We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice colonial hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
Ranked #4 of 55 Hotels in Colombo
Certificate of Excellence
Muscat Oman
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice colonial hotel”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

This is a renovated old colonial hotel and should be seen as such. It is pleasant, right on the sea. It would appear that its significance is more of a museum/historical hotel rather than as a 5 star hotel.

If the hotel did not have any historical note, it would be at best, a very average hotel.

We stayed in a suite with views right over the swimming pool and sea. Very comfortable, but average. The windows were difficult to open by rust in the hinges, one felt that if you opened the window fully the window would fall off! Listening to the waves at night was magic.

We ordered room service, after nothing had arrived after an hour, we contacted room service again to ask what happened to our order. They apparently forgot to note our room number so were unable to contact us or even deliver. When it did arrive, an hour and a half later, no apology. Some updated communications would have been good, or even a bell ringing down in the kitchen!

Would we return? probably not. But you have to experience the nostalgia.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MartinMuscatOman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne D, Front Office Manager at Galle Face Hotel Colombo, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Galle Face Hotel after your recent visit.

The Galle Face Hotel is renowned as a Colonial Hotel, established in 1864. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed one of the Oceanic Suites. With regard to windows, as you may know the restoration program of the Classic section of the hotel has now commenced. With this restoration this will be on top of the list.

Please accept my sincere apologies with regard to our room service team. I assure you that all corrective action has been taken to ensure a repetition of this nature will not take place future. Your comments have been an encouragement to us and we have taken it constructively and look to improve.

Thank you for patronizing the Galle Face Hotel. We look forward to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,904 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,282
    994
    364
    155
    109
See reviews for
577
1,216
216
309
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (757)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

The Galle Face Hotel provided a colonial view of Sri Lanka. While the hotel is a little tired, I believe they are looking to improve it. Our room was generous and clean. The food was good though a little tuned down for the gringos! My only complaint is that we had horrible service at the front desk. Several staff seemed to be more interested in unnecessary details than seeing the overall picture. The location was exciting as it is directly on the water so there was plenty to tease the eyes.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne D, Front Office Manager at Galle Face Hotel Colombo, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Galle Face Hotel after your recent visit.

We do have one of the best locations in Colombo, just beside the Indian ocean. As you may know The Galle Face Hotel has a history of 150 years, been established back in 1864.

We are definitely looking to improve as the restoration of the Classic wing has already commenced, however the Regency wing will continue to be in operation throughout.

I’m pleased that you enjoyed the food at the hotel. However please accept my sincere apologies on behalf of my Front Office Team. I assure you that all corrective action has been taken to ensure a repetition of this nature will not take place.

Thank you for patronizing the Galle Face Hotel. We look forward to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
671 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 432 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

The Galle Face Hotel is one of the last colonial hotels in Colombo and its under-going renovation but don't let that out you off. What you get is a hotel with echoes of the E and O in Penang or Raffles. Facing the sea, with long verandahs and wind kissed open areas - this is lovely hotel with great charm and friendly staff. It has oodles of atmosphere and the service is excellent.

The restaurants are good, the outside bar excellent and the service is very fine. This is excellent value for money. Go and enjoy and indulge in those colonial fantasies.

Room Tip: Get a sea facing room in the traditional wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ESVincent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne D, Front Office Manager at Galle Face Hotel Colombo, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Galle Face Hotel after your recent visit.

We extremely appreciate your review and look forward to welcome you once again at the Galle Face Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

This iconic hotel is deserving of its reputation. Its rooms reflect a bygone era but are very much up to date in terms of comfort and facilities. Staff were friendly and helpful. Swimming in the hotel pool while the sea pounds on the rocky beach below is an enjoyable experience. However, the food in the Veranda Bar does not live up to the general standard of the hotel being the usual tired buffet. Although the room was comfortable our privacy was compromised by the connecting door to the next room, especially as the occupants seem to favour late night room service meals. Therefore cannot give it top rating.

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms with inter-connecting doors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John_MtEden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne D, Front Office Manager at Galle Face Hotel Colombo, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Galle Face Hotel after your recent visit.

As you may know the Galle Face Hotel is known for “yesterday's charm with today's comfort”. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. However I am sorry all wasn’t as it should have been at the Veranda Bar. You have my assurance that all corrective action has been taken to improve this aspect.

We look forward to welcome you once again at the Galle Face Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We had booked into the hotel's newly renovated part, but on check in, were given a room in the older part. While the room was spacious, it was old, tired and worn, and some of the bathroom fixtures were a little rusty. However, the hotel is located in an excellent location and the historic building and its architecture is beautiful.

I would suggest booking well in advance and stipulating that you would like to stay in the newly renovated part of the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Narlotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne D, Front Office Manager at Galle Face Hotel Colombo, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review the Galle Face Hotel after your recent visit.

You’re 100% correct, the classic section rooms are long overdue for improvement and have now been removed from the operation. We are pleased to advise that as of June 1st the restoration program of the Classic section of the hotel has now commenced – under the watchful eye of the historic & archeological government ministries, so the charm, style and historical integrity of the property will be protected.

During this period the Regency section of the hotel, a selection of restaurants and bars, the pool & spa will continue to be in full operation.

On your next visit to Colombo we hope to be able to show you the true elegance of the Galle Face Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Coming to a country and then opting to stay in a hotel that is the precise replica of similar establishments across the globe is a bit like passing up the appetiser.Galle Face is the authentic Sri Lankan hotel,and which reflects the huge influence that Europe has had on the elites of that country.It has the charm of a country villa with conveniences such as a spa and an energetic team of therapists eager to remove aches and pains and the blues.There is a cosy feel to the place,with it's eclectic group of guests.Don't forget the Club,where you can unwind over a private dinner or sip tea and chat with friends.Evenings,walk across to the waterfront and jostle with the citizenry of Colombo as they enjoy the breeze from the ocean

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madhav n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne D, Front Office Manager at Galle Face Hotel Colombo, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review the Galle Face Hotel after your recent visit.

We really are blessed with a rare location and an iconic building. As you pointed out a great spot for a mixing with visitors and locals alike, as popular today as it has been for the past 150 years with both visitors and locals.

Our restoration program is now underway in earnest – under the watchful eye of the historic & archeological government ministries. So on your next visit we hope to be able to show you the true elegance of the Galle Face Hotel in addition to hospitality & great Sri Lankian food.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Galle Face Hotel for four nights in the middle of May. The location of the hotel is superb, almost in the heart of the city and by the beach. The Galle Face Green is at its doorstep which allows you to have a leisurely stroll once the sun goes down.
Part of the hotel was closed for renovations during our stay. The room we had on the ground floor was of average size. It was clean, but the furnishing looked very old. The cupboard, table and the rest of the furniture looked as if they had been there for decades.
The bathroom was spacious with a good shower, but again the fittings were very old. Even the bathroom tap dripped all the time.
I found it odd that the Safe which was in the room was not bolted down and could be moved around.
The breakfast (which was included in the room rate) was excellent.
We also found that the staff at the reception, restaurant and on the floor were all very friendly, cooperative and ever ready to help.
Hopefully after the current major renovations are completed the management will look into upgrading the furnishings and the fittings all around.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kingsleyhe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne D, Front Office Manager at Galle Face Hotel Colombo, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review the Hotel after your recent visit.

I’m pleased you enjoyed the breakfast and the service was friendly and helpful, however I’m sorry all wasn’t as it should have been in the rooms. You’re 100% correct, while the classic section rooms are long overdue for improvement and have now been removed from the operation there is also work to be undertaken in the existing section.

We really do value the feedback at take it in a constructive way to assist in lifting our game.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.7 mi away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
0.2 mi away
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
0.2 mi away
Taj Samudra Colombo
Taj Samudra Colombo
#8 of 55 in Colombo
2,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#7 of 55 in Colombo
1,814 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Kingsbury
The Kingsbury
#15 of 55 in Colombo
1,686 reviews
1.7 mi away
Colombo Courtyard
Colombo Courtyard
#9 of 55 in Colombo
762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galle Face Hotel Colombo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galle Face Hotel Colombo

Property: Galle Face Hotel Colombo
Address: No. 2, Galle Road, Colombo, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 55 Hotels in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Galle Face Hotel Colombo 5*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Presented proudly as Sri Lanka's iconic and historic hotel, Galle Face Hotel is located in heart of Colombo City, along the seafront and facing the famous Galle Face Green.The hotel has 158 well-appointed rooms and suites, with some offering excellent views across the Indian ocean and the fascinating view of evening sunset.There are three restaurants, a gym, spa and unique saltwater swimming pool, overlooking the seafront. Guests here will be convenient as the hotel offers close access to many of the business district,historic cultural sites and landmarks in Colombo, as well nearby shopping. The hotel is a 45-60min journey from the airport.Guests seeking a glimpse of Colombo's history will enjoy the charm of The Galle Face Hotel with its unique, unaltered setting since 1864. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Agoda, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Galle Face Hotel Colombo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing