think it's worth paying the extra $10 for a room with an en suite. We had the Palmyrah room (w...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Em J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jon_kr, Owner at Colombo Haven Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Dear Em J,
Thanks for staying with us and also for your helpful review and recommendation. It was our great pleasure hosting you. Glad my manager John was of help with the rest of your travel as well. We do get better than advertised rates on hotels around the island and more than happy to help get the best deal for our guests.

We look forward to the next opportunity to be of service to you .

Blessings,
Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (169)
There are newer reviews for Colombo Haven Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 169 reviews

Reviewed September 7, 2013

The very friendly staff made us feel welcome. We stayed in the room on the top floor, which was quite big and had its own roof terrace. The location is great, very close to important sites in Colombo and to two big shopping malls.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yrv2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jon_kr, Owner at Colombo Haven Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thanks for staying with us at the Haven and also for your kind review. It was our pleasure hosting you and look forward to having you over again the next time you are in town.

Blessings,
Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We arrived late into Colombo after a long flight where our bags didn't turn up and were really looked after by John and his lovely wife. The Bamboo room we stayed in is as good as the picture with a great bathroom. Amazing breakfast that we couldn't possibly finish and John helped us plan our trip as he used to own a tour business. It really set us on the right foot so thank you. If we stay in colombo again, well definitely come back.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank koistLouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jon_kr, Owner at Colombo Haven Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thanks for staying with us at the Haven and also for your kind review and recommendation. I am very happy that my manager John and his wife took great care of you. We are very glad to hear that you would be staying with us again if you and when you are in town next. That's the best feedback we can have. Thanks for that. We look forward to having you again as well.

Blessings,
Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

While the owner and staff are exceptionally nice and pleasant and the breakfast is fabulous, the b&b is over prized for what they offer. At the moment there is a huge building-site just next doors and as a result it is noisy and dusty. Bring mosquito nets as there are none...

Room Tip: Take a room with ensuite bathroom.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sisa1904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jon_kr, Owner at Colombo Haven Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thanks for your review. Glad to hear that my manager John and team took good care of you. But we are sorry that you feel that we are over priced. Based on our analysis of the other rooms on offer in Colombo, we believe we are very competitive for the standard of rooms we provide. We also hear from many who have stayed in other places that the quality of our place ranks among the best. We might not have many amenities as a big hotel, but we do provide value for money. That said, we are always open to constructive feedback. I would really like to hear from you about what more we can do to make it value for money. Please drop me an email when you can.

With regards to mosquito nets, we don't have them since our place is fully air conditioned and we try to keep our rooms free of mosquitoes. We would consider adding the nets if it becomes a request from more of our guests.

Thanks once again for your review and we hope we can improve to provide better value for money for you the next time around.

Blessings,
Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We stayed here our first two nights in Sri Lanka. It wax great to have somewhere to crash after we got in so late off our plane, didn't take much notice until the next morning. The room was fine, we didn't have any hot way though which wasn't advised. It was clean and easy to walk about, just not what we were expecting from the photos. John is a great host, he gave us plenty of advise on where and when and made sure we were comfortable throughout our stay, I'd only stay here again on a short term basis though.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Crashlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jon_kr, Owner at Colombo Haven Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thanks for your review. I am glad that my manager John and team took good care of you and provided valuable input to your travel in the island. Not sure what you mean by didn't have hot way, but may be you meant to say hot water?. if that is the case, I am a bit surprised since we have solar hot water backed up with electric. There is absolutely no reason why you wouldn't have had hot water. It does take a few seconds to flow through since it has to come from the hotwater tank.

I wish you would have talked to my manager about it when you were there and he would have made sure you knew the right way to access the hotwater. In anycase, sorry that you didn't know how to and we can only wish that the next time you stay with us, you would be able to enjoy a really warm shower.

Thanks once again for your review and look forward to another opportunity to host you.

Blessings,
Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

The manager, John Samson and his wife make this place great. We stayed here on our first night in Sri Lanka and our final two nights before departing. John is extremely knowledgable and gave us valuable suggestions on how to enhance our itinerary. He also arranged a driver for us at very reasonable rates compared to the other drivers we hired later on in our trip.
John's wife prepared the breakfast which was large and delicious. My wife is vegetarian and she had lots of choices.
The guest house is at the end of a quiet street and was centrally located. It is about a 20 minute walk to Galle Face Green. A tuk tuk will cost a little over a dollar to get you to the Dutch Hospital area. Because of the many embassies in the area, it is very safe and we walked back to the hotel after dinner each night. There is also a bank with ATM next door to the guest house.
The rooms are nothing fancy but comfortable and the AC works well. They also have a good functioning wifi. Stay here if you want a wonderful breakfast and want to get some background knowledge of Sri Lanka before you head off to other destinations within the country.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thoth182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jon_kr, Owner at Colombo Haven Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thanks so much for staying with and multiple times and also for your review and recommendation of our place. I am very glad that my manager John and wife took great care of you but not surprised that the level of hospitality and welcome they offered. They love hosting people and being of help in any way possible. That just comes very naturally to them and I am glad it was to your satisfaction as well. We look forward to hosting you again if and when you are in town the next time.

Blessings,
Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We stayed here twice, for a total of 4 nights. There is a shortage of mid-range places in Colombo but this place seemed to fit the bill and we were not disappointed. The location is central but set back from the road and therefore quiet. It can be slightly difficult for drivers to find so tell them to go to the Carnival ice cream bar on Galle road or Kollupitiya post office and the guesthouse is at the end of the drive of Carnival ice cream. The rooms are clean, bright, comfortable and well equipped. Jonathan and the staff are very friendly and helpful. We would stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gemma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jon_kr, Owner at Colombo Haven Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Dear Gemma,
Thanks for staying with us and also for your kind review and recommendation of our place. It was our great pleasure hosting you and look forward to the next time.

Blessings,
Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colombo hotels
1.7 mi away
CityRest Fort
CityRest Fort
#5 of 151 in Colombo
370 reviews
0.8 mi away
Drift BnB Colombo
Drift BnB Colombo
#2 of 151 in Colombo
459 reviews
1.6 mi away
City Beds The Regent
City Beds The Regent
#3 of 151 in Colombo
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hostel Inn Colombo 7
Hostel Inn Colombo 7
#11 of 150 in Colombo
36 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort@15
Comfort@15
#28 of 151 in Colombo
87 reviews
5.8 mi away
Villa 63
Villa 63
#20 of 151 in Colombo
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colombo Haven Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colombo Haven Bed & Breakfast

Address: 263/6 Galle Road | Kollupitiya, Colombo 03, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Colombo
Hotel Class:3 star — Colombo Haven Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With Daily rate of only $50-$60/night/double, and right next to the Sheraton Colombo (opening soon), why not stay in the best area in Colombo at an affordable B&B with 7 star hospitality? You can't miss Colombo Haven B&B either on the internet search, TripAdvisor or in person. We are one of the longest established B&Bs in Colombo. With a chef on site to make you fresh, customised breakfasts, lunch and dinner, we are as well known for our rooms and hospitality as our food. People even saying "it's the best food in the entire island" that they have had!(TripAdvisor reviews). Colombo Haven is a tastefully furnished four bedroom B&B located in the heart of the Colombo suburb of Colpity (Kollupitiya). Which is literally a stone's throw away from Liberty Plaza and is walking distance to places such as British council, American consulate, the presidential palace, Cinnamon Grand hotel, Galle Face Green, Liberty theatres, restaurants, carnival ice cream, Gangarama Temple, Vihara mahadevi park, etc. Facilities:• Air conditioned • modern bathrooms with Hot water• Five star hotel quality beds and linen• Freshly prepared breakfast,lunch, dinner, drinks • Free Internet/WiFi • 7 star hospitality!!! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing