We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Your part in history...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Galle Face Hotel Colombo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
Ranked #4 of 52 Hotels in Colombo
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Your part in history...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2014

Stay here and you will be part of history... Period!!!!

The hotel is currently being renovated so one wing is closed.. Nonetheless you feel different when you stay here..

Overall a good place to stay... Not your typical 5 star property.. But makes you feel special considering the guests housed here in the yesteryears...

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank sidneydsouza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,638 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,125
    910
    348
    148
    107
See reviews for
499
1,119
195
282
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (695)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

Staff allowed us to check in early which was great, breakfast was amazing. Hotel was really interesting and kept it's history with it's styling. Concierge and cleaner were really nice. Pool had amazing view and was very clean and great for swimming in.
Only issue was a leaking shower which led to the bathroom being soaking wet after showers.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Explorer20000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

Thank you for a wonderful stay))) good rooms, excellent sea view, tasty food! Lot's of good memories))

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dana215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
quito
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

Fantastic indian ocean view. The most traditional Hotel if you like To stay in Colombo...nice checkerboard bar for sundowner Cocktails.. you can breath history inside this Hotel...food OK but nothing To talk ab out...spa overpriced...

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank christiandie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navi Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
632 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 387 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014

Located in the heart of the city, next to sea with blender of colonial architecture with local tradition, delicacy and customs. Stay in the heritage building provide you the best preserved history of Ceylon.
Many famous celebrities, dignitaries and global tourists preferred to get a raw taste of Sri Lankan hospitality in the heart of the city.
Food is awesome and romantic candle light dinner on sea view restaurant is a memorable experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deepankar B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
310 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

We had an 18-hour stay over at Colombo in wee hours of the morning with the three kids and decided that we needed a hotel so kids could sleep comfortably. We booked through booking.com and got an immediate reply from the hotel that we needed to get a bigger room for the three kids. After several emails with back office, we were not sure whether we would go or not due to the increase in costs highlighted. Since booking.com is not refundable, we went to the hotel and was surprised that we were upgraded to suite at the same cost of the room we booked. That was very considerate of the reception team.

The kids enjoyed their sleep and the parents enjoyed the ocean view room, it's awesome! The breakfast is delightful and the pool superb!

We are sure to come back to this hotel when we actually visit Colombo soon!

Room Tip: We very much love room 3008 perfect for family of five with the great ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Turknoys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay City, Michigan
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

We decided to be married here. Our plane was delayed by two days as we were coming from the US. They rearranged everything for us at a moment's notice. They went out of there way in every way. The hotel is gorgeous. We stayed in the old part on purpose and found it spectacular. We were not looking for luxury as we wanted to experience it the old way, but it was amazing. The room was huge and with all wooden floors and huge windows over looking the ocean. Spectacular views, We had a big thunderstorm that night cracking over the water and it was a gorgeous view. The food was amazing and just sitting on the porch in the afternoons was wonderful. For years we received a handwritten card from the lady who helped with our wedding. One night we came back and police and cars were everywhere. Not to worry, the President was there for a wedding. The next day they allowed us to have our own wedding pictures that day taken with all of the flowers from this huge wedding. They took all of the pictures for us. Amazing.

Room Tip: I would stay in the old part if you want to feeling of grandeur.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marci D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.7 mi away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
0.9 mi away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#6 of 52 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,614 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Taj Samudra Colombo
Taj Samudra Colombo
#7 of 52 in Colombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,024 reviews
1.7 mi away
Colombo Courtyard
Colombo Courtyard
#9 of 52 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
2.7 mi away
OZO Colombo
OZO Colombo
#10 of 52 in Colombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galle Face Hotel Colombo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galle Face Hotel Colombo

Property: Galle Face Hotel Colombo
Address: No. 2, Galle Road, Colombo, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 52 Hotels in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Galle Face Hotel Colombo 5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Presented proudly as Sri Lanka's iconic and historic hotel, Galle Face Hotel is located in heart of Colombo City, along the seafront and facing the famous Galle Face Green.The hotel has 158 well-appointed rooms and suites, with some offering excellent views across the Indian ocean and the fascinating view of evening sunset.There are three restaurants, a gym, spa and unique saltwater swimming pool, overlooking the seafront. Guests here will be convenient as the hotel offers close access to many of the business district,historic cultural sites and landmarks in Colombo, as well nearby shopping. The hotel is a 45-60min journey from the airport.Guests seeking a glimpse of Colombo's history will enjoy the charm of The Galle Face Hotel with its unique, unaltered setting since 1864. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelsClick, Hotel.de, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Galle Face Hotel Colombo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing