We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We were not impressed”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Colombo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Colombo Haven Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #21 of 148 Colombo B&B and Inns
Tubingen, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We were not impressed”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We had the room on the top floor with terrace. Room looked ok at first sight, but don't look under or behind the bed. Bathroom is basic although with a modern shower. Lots of mosquitos in the room and no net. Terrace looked shabby with lots of building materials lying around. Rather noisy day and night. Breakfast was basic. Eggs, sausages and cardboard toast, juice and 1 sort of jam.. No freshly cooked Sri Lankan food. There was cold fish curry though on one day with cold noodles. Definitely not worth the extra money.
Location is not bad for shopping. The owner is a nice person. We would not stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Handwerkerpark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jon_kr, Owner at Colombo Haven Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thanks for your review, though I am really sorry to read your review. We never serve cold food!. All our breakfast is freshly made and served, but not sure as to what time you came down for breakfast and when exactly you stayed with us. Regardless, you should still have been served freshly squeezed juice, and fresh food along with a hot cup of tea/coffee. That's the only way my team is instructed to do.

I am eager to find out why you were made to feel the way you feel when most guests say it is the best food they have had in the whole island. You know our email address and please send me the exact date you stayed with us and I would follow it up with my manager John (whom you called the owner) to look into the details. I would like to follow up with other guests who stayed at the same time as well to see what they felt. I want to make sure that no other guests comes close to feeling this way.

I am also very concerned about the fact that you mention our room was noisy, and not very clean. We pride ourselves in keeping our rooms very clean and hence floors are polished everyday, and cleaned after each guest. Many guests comment how quiet our house is and hence I am very surprised to hear your comment that it's noisy both day and night. I am also a bit surprised about your comment about our bathroom. Many guests comment how good the bathroom and the shower is, but sorry you didn't feel that way.

Though I am very surprised to read such a review, I would follow up to make sure that we take this to heart and make sure we take steps to prevent it from being a reality. Once again I am sorry that you weren't completely satisfied with your stay.

Blessings,
Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    60
    17
    5
    4
See reviews for
22
82
19
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stansted Mountfitchet, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

I wish we had only stayed 1 day in Colombo. The area around Galle Face Hotel, lake and old town were interesting but not much else. Accommodation is expensive, the best value places are booked up quickly. This B&B charges extra for breakfast, so not really a B&B. Location ok, bit of a walk to town, some tuk tuks couldn't find it. There was construction on our balcony, so we couldn't use it plus workers right outside our window woke us up before 7am, we like to sleep in on holiday. Room clean and spacious, but expensive for what it was.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeninuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jon_kr, Owner at Colombo Haven Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thanks for your review. Appreciate the fact that you are committed to writing a review even after almost a year of your stay. There is not much we can do about the lack of interesting places to see in Colombo and the fact that everything is expensive (again it depends on the person), but we can always make our place the best it can be for those who want a place in Colombo. Sorry if any of our workers a year ago disturbed your sleep. They were not allowed to start that early when a guest was in the room, but may be it was an oversight. Sorry about that. You would be glad to know that there is no more work happening in our premise. We have upgraded the facility to make it better and hope we get another chance to host you so that you can experience the difference.

Even though we call our selves bed and breakfast, we give our guest the choice to add the breakfast if they want so that people don't feel pressured to take the breakfast if they don't need to. That's why we make it an option so that people who don't need it get a cheaper rate.

Thanks once again for your review and hope you visit Colombo again and that there would be more things to do the next time.

Blessings,
Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhahran, Ash Sharqiyah, Saudi Arabia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Colombo Haven B&B truly is a hidden gem in Colombo 3 (Kollupitiya). Yes, the best way to reach Colombo Haven by taxi or tuk-tuk is to refer to the Carnival ice cream parlor, but the B&B is located down along an alley past the ice cream parlor.

As many others have pointed out, the manager of the property, John, is a fantastic host and a great source of information when it comes to sights in Colombo and all of Sri Lanka. John has worked in the Sri Lankan tourism industry for many years and he had information and connections that can be invaluable when you are needing assistance in your travels.

As for the property itself, all the rooms are neat, clean and well maintained. The B&B is located in a great area of Colombo and it's quite easy to reach any destination of interest within minutes by tuk-tuk from Colombo Haven.

John's wife also prepares a delicious large breakfast of local foods/fruits and also includes sausage, eggs and toast for those who would prefer more of a western breakfast.

I stayed at Colombo Haven on two occasions on my recent trip to Sri Lanka. There are additional places that I would like to visit in Sri Lanka, so no doubt I'll be back in Colombo again soon and I intend to stay at Colombo Haven where I know I'll get a clean room, wonderful breakfast and fantastic hosts (John and his wife).

Room Tip: I stayed in the Palmyrah Den the first time and then John was kind enough to put me in the Bamboo De...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SMorgan_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jon_kr, Owner at Colombo Haven Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thanks for staying with us and also for your kind and detailed review. We are glad to have been of service to you and my manager John and team are happy to hear that it was to your satisfaction. We greatly look forward to your next stay with us.

Blessings,
Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Don't be put off by the rather unattractive alleyway by the ice cream parlour that leads to this place, or by its modest exterior.

Inside our room was spacious and clean, as was the bathroom. The wi-fi was good and the tv had more than the usual number of channels. The room had a good a/c and the bed and bed linen were very nice.

But the star of the show is the owner, John. He gives the place the feel of a real home stay, he's full of useful tips and information, and his English is flawless.

Special mention must be given to the Sri Lankan breakfast. ladies finger with chilli, beet root with something or other, and crab curry. Yes, crab curry. You don't get that every day,... And then he wants you to have sausages and eggs as well after the biggest portions of fresh fruit. Good value and a great place. I wish we could have stayed a few days longer to explore the capital further.

One thing to watch - the tuk tuk drivers say they know where it is - of course they do - but often they don't! One took us to the Columbo Hilton instead. Lol, as they say.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BadSheep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jon_kr, Owner at Colombo Haven Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thanks for staying with us and for your detailed review. Glad my manager John and team took great care of you and served you well. It was our pride and pleasure to have hosted you and look forward to another time.

Blessings,
Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

This little B&B is hidden behind Carnival Ice Cream Parlor's parking lot. Our pickup driver couldn't locate the B&B until calling them for direction. But don't let this scare you away. Once you can locate the B&B, you will soon realize that the location is quite ideal. Away from the main roads means quiet atmosphere. There is a supermarket nearby for you to stock up for the coming days of travel. And the sea is just a block away.

The rooms are spacious and equipped with everything you need (and the things you don't expect). You can watch cable TV in your room and listen to the radio in your shower.

Service is simply perfect. John helped us to plan our day in Colombo thoroughly. He made sure everything is taken care of and always with a smile.

John and his wife prepared the breakfast for us. An this first meal in Sri Lanka is simply great. There are choices in both Sri Lankan and Western styles. I wish I have a bigger stomach so I can try and eat more of all the food on the table. And the coffee is surprisingly good too.

I first thought the rate is a bit too expensive for a B&B. But after 1 night of our stay, I am very satisfied with the quality service and hospitality we received. I highly recommend it if your budget is not too tight.

Room Tip: Each room is different. Try to get the rooms upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank on-the-ice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jon_kr, Owner at Colombo Haven Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thanks for your kind review and the comments that my manager John and wife Shyamali's service was perfect. Very happy to hear that you had a good stay with us. It is our pride and joy to be of service to our guests and not only make them feel at home at our place, but also help with any of the other plans for the rest of your tour of our island. We are very glad we could be of help to you and look forward to your next stay with us.

Blessings,
Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

arriving as many of the flights do in the middle of the night , it was a wonderful relief to be met by our driver from colombo haven and taken to this small B and B and welcomed so warmly. As we were a group of two families [ten in all] we filled each of the four rooms at Colombo haven and we all felt it was a wonderful gentle introduction to the full on city of colombo and the country of sri lanka generally. The rooms were all very clean and bathrooms great, clean and quite spacious. Each room is decorated slightly differently and with a degree of quirkiness but we loved that. Be aware that one of the rooms, the one downstairs does not have any windows but it is beautifully decorated and kind of peaceful anyway.We all agreed that John and his wife are wonderful, generous, incredibly helpful hosts who do everything they can to make sure your stay is a relaxing one. The breakfasts were a delight and very generous. John was able to arrange transport for us wherever we wanted to go at a very reasonable price. This was quite a feat with ten of us and our bags and packs but he had it all sorted. He has many years experience as a tour guide and this really helped us plan our further travel in sri lanka- he got nothing for any of this advice - he is just passionate about his country and wants people to have the best time possible.

Room Tip: this place is perfect for arriving and departing colombo and a restful stay in a pretty choatic city...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holidaydreamer066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jon_kr, Owner at Colombo Haven Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Guest(s),
Thanks so much for your kind review. It was our pleasure hosting all of you and very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay as well. My manager John and team take great pride in serving our guests and hence appreciate the feedback. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Blessings,
Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banstead, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Unfortunately we were not able to stay at our one night booking at Colombo Haven as electrics down, but Jonathan put us up in another hotel (more expensive) free of charge and we were then picked up in the morning to have breakfast at his and use our booked room till midday. Wish we had stayed at Colombo Haven it was so much better than the other hotel. Breakfast was enormous, impossible to eat everything and both him & his wife were so nice. Room was fantastic so we missed out there. Cant fault Colombo Haven for the short time we had there. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jon_kr, Owner at Colombo Haven Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Michele,
Thanks for your kind review. Sorry we weren't able to host you for your complete stay, but glad we were able to find you an alternate for the night stay and at least serve you our breakfast. Hope we can be of service to you another time.

Blessings,
Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.1 mi away
Renuka City Hotel
Renuka City Hotel
#22 of 54 in Colombo
651 reviews
1.1 mi away
Moss Colombo
Moss Colombo
#4 of 148 in Colombo
90 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort@15
Comfort@15
#28 of 148 in Colombo
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hostel Inn Colombo 7
Hostel Inn Colombo 7
#8 of 153 in Colombo
35 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casons B&B
Casons B&B
#32 of 148 in Colombo
32 reviews
0.0 mi away
Backpack Lanka
Backpack Lanka
#22 of 153 in Colombo
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colombo Haven Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colombo Haven Bed & Breakfast

Property: Colombo Haven Bed & Breakfast
Address: 263/6 Galle Road | Kollupitiya, Colombo 03, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 148 B&Bs / Inns in Colombo
Hotel Class:3 star — Colombo Haven Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With Daily rate of only $50-$60/night/double, and right next to the Sheraton Colombo (opening soon), why not stay in the best area in Colombo at an affordable B&B with 7 star hospitality? You can't miss Colombo Haven B&B either on the internet search, TripAdvisor or in person. We are one of the longest established B&Bs in Colombo. With a chef on site to make you fresh, customised breakfasts, lunch and dinner, we are as well known for our rooms and hospitality as our food. People even saying "it's the best food in the entire island" that they have had!(TripAdvisor reviews). Colombo Haven is a tastefully furnished four bedroom B&B located in the heart of the Colombo suburb of Colpity (Kollupitiya). Which is literally a stone's throw away from Liberty Plaza and is walking distance to places such as British council, American consulate, the presidential palace, Cinnamon Grand hotel, Galle Face Green, Liberty theatres, restaurants, carnival ice cream, Gangarama Temple, Vihara mahadevi park, etc. Facilities:• Air conditioned • modern bathrooms with Hot water• Five star hotel quality beds and linen• Freshly prepared breakfast,lunch, dinner, drinks • Free Internet/WiFi • 7 star hospitality!!! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing