We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two nights in Colombo”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Colombo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Colombo Haven Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #21 of 148 Colombo B&B and Inns
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Two nights in Colombo”
Reviewed January 2, 2012

Hotel is located in a good location in Colombo. The owners are very helpful people, always willing to help with orientation in the city or provision of the necessary information. Room, in our opinion did not correspond to the desired price. Everything was clean, but the overall impression was not good. The first night was also very noisy from nightclubs.
If you are looking for average uytování in Colombo, this is hotel for you.
If the owners to focus more on details, it will be a nice hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dubsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jon_kr, Owner at Colombo Haven Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, April 23, 2012
Dear Dubsa,
Thanks for your review. We are sorry to hear that you were not completely satisfied with your stay with us even though you did appreciate the good parts of it. We thank you for that.

We do take constructive feedback from our guests seriously and have focussed more on details and have spruced up the place with a lot of improvements, including two new attached bathrooms and extended dining room facilities. We hope you give us another try the next time you are in town.

Blessings,
Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    60
    17
    5
    4
See reviews for
22
82
19
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
gloucester
2 reviews
Reviewed December 27, 2011

I have just deleted my long review listing all the problems we had as I feel it sounded petty - but beware of booking in advance - we didn't get the room we booked - the alternative offered was a basement with no outside windows. Initially there was no explanation but when we queried the room there were lots of excuses about building work and someone who was ill being in the room - We chose not to stay that night but agreed to come back the next night when the room we had booked was available but unfortunatley they did not honour the rest of the booking leaving us looking for two hotel rooms at the busiest time of year A very pleasant couple run the hotel and I am sure the owner will respond but we were left with a sour taste. The rooms are not what they look like and bathrooms are not ensuite.

Room Tip: Insist on the Margossa but be aware the names are not on the rooms be clear about what you have book...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travgirlGloucester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jon_kr, Owner at Colombo Haven Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, December 31, 2011
Dear "TravelgirlGloucester",
First of all thanks for taking the time to write a review even if it doesn't reflect on us favourably. We are sad that it left a sour taste on your end. There were no excuses, but only reasons as to why my manager had to move you to another room. The bathroom upgrade to the room you would have stayed in wasn't completed. You would have had to put up with the noise and the dust etc of the on going work and that's why my manger offered you another room.

You were offered two separate options one room on the fist floor with windows where the bathroom is just outside the room and the other which has an en-suite. You say that the bathrooms are not en-suite, but if you had checked out the room you would have noticed that it has a brand new en-suite!. For your info, the upgrade that was happening which has been now completed was to add another en-suite to the rooms.

You also mentioned that we cancelled your booking for the following day. I believe that's not true. When you left not taking the alternate rooms offered, we kindly asked you to confirm by the end of the day if you wanted to keep your booking for the other room. Since you did not call and since we had already lost 3 days of valuable booking because you didn't want to take a room that was offered, we had to take other bookings that came in. In fact, we had reserved you the room that you didn't want to take even though we ha to say no to few other requests.

You rated our service as poor, but didn't mention the fact that we accommodated your early arrival and gave you a room so that you can rest even though it was more than 6 hours earlier than our check in time.

Constructions/renovations do happen in any property and sometime they do run a bit later than scheduled, which is what happened in this case. We did our best to keep a room for you even though it's the busiest time of the year.

Regardless of what ever the reasons were, we are saddened by the fact that one of our guests had a bad experience with us. We strive very hard to give our guests a very pleasant and positive experience with us. We are really sorry that your experience with us was not positive. Our sincere apologies for that.

Blessings,
Jon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2011

we arrived here late night and was greeted very warmly by the house lady with a drink. Then, we were taken to our room downstairs(triple room) . The room was very clean with big attached bathroom. Only down side being it had no window so if you are staying for more than a day it might be an issue.But, the best part of this place is it's fabulous breakfast served in generous portions. the whole family was very helpful and welcoming. would definatly recommend this place .

Room Tip: ask for rooms with windows and also soap etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank san2728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jon_kr, Owner at Colombo Haven Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, December 31, 2011
Dear "San 2728"
Thanks for your review. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stayed with us, specially the breakfast. Thanks for willing to recommend our place to others as well. We look forward to hosting you the next time you are in town.

Blessings,
Jon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2011

We shifted here after having a bad experience at the Juliana Hotel (which is close by)... its a few min walk from the Galle main road and is great B&B place to stay in... Friendly owner and decent food... the only drawback is that except for one the rooms (forgot the name but is referred to as their presidential suite.. :)..) all other rooms have public bathrooms (to be shared by 2 rooms)...

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drifters1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jon_kr, Owner at Colombo Haven Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, December 18, 2011
Dear "drifters 1981",
Thanks for your kind review. I just wanted to clarify one thing about the bathrooms. All our rooms have their own bathrooms, but one was closed while you stayed with us due to renovations to upgrade the bathrooms. We hope to have all the renovation work completed before Christmas and hence all 4 rooms would once again have their own bathrooms..

We look forward to your next stay with us.

Blessings,
Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yerevan, Armenia
1 review
Reviewed December 14, 2011

I stayed at Colombo Haven at the beginning and end of my trip through Sri Lanka in November 2011 and thoroughly enjoyed my time there!

Colombo Haven is a true haven from the bustling roads and markets of Colombo. The guesthouse is a quiet refuge, simply and tastefully decorated with clean rooms and crisp bed linen. Each room has air conditioning and a fan as well as tea/coffee facilities. Some rooms have their own bathroom, others share one (but this is due to change). You can order a filling breakfast which offers fresh fruit and juice, Sri Lankan specialties (string hoppers!) and Western style treats (extra cost for breakfast US$ 5). I stayed in two different rooms: Maragossa Den, which has its own bathroom and roof terrace, and Palmyrah Den, which shares a bathroom. Both were good choices.
Colombo Haven is situated down a lane off Galle Road, conveniently located near a vegetarian dosa restaurant and an ice cream parlour. You can catch the bus for 10 Rupees to the station, Fort and Pettah. There are two shopping centres close to the guest house.

The best about Colombo Haven are Shyamali and John, the resident managers. They are extremely friendly, warm and hospitable, the perfect hosts to make you feel at home. Shyamali and John will help you with all your questions, from getting around in Colombo to planning an itinerary for your Sri Lankan trip. They are extremely knowledgeable and supportive. Sharing lots of cups of milky tea and laughs with Shyamali and John made my time in Colombo special. Thank you!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FeministTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jon_kr, Owner at Colombo Haven Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, December 18, 2011
Dear FT,
Thanks so much for your kind review. We thoroughly enjoyed hosting you and look forward to your next stay with us.

Blessings,
Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
1 review
Reviewed December 11, 2011

This is a fantastic place to stay! We stayed only 1 night but could have stayed here for a week! We were surprised by the hospitality and the huge delicious breakfast. The owners are so friendly and do their very best to welcome you and make you feel at home. The rooms are very clean and spacious. The location is also great: a very quiet area but right in the center of Colombo. It might take a few minutes to find it. It is located at the end of a small lane next to the ice cream parlor Carnival. We stayed here wih 6 friends and we all felt really lucky to have found this place!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tine_Hebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jon_kr, Owner at Colombo Haven Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, December 18, 2011
Dear Tine,
Thanks for your review. We enjoyed hosting you and look forward to your next visit.

Blessings,
Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2011

The name of this B&B is very accurate! It's most definitely a haven from the hustle and bustle of Colombo! We stayed in the Margossa Den room for the first 3 nights of our 2 & 1/2 week trip to Sri Lanka.

We arranged airport collection through Colombo Haven, which went without a hitch. Despite a delay to our flight our driver was waiting for us at the airport and took us right to the door of Colombo Haven. Our driver was quiet and didn't speak much English but he was very friendly. I'm really glad we did this as catching the bus would have been pretty daunting upon first arrival (the roads, traffic & manner of driving were quite a shock). The journey took us a couple of hours as the traffic was quite bad. The B&B is off the main Galle Road, down a minor road, we were a bit dubious about it when the driver reversed down (due to no turning space!) but soon found it to feel quite safe. Being set back off the main road also dulled down the traffic noise.

John and his wife greeted us and made us feel very welcome and at home. The freshly made fruit juice was amazing! Our Room was spacious, clean and well furnished. It had all the essentials with lots of added extras (Air Con, bowl of fruit, tea & coffee making facilities, mossie repellant & a fridge). It also had a lovely terrace garden which was well cared for. The only problem we experienced was with a minor leak in the roof - but to be honest, the Rain was so heavy, I don't know how any roof would have coped!

To get us started John gave us some great initial suggestions on what to see in Colombo, good places to eat, how to get around etc. Then later, over a delicious breakfast he helped us to plan the rest of our trip by advising on the must see places and critically, the best way of travelling between each of them (bus, train, car & driver etc). He had an excellent knowledge of the Island and his wife kindly documented it all in a rough itineray for us.

John's wife cooked us 2 delicious breakfasts, with a mix of western and Sri lankan foods. There was so much food, we didn't need to eat lunch. They were very flexible with timings and would sit with us to talk through our plans while we ate.

All of the key sites within Colombo are within walking distance of the B&B, but with the heat & humidity we often used Tuk Tuks.

This was one of the more expensive places we stayed during our trip but for Colombo, it was very reasonable.

If you stay here - don't forget to visit the Carnival Ice Cream Parlour!

Thank-you for a wonderful couple of days and for the great advice that helped to shape our trip to Sri Lanka.

John - we'll email you some pics of our trip soon!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark_and_Lynds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jon_kr, Owner at Colombo Haven Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 21, 2011
Dear "Mark_and...",
Thanks for your review. We appreciate you taking the time to provide such a detailed review. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to the next opportunity to host you the next time you are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.1 mi away
Renuka City Hotel
Renuka City Hotel
#22 of 55 in Colombo
651 reviews
1.1 mi away
Moss Colombo
Moss Colombo
#4 of 148 in Colombo
90 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort@15
Comfort@15
#28 of 148 in Colombo
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hostel Inn Colombo 7
Hostel Inn Colombo 7
#8 of 153 in Colombo
35 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casons B&B
Casons B&B
#32 of 148 in Colombo
32 reviews
0.0 mi away
Backpack Lanka
Backpack Lanka
#23 of 153 in Colombo
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colombo Haven Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colombo Haven Bed & Breakfast

Property: Colombo Haven Bed & Breakfast
Address: 263/6 Galle Road | Kollupitiya, Colombo 03, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 148 B&Bs / Inns in Colombo
Hotel Class:3 star — Colombo Haven Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With Daily rate of only $50-$60/night/double, and right next to the Sheraton Colombo (opening soon), why not stay in the best area in Colombo at an affordable B&B with 7 star hospitality? You can't miss Colombo Haven B&B either on the internet search, TripAdvisor or in person. We are one of the longest established B&Bs in Colombo. With a chef on site to make you fresh, customised breakfasts, lunch and dinner, we are as well known for our rooms and hospitality as our food. People even saying "it's the best food in the entire island" that they have had!(TripAdvisor reviews). Colombo Haven is a tastefully furnished four bedroom B&B located in the heart of the Colombo suburb of Colpity (Kollupitiya). Which is literally a stone's throw away from Liberty Plaza and is walking distance to places such as British council, American consulate, the presidential palace, Cinnamon Grand hotel, Galle Face Green, Liberty theatres, restaurants, carnival ice cream, Gangarama Temple, Vihara mahadevi park, etc. Facilities:• Air conditioned • modern bathrooms with Hot water• Five star hotel quality beds and linen• Freshly prepared breakfast,lunch, dinner, drinks • Free Internet/WiFi • 7 star hospitality!!! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing