We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“4 star hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Galle Face Hotel Colombo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
Ranked #4 of 52 Hotels in Colombo
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“4 star hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

great old charm hotel very close to the Indian Ocean beach , with. Great friendly service and good food and beverage service,
Very large rooms with antique fittings that still have the colonial charm
Over all a great place to stay
now refurbished hotel withs lots of modern facalaties

Room Tip: Rooms on the South side are close to the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,618 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,115
    902
    346
    148
    107
See reviews for
494
1,112
192
281
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (692)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Morpeth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

Stayed here for a conference with my little boy. The pool is great, the staff are nice and the location is central. Perhaps a bit overpriced for what you get (hotel a bit ramshackle in places), but a good stay all in all.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

The staff, from management to the bell boy were very friendly/helpful/polite & courteous, they just couldn't do enough for you. The hotel car management were also friendly staff, who assisted us when it came to sight seeing trips around Colombo.

The food was delicious & to one's taste with very attentive dinning room staff. The buffets were glorious.

All in all we enjoyed our stay with the Galle Face Hotel.

Room Tip: Try for a corner suite, or one that has a view facing the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank 369Randy44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greystones, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

We arrived in Sri Lanka for an eight day tour and started in the Galle Face Hotel. As it was the first night of our honeymoon, the hotel upgraded us to Room 1008 - an amazing suite with a private balcony and both an indoor and outdoor jacuzzi.

We had dinner in the restaurant which was a great introduction to Sri Lankan cuisine. The staff were very attentive and friendly.

We wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alicatoolan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
152 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

We were at the hotel for the Easter break with my wife and two kids. We had a lovely suite just in front if the sea. The hotel is an heritage property. One wing of the hotel us under renovation but it is not disturbing the stay. Near hotel there is a great place to run by the seaside. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I would just to stay in Colombo for max 2 days. There is not too much to see.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Paoloc0211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

I came here with my wife. I booked through booking.com and had changed the date with booking.com which was approved and authorized over the phone as well as through email. When we arrived the hotel kept advising that we didn't show for our booking and would have to rebook (repay) for another stay. Even after showing them the confirmation we had to wait 45 minutes in the lobby for them to sort it out.

We were leaving that night late for our flight I wanted to bring my wife to show her some colonial old style buildings in Colombo and for her to have high tea. Because of the renovations the hotel didn't have high tea. I wasn't impressed with the confusion and delay and lack of information for missing services due to the renos so I asked the manager to cancel my reservation and I'll go elsewhere, he said he couldn't cancel the booking and said he was already doing a Favor for not charging for the no show date, which in fact was no favor at all as booking.com authorized the change and was fine with it.

We decided to stay as they were going to charge us anyways and when we went to dine at the beachside restaurant took me asking a waiter to order after 30 mins of sitting there to order food and another 45 minutes to get our simple order of 2 burgers.

The rooms in the hotel were beautiful with nice beds and wonderful hot high pressure showers but the service was totally lackluster. I've had better at a 3 star hotel in Toronto where I live. If I were you I'd avoid. Big name lots of history but bad service.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank DeviantAJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlosS88, Manager at Galle Face Hotel Colombo, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback through Tripadvisor.
It is with sincere regret that we note your dissatisfaction with the terms and conditions of Booking.com. Please understand our difficulty, we have an agreement with Booking.com and we must follow its terms and conditions. You may write to them separately to let them have your views with regards to flexibility for cancellations.

Indeed, several areas of our Hotel are currently closed for renovation; and this has been communicated to our travel agents and corporate accounts. A notice has been posted in the Hotel’s website and Booking.com website for the general public.

Please accept our apologies for the slow service that you experience in our Pool Bar.
Your experience certainly does not in any way represent the quality of standards we strive for, and indeed customarily maintain at our Hotel.

We thank you very much for your patronage and look forward to having you back with us.

Yours sincerely,

Carlos Sanchez Vizan
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth UK
Level Contributor
73 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

I was recommended to stay at the Galle Face hotel which is on the seafront in central Colombo for a recent visit to Sri Lanka where I was working for a week as the external examiner for some postgraduate exams.
I like historic hotels rather than ones which could be anywhere in the world, so liked the sound of this hotel which has been open for over 100 years.
Initially the website for the hotel would not accept any bookings, so I emailed the reservation manager and requested a seafront room for my stay. This was confirmed by return of email with my ccard details.
On my arrival at the airport one of their drivers (who had been arranged to pick me up) was waiting for me and drove me to the hotel (takes about 30 minutes unless the centre of Colombo is congested). As we approached the hotel I realised that most of the hotel was a shell/building site and the pictures on the website of the public areas which seemed so attractive would not be available.
When I arrived the reservation team were helpful with a welcome drink. Sadly the room I was showed to was next door to the wing being re-built and also the room on the other side to me was being renovated. Also my room had a central bath as the centre piece of the room, but the room had a musty bad plumbing smell. As this is a mosquito area I did not want to open the windows so put up with it for the first day.
However after a long day at work I got back to my room on the second evening only to be deafened by the noise of the floor sander next door. They were still working at 7.30pm by which stage I requested a room change.
I was transferred to a much nicer, cleaner, brighter and quiet room for the rest of my stay and I would request this room again if I return (room 3008 or 308, sorry I can't remember).
As the facilities were very restricted the choice of food was not good especially as I like to eat local rather than western food, and by day 3 I had eaten all the options of Sri Lankan food at least once. The bar doubled up as the breakfast room and evening restaurant. Some of the breakfast was disappointing. The orange juice was not real OJ but a sunny D type drink. Also the tea came with boiling full fat milk which is horrible. The choice of western breakfast bits were not very good but the local curries and other breakfast food eaten locally were nice.
The view from the pool was lovely with the noise of breaking waves in the background. The pool bar was good with food and drink options and helpful staff.
I would encourage anyone visiting to explore outside the hospital and walking along the seafront promenade to the old Dutch hospital which now has some shops, restaurants and bars in is a great place to eat and drink. It is interesting to see local families enjoying the seafront in the evening and people are polite and friendly. I tried some of the street food here one evening which was yummy, and had no bowel problems during the whole of my stay.
Roads in Colombo and the rest of Sri Lanka are chaotic and scary, with motorbikes, lorries and tut tuts cutting up each other.
Beware when you leave the hotel you will be curb crawled by Tut tuts trying to get your trade, however unless they are metered or you agree a price before you start your journey, there are tales of westerners being royally ripped off. I would also beware of touts who will try to befriend you as you walk down the street and not take no for an answer when you don't go to their shop. I was a female travelling on my own, and as I was aware of these issues I was fine, you just have to be polite but firm. It also helped that I was taller than most of the Sri Lankan men!
Another thing to be aware of is the hotel transport team are not cheap, so transfer to and from the airport etc. will cost a lot more than a local metered taxi.
I would only stay at the hotel again once all the renovations are complete. I feel I was short changed by this issue during my stay as the facilities were very limited and the noise of the building work very disturbing when I needed to work at the hotel in the evenings.
However as long as the renovations keep some of its colonial charm, I would like to see it when it is fully back to its glory.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Imogen_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlosS88, Manager at Galle Face Hotel Colombo, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback through Tripadvisor.
It is with sincere regret that we note your dissatisfaction with finding our Hotel under renovation.
Indeed, several areas of our Hotel are currently closed for restoration; and this has been communicated to our travel agents and corporate accounts. A notice has been posted in the Hotel’s website for the general public.

We thank you very much for your patronage and look forward to having you back with us.

Yours sincerely,

Carlos Sanchez Vizan
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.7 mi away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
0.9 mi away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#6 of 52 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,599 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Taj Samudra Colombo
Taj Samudra Colombo
#7 of 52 in Colombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,019 reviews
1.7 mi away
Colombo Courtyard
Colombo Courtyard
#9 of 52 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
2.7 mi away
OZO Colombo
OZO Colombo
#10 of 52 in Colombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galle Face Hotel Colombo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galle Face Hotel Colombo

Property: Galle Face Hotel Colombo
Address: No. 2, Galle Road, Colombo, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 52 Hotels in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Galle Face Hotel Colombo 5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Presented proudly as Sri Lanka's iconic and historic hotel, Galle Face Hotel is located in heart of Colombo City, along the seafront and facing the famous Galle Face Green.The hotel has 158 well-appointed rooms and suites, with some offering excellent views across the Indian ocean and the fascinating view of evening sunset.There are three restaurants, a gym, spa and unique saltwater swimming pool, overlooking the seafront. Guests here will be convenient as the hotel offers close access to many of the business district,historic cultural sites and landmarks in Colombo, as well nearby shopping. The hotel is a 45-60min journey from the airport.Guests seeking a glimpse of Colombo's history will enjoy the charm of The Galle Face Hotel with its unique, unaltered setting since 1864. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Galle Face Hotel Colombo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing