We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old world charm in the heart of Colombo...with sea views.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
Ranked #5 of 54 Hotels in Colombo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Regency wing for three nights. The hotel has maintained its colonial heritage...with its wooden floors...and old world charm.

I was disappointed with the room which was small-ish and had only partial sea views. But the bathrooms were large and the hotel has a lovely terrace overlooking the Indian ocean..what more can one ask for...

Also the food and drinks are reasonably priced and is of good quality. The breakfast in particular was very good...so were the burgers and wraps.

I would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maggie007London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne D, Front Office Manager at Galle Face Hotel Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review the Galle Face Hotel after your recent visit.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. As you may know the Classic wing of the hotel is under restoration, in which you will find some of the largest rooms in Colombo. So on your next visit we could offer you a large room with a direct sea view.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,946)
There are newer reviews for Galle Face Hotel Colombo
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,781 - 1,787 of 2,946 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here at the start and end of a two week trip. The room was a classed as a suite and was right at the top of the Regency Wing. Great view of Ocean, good bed and massive bathroom. Good place to get a driver to take you around Sri Lanka - ask for William as he was great and at 70,000 rupees for 12 days a bargain

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theprincemoseley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne D, Front Office Manager at Galle Face Hotel Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review of the Galle Face Hotel after your recent visit.

We extremely appreciate your review and look forward to welcome you once again at the Galle Face Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We visited Galle Face Hotel (GFH) last year for " HIgh Tea".. and sure they knew to make our mouth water... from great western dishes to simple desserts.. it was eye catching and nicely served.

The staff was very friendly. I remember we wed in GFH, and our first night was remarkable with a champagn and fresh fruits.. there were flower petals on the bed too... the breakfast was finely served. and i remember they packed us the breakfast on request since we had to catch first class train to hill tops.

I have also visited GFH "sea breeze" resturent, there there are action stations with sea food cooked in different manner~ GFH has a very long history with medival architecture still prevailing to show the tradition.

I also have made it to their lunch buffet, with 2 of my customers and team mates. It had a variety and food was delicious~
I will definetely dine again in GFH.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms facing the sea
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Tropical15041982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne D, Front Office Manager at Galle Face Hotel Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review the Galle Face Hotel after your recent visit.

We are delighted to read your review and look forward to welcome you once again at the Galle Face Hotel. On your next visit I would like to suggest our 1864 Restaurant which is our signature restaurant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

This is a renovated old colonial hotel and should be seen as such. It is pleasant, right on the sea. It would appear that its significance is more of a museum/historical hotel rather than as a 5 star hotel.

If the hotel did not have any historical note, it would be at best, a very average hotel.

We stayed in a suite with views right over the swimming pool and sea. Very comfortable, but average. The windows were difficult to open by rust in the hinges, one felt that if you opened the window fully the window would fall off! Listening to the waves at night was magic.

We ordered room service, after nothing had arrived after an hour, we contacted room service again to ask what happened to our order. They apparently forgot to note our room number so were unable to contact us or even deliver. When it did arrive, an hour and a half later, no apology. Some updated communications would have been good, or even a bell ringing down in the kitchen!

Would we return? probably not. But you have to experience the nostalgia.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MartinMuscatOman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne D, Front Office Manager at Galle Face Hotel Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review the Galle Face Hotel after your recent visit.

The Galle Face Hotel is renowned as a Colonial Hotel, established in 1864. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed one of the Oceanic Suites. With regard to windows, as you may know the restoration program of the Classic section of the hotel has now commenced. With this restoration this will be on top of the list.

Please accept my sincere apologies with regard to our room service team. I assure you that all corrective action has been taken to ensure a repetition of this nature will not take place future. Your comments have been an encouragement to us and we have taken it constructively and look to improve.

Thank you for patronizing the Galle Face Hotel. We look forward to welcome you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

The Galle Face Hotel provided a colonial view of Sri Lanka. While the hotel is a little tired, I believe they are looking to improve it. Our room was generous and clean. The food was good though a little tuned down for the gringos! My only complaint is that we had horrible service at the front desk. Several staff seemed to be more interested in unnecessary details than seeing the overall picture. The location was exciting as it is directly on the water so there was plenty to tease the eyes.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ron E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne D, Front Office Manager at Galle Face Hotel Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review the Galle Face Hotel after your recent visit.

We do have one of the best locations in Colombo, just beside the Indian ocean. As you may know The Galle Face Hotel has a history of 150 years, been established back in 1864.

We are definitely looking to improve as the restoration of the Classic wing has already commenced, however the Regency wing will continue to be in operation throughout.

I’m pleased that you enjoyed the food at the hotel. However please accept my sincere apologies on behalf of my Front Office Team. I assure you that all corrective action has been taken to ensure a repetition of this nature will not take place.

Thank you for patronizing the Galle Face Hotel. We look forward to welcome you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

The Galle Face Hotel is one of the last colonial hotels in Colombo and its under-going renovation but don't let that out you off. What you get is a hotel with echoes of the E and O in Penang or Raffles. Facing the sea, with long verandahs and wind kissed open areas - this is lovely hotel with great charm and friendly staff. It has oodles of atmosphere and the service is excellent.

The restaurants are good, the outside bar excellent and the service is very fine. This is excellent value for money. Go and enjoy and indulge in those colonial fantasies.

Room Tip: Get a sea facing room in the traditional wing
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ESVincent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne D, Front Office Manager at Galle Face Hotel Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review the Galle Face Hotel after your recent visit.

We extremely appreciate your review and look forward to welcome you once again at the Galle Face Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

This iconic hotel is deserving of its reputation. Its rooms reflect a bygone era but are very much up to date in terms of comfort and facilities. Staff were friendly and helpful. Swimming in the hotel pool while the sea pounds on the rocky beach below is an enjoyable experience. However, the food in the Veranda Bar does not live up to the general standard of the hotel being the usual tired buffet. Although the room was comfortable our privacy was compromised by the connecting door to the next room, especially as the occupants seem to favour late night room service meals. Therefore cannot give it top rating.

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms with inter-connecting doors.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John_MtEden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne D, Front Office Manager at Galle Face Hotel Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review the Galle Face Hotel after your recent visit.

As you may know the Galle Face Hotel is known for “yesterday's charm with today's comfort”. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. However I am sorry all wasn’t as it should have been at the Veranda Bar. You have my assurance that all corrective action has been taken to improve this aspect.

We look forward to welcome you once again at the Galle Face Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.7 mi away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
0.2 mi away
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
0.2 mi away
Taj Samudra Colombo
Taj Samudra Colombo
#8 of 54 in Colombo
2,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#7 of 54 in Colombo
1,875 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Colombo
Hilton Colombo
#11 of 54 in Colombo
2,069 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Kingsbury
The Kingsbury
#15 of 54 in Colombo
1,714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galle Face Hotel Colombo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galle Face Hotel Colombo

Address: No. 2, Galle Road, Colombo, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 54 Hotels in Colombo
Price Range: $156 - $271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Galle Face Hotel Colombo 5*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Presented proudly as Sri Lanka's iconic and historic hotel, Galle Face Hotel is located in heart of Colombo City, along the seafront and facing the famous Galle Face Green.The hotel has 158 well-appointed rooms and suites, with some offering excellent views across the Indian ocean and the fascinating view of evening sunset.There are three restaurants, a gym, spa and unique saltwater swimming pool, overlooking the seafront. Guests here will be convenient as the hotel offers close access to many of the business district,historic cultural sites and landmarks in Colombo, as well nearby shopping. The hotel is a 45-60min journey from the airport.Guests seeking a glimpse of Colombo's history will enjoy the charm of The Galle Face Hotel with its unique, unaltered setting since 1864. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Galle Face Hotel Colombo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing