We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Undergoing renovation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
Ranked #4 of 51 Hotels in Colombo
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Undergoing renovation”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

Let me say straight up, yes, the Galle Face Hotel is undergoing major renovations but the pricing does reflect the inconvenience. With regard to the ongoing rooms and services, we were reasonably happy. The room was spacious and well appointed, even though it was a little worn but I expect this wing will receive attention when the other is complete. I did have a problem with the bathroom as every time we used the shower, it resulted on water all over the floor and there was absolutely nothing we could do to avoid this – just bad design. The only other issue was the extra bed. As we were 3 people sharing, an extra bed was required everywhere but this was by far the worst. I don’t expect it to be like sleeping on air but I also don’t expect to feel like I’m sleeping on a concrete slab with the springs poking through. Two bad nights of sleep. The pool area is quite small and a little shabby but I would hope that it will be addressed in the next phase also. Staff are not overly proactive but they are friendly and the breakfast buffet is delightful. It will be interesting to revisit in a year or two.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PrincessInTransit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlosS88, Manager at Galle Face Hotel Colombo, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback through Tripadvisor.
It is with sincere regret that we note your dissatisfaction with our extra beds and facilities.
We ask for your kind understanding and assure you that your comments have been of value to us to provide the best possible standards to our guests at all times, even during our restoration phase.
Indeed, several areas of our Hotel are currently closed for renovation; and this has been communicated to our travel agents and corporate accounts. A notice has been posted in the Hotel’s website for the general public.
Your experience certainly does not in any way represent the quality of standards we strive for, and indeed customarily maintain at our Hotel.
We thank you very much for your patronage and look forward to having you back with us.

Yours sincerely,

Carlos Sanchez Vizan
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,708 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,172
    925
    355
    149
    107
See reviews for
517
1,147
198
288
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (713)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ras Al Khaimah, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights to experience colombo. There is no better place, the hotel offers great rooms with balconies overlooking the indian ocean. The hotel has a nice ambience and a good mix of modern and antiques. Our room was very spacious and offered everything but a multi media experience. Bring your ipad and you will not be disappointed from the tele ;-) the pool is sea water and with its location parallel to the sea it brings great views while cooling down. The hotel is currently under renovation but this did not affect our stay at all. Bonus was that we had a very very early check in and a very late check out, thanks to the management at no charge - Big Thank You

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Morgan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toa Payoh, Singapore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

It's always a treat to stay in an historic landmark hotel - the Galle Face is centrally located and one of only a few with truly seafront views. It is currently undergoing major renovations, which of course detracts from the ambience, but it was still a good experience. The terraces of the Ocean Suites were a spectacular spot to watch the sunrise and sunsets.

Room Tip: The Oceanic Suite was plenty big enough for a family of four, with extra beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014 via mobile

After some hours so shopping is good to sit down and see the ocean feel the breeze and the sound. One-two beers and that all. We did not stay there it was just In the bar inside but good to find a quiet place to take it easy.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank World1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2014

The hotel is centrally located in the city of Colombo next to the Galle Face green and facing the ocean front. It is one of the oldest hotels in the City and the much needed renovation will definitely help the hotel in the future.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HasithP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

Stayed in a Deluxe Room (3009) in the Regency Wing, our room had partial beach view. The room was fairly spacious and period, like the old timber floorboards.

The hotel was undergoing renovation at the time, the famous front side was a construction site. There was no noise that affected us in any way. Service was good but not excellent.

We had booked the half board rate, we had dinner and breakfast there. Food was very tasty. But service was so so for hotel of such class; no one seemed to know what 'half board' meant and every time we went to the restaurant we can hear 'half board, half board, half board' and lots of discussions about it. We can see lots of staff involved to get one thing done.

We sent our clothes to the laundry and when they were returned, it did not come back with the shirts and handkerchiefs; when we called, they then bought back the shirts and then we had to ring a second time for them to bring back the handkerchiefs, it was totally disorganised, not acceptable for a hotel of such class.

Swimming pool was near to the outdoor area where people had drinks and food, we like to sit in the outdoor areas and watched the seas and sunset, much better than in the air conditioned cold restaurant. There was no salon at the hotel that I can have my hair trimmed, I was disppointed that I had to go to Cinnamon Grand complex there to get a haircut.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunmansyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlosS88, Manager at Galle Face Hotel Colombo, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback through Tripadvisor.
It is with sincere regret that we note your dissatisfaction with our service.
I have personally briefed the staff in the restaurant and the laundry and I assure you they will be more careful in the future.

Your experience certainly does not in any way represent the quality of standards we strive for, and indeed customarily maintain at our Hotel.
We thank you very much for your patronage and look forward to having you back with us.

Yours sincerely,

Carlos Sanchez Vizan
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
68 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

We were totally delighted with our stay in June 2014. Everything was perfect. However one knows the world has folk who for one reason or another and not meaning to disturb…forget others are sleeping when they pray aloud before dawn. The rooms at GFH are thin or the connecting door is... so if you won't be praying aloud or need sleep, perhaps mention this at the time of checking in. The hotel is sure to oblige. A wonderful experience we are sure to repeat

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rockcats4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.7 mi away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
0.8 mi away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#6 of 51 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,656 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Colombo Courtyard
Colombo Courtyard
#8 of 51 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
0.2 mi away
Taj Samudra Colombo
Taj Samudra Colombo
#7 of 51 in Colombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,060 reviews
0.9 mi away
Uga Residence
Uga Residence
#1 of 51 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galle Face Hotel Colombo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galle Face Hotel Colombo

Property: Galle Face Hotel Colombo
Address: No. 2, Galle Road, Colombo, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 51 Hotels in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Galle Face Hotel Colombo 5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Presented proudly as Sri Lanka's iconic and historic hotel, Galle Face Hotel is located in heart of Colombo City, along the seafront and facing the famous Galle Face Green.The hotel has 158 well-appointed rooms and suites, with some offering excellent views across the Indian ocean and the fascinating view of evening sunset.There are three restaurants, a gym, spa and unique saltwater swimming pool, overlooking the seafront. Guests here will be convenient as the hotel offers close access to many of the business district,historic cultural sites and landmarks in Colombo, as well nearby shopping. The hotel is a 45-60min journey from the airport.Guests seeking a glimpse of Colombo's history will enjoy the charm of The Galle Face Hotel with its unique, unaltered setting since 1864. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Galle Face Hotel Colombo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing