We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Architecture and view of the sea”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
Ranked #5 of 54 Hotels in Colombo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Despite the ongoing restoration of part of the hotel I had a pleasant stay at this hotel. It is located close to Fort Area and Galle Face Green Esplanade. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Rooms are large and colonial type. I had a pleasant stay at this hotel. It is located near the beach and is very calming.

Room Tip: Higher floors are less noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeremy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,998)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,660 - 1,666 of 2,999 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2014

Opulence, architecture, food and wild sea... one can rate this hotel to the highest ranks.. What could be better if ur hotel itself is the part of 'must visit places' in Sri Lanka. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank surbhiseth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Although, it has been a while since we stayed at that hotel, but I keep vivid and excellent souvenirs. I remember picking it up because I did not reserve a room for the three nights spent there as the first part of our trip to Sri Lanka, and it was the cheapest of the hotels which got a good rating. After 2 days of traveling with no sleep, I wanted a reliable and comfortable place. The breakfast was tasty and the grilled fish as part of the dinner buffet was delicious. The room was quite, the room service very and reasonably priced. Our room faced the garden, and could hear the waves. It's a popular place for fancy weddings, so probably the rooms are less quitter which are in the part of the hotel where the celebration and the party go on. It gave the feeling of how British colonizers cold spend their time in the beautiful garden and building. It's almost the only hotel having an ocean front area, a local told us.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Modmano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

I have no complaints about the service, food and amenities at this hotel. And I will try to stay there again. The staff were friendly, our room was awesome so why did I only give it four stars? Well there is a common problem in Sri Lanka: Sri Lankans being racist against their own people. And I experienced it with the manager of this hotel. My visiting friend from Ella was not allowed to swim in the pool, supposedly hotel policy. But shortly after, i met a British woman who was 'only visiting' and was swimming at the pool. Some of the other hotels charge a fee for visitors to swim, I believe this hotel should cut the crap and adopt the same policy!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank loumac22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

I stayed here for the last night of my holiday as it was just an hour from the airport (using the expressway) and I wanted to try out the oldest colonial hotel in Asia. The hotel is currently undergoing renovation but this doesn't affect you once inside the hotel. It's a beautifully furnished hotel. The room was gorgeous with solid teak floor and furniture and very comfortable. There were little extras like a fruit selection tea and coffee, gowns and slippers. Very nice bathrooms with bath and separate rainfall shower.
Breakfast was a wonderful spread with everything you could want. I was disappointed at not being able to get a table in the restaurant at night. No-one greeted me on entry and after several minutes standing around someone called across that it was full. Not the service I'd come to expect. I decided to try the outdoor eating area / bar, however, the refurbishment was disrupting with the sound of hammering and banging (after 8pm) an argument ensued at the next table over the bar bill and again we were ignored without so much as a menu offered so we left the hotel and ate at the Cinnamon Grand, which incidentally was very nice.
I'll be sure to go back when the refurbishment is finished, and hopefully get to try the restaurant too.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tropicsexporer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

Noted as the Old Grand Dame hotel in Colombo we were very pleasantly surprised. Great setting on the coast with a pool looking over a narrow beach. Lots of old school charm with teak floorboards and quality feel. Very good breakfast indeed. Strongly recommended. Older main part f hotel under refurbishment but this didi not impinge on a great 2 night stay in the heart of the city.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clive w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014

We stayed there for one night at the end of a Sri Lankan tour. The section of the hotel still open during the current remodeling has pleasant (but old) rooms with all the necessary amenities. The restaurant, where we had dinner, gave us the best meal we had in Sri Lanka. There is a nice swimming pool overlooking the ocean, and it is possible to stroll along the sea front from the hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gogocar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.2 mi away
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
0.7 mi away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
0.2 mi away
Taj Samudra Colombo
Taj Samudra Colombo
#8 of 54 in Colombo
2,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hilton Colombo
Hilton Colombo
#10 of 54 in Colombo
2,092 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#9 of 54 in Colombo
1,927 reviews
0.9 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Colombo
Movenpick Hotel Colombo
#6 of 54 in Colombo
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galle Face Hotel Colombo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galle Face Hotel Colombo

Address: No. 2, Galle Road, Colombo, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 54 Hotels in Colombo
Price Range: $112 - $292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Galle Face Hotel Colombo 5*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Presented proudly as Sri Lanka's iconic and historic hotel, Galle Face Hotel is located in heart of Colombo City, along the seafront and facing the famous Galle Face Green.The hotel has 158 well-appointed rooms and suites, with some offering excellent views across the Indian ocean and the fascinating view of evening sunset.There are three restaurants, a gym, spa and unique saltwater swimming pool, overlooking the seafront. Guests here will be convenient as the hotel offers close access to many of the business district,historic cultural sites and landmarks in Colombo, as well nearby shopping. The hotel is a 45-60min journey from the airport.Guests seeking a glimpse of Colombo's history will enjoy the charm of The Galle Face Hotel with its unique, unaltered setting since 1864. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Galle Face Hotel Colombo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing