We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Sri Lankan Coffee”

Hansa Ceylon Coffee
Ranked #13 of 31 Coffee & Tea in Colombo
Restaurant details
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best Sri Lankan Coffee”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

This is my everyday coffee in Sri Lanka. Hansa is the best coffee for your machine as well as regular making. Nice blend and gives you the best taste for sure. If you buying Sri Lankan coffee to take home, this is the brand I would suggest.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank PriyangaCFS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    20
    10
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A Great Place for Great Coffee”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

While checking around for a place to have some coffee near where I was staying, I found this great coffee shop. They produce their own organic coffee which is shade grown and environmentally friendly in the hills of Sri Lanka. The owner makes her own brownies which she told me was a recipe handed down to her by her mother. Make sure you try one! (or two)
On top of this, a lot of interesting and friendly people, locals and foreigners come here for coffee and chocolate (they grow that also)
This became my regular stop each day during my entire stay in Colombo. It is really special and to find a place like this here was an unexpected delight.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Lawrence B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Good coffee in a tiny cafe”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Iv tasted better coffee. But being a locally brewed coffee it tastes great too. The setting is very informal and the space very limited. The owner will ask you to try the last piece of a delicious homemade cake if you go in the evening. Try some from the menu if you will. The prices of food are not cheap and quantity is small. Stick to the coffee here and better to get take away.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Ranjiv K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best Brownies in Colombo”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

This tiny little coffee shop that feels a bit like you are sitting in someone's living room serves great organic, locally-grown coffee, delicious brownies and tasty toasties. Friendly staff, free wi-fi and heaps of magazines make this an ideal place to while away a few hours in peace and quiet.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Emy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely retreat from the hustle and bustle, service with a smile and the best coffee in colombo by far!”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Found this place accidentally and what a wonderful suprise! It's only small, only 5 tables but it has colourful charm. The guy making coffee was lovely and really helpful, suggesting places I should visit in Sri Lanka and giving me Sri Lankan chocolate to sample. The coffee is made on a small machine, one like I have at home in Australia, but it is made with care, the coffee was smooth and wasn't bitter at all. I had the macchiato and my friend tried the ice coffee and we came back three times because we just loved it! Next stop the coffee farm near kandy to learn more about their coffee!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Melissabythesea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hansa Ceylon Coffee also viewed

Colombo, Western Province
Colombo, Western Province
 
Colombo, Western Province
Colombo, Western Province
 
Colombo, Western Province
 

Been to Hansa Ceylon Coffee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing