We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the city on the beach front. What more do you want”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
Ranked #4 of 51 Hotels in Colombo
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
131 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“In the city on the beach front. What more do you want”
Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

I have stayed at the galle face many many times and well before trip adviser was invented. One of its main advantages is the fact that it's in the city on the sea. I also love the high ceilings and polished wooden floors. It also a short distance from the lagoon seafood restaurant at the Cinnamon grand hotel if you want to treat yourself to some really good food. The Galle face is a little less than perfect and that 's what I prefer. The staff are welcoming and attentive.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Critica l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,758 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,195
    948
    358
    150
    107
See reviews for
527
1,169
202
296
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (727)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

We stayed here on our last night in Sri Lanka and we loved the hotel. The pool and service were great and the room was lovely (except the very old TV which didn't fit the room at all!)

I booked a 40 minute foot massage at the spa for more than 4000 rupees and was really disappointed. I am pregnant but they laid me flat on my back so the whole massage was uncomfortable. The lady started late and finished exactly 24 minutes later (there was a clock on the wall). I complained and they apologised and said I could go back in for the extra 10 minutes but by that time I felt embarrassed and just wanted to leave. I felt that a discount should have been offered but I didn't press the issue.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank bsister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlosS88, Manager at Galle Face Hotel Colombo, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback through Tripadvisor.
It is with sincere regret that we note your dissatisfaction with the services provided by the spa.
We ask for your kind understanding and assure you that your comments have been of value to us to provide the best possible standards to our guests at all times. I have personally spoken to the ladies at the spa and I can assure you that they will be more attentive and professional in the future.
Your experience certainly does not in any way represent the quality of standards we strive for, and indeed customarily maintain at our Hotel.
We thank you very much for your patronage and look forward to having you back with us.

Yours sincerely,

Carlos Sanchez Vizan
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steyning, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

We have stayed here 4 years ago, before the renovations, so we were shocked to see how much of the hotel is not open. But even with the imperfections it is still a lovely hotel to stay in. The staff are excellent. The problems we had ( the toilet smelt, electricity didn't work) were sorted out promptly.
We do not like what we call the "faceless" hotels that we could have stayed in, this hotel has a lot of character and history, and the location is perfect. Lovely to have a meal on the veranda by the pool looking out to sea.
The other thing to bear in mind is the rooms have connecting doors between them, which do make an issue of privacy!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Officegodess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlosS88, Manager at Galle Face Hotel Colombo, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback through Tripadvisor.
It is with sincere regret that we note your dissatisfaction with our current facilities.
Indeed, several areas of our Hotel are currently closed for renovation; and this has been communicated to our travel agents and corporate accounts. A notice has been posted in the Hotel’s website and other online travel agents websites for the general public.
Your experience certainly does not in any way represent the quality of standards we strive for, and indeed customarily maintain at our Hotel.
We thank you very much for your patronage and look forward to having you back with us.

Yours sincerely,

Carlos Sanchez Vizan
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

The hotel is old, beautiful and full of old colonial charm, but a big renovation Of the hotel has closed half Of the hotel. Unfortunately this has not changed the prized - we paid 158 dollars for a small room without breakfast. Could hear the traffic from Galle Rd. All night. But the worst is the service, especially at the out door restaurant. Really slow and arrogant.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonas76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlosS88, Manager at Galle Face Hotel Colombo, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback through Tripadvisor.
It is with sincere regret that we note your dissatisfaction with our service and facilities.
We ask for your kind understanding and assure you that your comments have been of value to us to provide the best possible standards to our guests at all times, even during our restoration phase.
Indeed, several areas of our Hotel are currently closed for renovation; and this has been communicated to our travel agents and corporate accounts. A notice has been posted in the Hotel’s website for the general public.
Your experience certainly does not in any way represent the quality of standards we strive for, and indeed customarily maintain at our Hotel.
We thank you very much for your patronage and look forward to having you back with us.

Yours sincerely,

Carlos Sanchez Vizan
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
343 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We recently stayed here again with a 8 month old for 4 nights. As usual booked into the Regency wing. We had a decent room ( 2017) but no view. I was about to ask for a room range when we realised that the Classic Wing is under restoration with a considerable amount of construction noise during the day. There is also no outside dining options at present until the restoration is complete ( the pool bar remains however). Still remains a great place but with less atmosphere and options until 2015.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanjaya_Wijeyekoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We were only passing through Colombo, but had we not been, I would have had no hesitation in trying to stay for a night or two more here ... this was sheer luxury! Attentive staff, huge room, equipped with absolutely everything and more we could want, and the biggest bath I've ever seen in my life. Best thing of all was the view straight out of the window onto the Indian Ocean. High-speed wi-fi kept the teenager happy, and the tranquil luxury suited his parents admirably. Breakfast was eye-wateringly extensive, with the added bonus of Tony (Australian or possibly a New Zealander) who provided a friendly "master of ceremonies" role, meeting and greeting, and giving us croissants to ease the pain of having to wait a few minutes till a table came free ..!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Threeberthcarriage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

This hotel has a good location. However the service was bad at the reception. We had a nice room but the it was dirty. We enjoyed the restaurant, good food but a little bite too expensive. The galle quarter is good by recommend to chose another hotel

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurent D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlosS88, Manager at Galle Face Hotel Colombo, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback through Tripadvisor.
It is with sincere regret that we note your dissatisfaction with our service and facilities.
We ask for your kind understanding and assure you that your comments have been of value to us to provide the best possible standards to our guests at all times, even during our restoration phase.
Your experience certainly does not in any way represent the quality of standards we strive for, and indeed customarily maintain at our Hotel.
We thank you very much for your patronage and look forward to having you back with us.

Yours sincerely,

Carlos Sanchez Vizan
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.7 mi away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
0.8 mi away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#6 of 51 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,692 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Colombo Courtyard
Colombo Courtyard
#8 of 51 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
0.2 mi away
Taj Samudra Colombo
Taj Samudra Colombo
#7 of 51 in Colombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,087 reviews
0.9 mi away
Uga Residence
Uga Residence
#1 of 51 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galle Face Hotel Colombo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galle Face Hotel Colombo

Property: Galle Face Hotel Colombo
Address: No. 2, Galle Road, Colombo, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 51 Hotels in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Galle Face Hotel Colombo 5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Presented proudly as Sri Lanka's iconic and historic hotel, Galle Face Hotel is located in heart of Colombo City, along the seafront and facing the famous Galle Face Green.The hotel has 158 well-appointed rooms and suites, with some offering excellent views across the Indian ocean and the fascinating view of evening sunset.There are three restaurants, a gym, spa and unique saltwater swimming pool, overlooking the seafront. Guests here will be convenient as the hotel offers close access to many of the business district,historic cultural sites and landmarks in Colombo, as well nearby shopping. The hotel is a 45-60min journey from the airport.Guests seeking a glimpse of Colombo's history will enjoy the charm of The Galle Face Hotel with its unique, unaltered setting since 1864. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Galle Face Hotel Colombo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing