We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Coffee in Sri Lanka - hands down” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hansa Ceylon Coffee

Hansa Ceylon Coffee
Ranked #9 of 40 Coffee & Tea in Colombo
Cuisines: Cafe, Sri Lankan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Seating, Takeout
Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
“Best Coffee in Sri Lanka - hands down”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2011

If you're a coffee aficionado in Sri Lanka, or visiting the country and would like to taste Sri Lankan coffee (little known fact: the coffee crop was actually introduced to Sri Lanka before tea was), Hansa Coffee is the place to go. I've tried coffee at the major Colombo hotels, and at the other international chain cafes in Colombo and everything else tastes stale, burnt and over-roasted in comparison to the coffee served here.The outlet is a no-frills, Seattle-hippie, mom-and-pop style coffee shop - a great place to read the weekend papers, study/work, or catch-up with friends. The baristas are friendly, willing to make your drinks the way you like them (so you can still get your skinny triple-shot latte, extra foam, cinnamon sprinkles - if you want), and always remember your name, your usual/favorite order and can have them ready for pick-up if you're always on-the-move.

Serious coffee drinkers, I recommend Hansa's cappuccinos or their espresso chocolate truffle. Even if you're not a coffee drinker, there are a variety of quirky coffee and non-coffee frappes, and have comfort food to munch on - cheese and tomato toasties, coconut sweets and home-made brownies.

Lastly, Hansa is an affordable way to experience local coffee. Their cappuccinos are 160 bucks. Give them a try - i'm hooked.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SLoutoftowner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    20
    10
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“The Best Coffee in Sri Lanka”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2011

Hansa is the best coffee in Sri Lanka. I am a serious coffee lover and I can say this coffee shop is head and shoulders above everything else that I have ever found here. And as an added and no less amazing twist, Hansa has the lowest prices of any of the coffee shops in Colombo... the lowest by far. They have really delicious fresh homemade cakes and snacks as well.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
10 Thank jfonseka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Finally I found my Shangrila”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2011

Finally I found my Shangrila, 10 minutes away from my apartment. Within no time I tasted two of their best selling blends and home-made cakes and got hooked for life. It's a homely little spot serving the cheapest most stupendous coffee drinks. I recommend this place wholeheartedly.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
7 Thank GuruT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Spectacular coffee and heavenly treats”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2011

Hansa Coffee Shop is a labor of love, and would count as a rarity anywhere in the world.

I’ve been buying packages of Hansa coffee at my supermarket for several years now and it has become the only thing we brew in my own house. Even friends from abroad who are fussy coffee aficionados say this ranks as one of the finest coffees they have tasted anywhere in the world and stuff their suitcases when they return home to give as gifts and to stock their own pantries.

Now Hansa has opened a coffee shop in a very central location on Fife Road in Colombo 5, and what a blessing this is. In addition to all the usual preparations we are familiar with, they are constantly experimenting with unique coffee based drinks. And if that is not enough, they have wonderful homemade cakes and delights such as their chewy chocolate brownies.

One item not to be missed is their toasted sandwich of cheese and tomatoes. What makes this special is the fact that they use a cheese which is made by an old English retired tea planter in Nuwara Eliya who has lived in the country for about 50 years and is a legend in his own right. And what a difference this spectacular cheese makes when used in this sandwich!

As if all this were not enough, I have to mention that their prices are the lowest in the country, if not in the world, and for serving you a coffee that is one of the best you will ever taste. Just as an example, a specialty coffee such as their latte or cappuccino is SLRs 100 which is less than US$1. Their Americano coffee made from their Pure Arabica beans is SLRs 50 or less than half a US dollar.

Take a look at some of the photos I have taken which includes their Iced Cappuccino with heavenly foam and a scoop of vanilla ice cream.

I just can’t say enough good things about Hansa Coffee Shop, and it has a very cozy and unpretentious setting in which to sit and enjoy your coffee and trea

  • Visited May 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
15 Thank EisenBlick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hansa Ceylon Coffee also viewed

Colombo, Western Province
Colombo, Western Province
 
Colombo, Western Province
Colombo, Western Province
 
Colombo, Western Province
Colombo, Western Province
 

Been to Hansa Ceylon Coffee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing