We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired and worn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
Ranked #5 of 54 Hotels in Colombo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We had booked into the hotel's newly renovated part, but on check in, were given a room in the older part. While the room was spacious, it was old, tired and worn, and some of the bathroom fixtures were a little rusty. However, the hotel is located in an excellent location and the historic building and its architecture is beautiful.

I would suggest booking well in advance and stipulating that you would like to stay in the newly renovated part of the hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Narlotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne D, Front Office Manager at Galle Face Hotel Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to review the Galle Face Hotel after your recent visit.

You’re 100% correct, the classic section rooms are long overdue for improvement and have now been removed from the operation. We are pleased to advise that as of June 1st the restoration program of the Classic section of the hotel has now commenced – under the watchful eye of the historic & archeological government ministries, so the charm, style and historical integrity of the property will be protected.

During this period the Regency section of the hotel, a selection of restaurants and bars, the pool & spa will continue to be in full operation.

On your next visit to Colombo we hope to be able to show you the true elegance of the Galle Face Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,948)
There are newer reviews for Galle Face Hotel Colombo
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,790 - 1,796 of 2,948 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2013

Coming to a country and then opting to stay in a hotel that is the precise replica of similar establishments across the globe is a bit like passing up the appetiser.Galle Face is the authentic Sri Lankan hotel,and which reflects the huge influence that Europe has had on the elites of that country.It has the charm of a country villa with conveniences such as a spa and an energetic team of therapists eager to remove aches and pains and the blues.There is a cosy feel to the place,with it's eclectic group of guests.Don't forget the Club,where you can unwind over a private dinner or sip tea and chat with friends.Evenings,walk across to the waterfront and jostle with the citizenry of Colombo as they enjoy the breeze from the ocean

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank madhav n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne D, Front Office Manager at Galle Face Hotel Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to review the Galle Face Hotel after your recent visit.

We really are blessed with a rare location and an iconic building. As you pointed out a great spot for a mixing with visitors and locals alike, as popular today as it has been for the past 150 years with both visitors and locals.

Our restoration program is now underway in earnest – under the watchful eye of the historic & archeological government ministries. So on your next visit we hope to be able to show you the true elegance of the Galle Face Hotel in addition to hospitality & great Sri Lankian food.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Galle Face Hotel for four nights in the middle of May. The location of the hotel is superb, almost in the heart of the city and by the beach. The Galle Face Green is at its doorstep which allows you to have a leisurely stroll once the sun goes down.
Part of the hotel was closed for renovations during our stay. The room we had on the ground floor was of average size. It was clean, but the furnishing looked very old. The cupboard, table and the rest of the furniture looked as if they had been there for decades.
The bathroom was spacious with a good shower, but again the fittings were very old. Even the bathroom tap dripped all the time.
I found it odd that the Safe which was in the room was not bolted down and could be moved around.
The breakfast (which was included in the room rate) was excellent.
We also found that the staff at the reception, restaurant and on the floor were all very friendly, cooperative and ever ready to help.
Hopefully after the current major renovations are completed the management will look into upgrading the furnishings and the fittings all around.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kingsleyhe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne D, Front Office Manager at Galle Face Hotel Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to review the Hotel after your recent visit.

I’m pleased you enjoyed the breakfast and the service was friendly and helpful, however I’m sorry all wasn’t as it should have been in the rooms. You’re 100% correct, while the classic section rooms are long overdue for improvement and have now been removed from the operation there is also work to be undertaken in the existing section.

We really do value the feedback at take it in a constructive way to assist in lifting our game.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Great heritage property right on sea. evening sit out is great. Ambiance of Morning breakfast looks great.

    • Value
    • Service
Thank RaviGautam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Colombo certainly surprised me more than I expected. Having traveled to Dhaka and Mumbai, Colombo is a well run city, less honking along the streets and the people are always smiley. ( A policewoman who was directing traffic smiled and wave when I greeted her)! Just rare to find people who have such a cheerful disposition. The Galle Face Hotel has that colonial charm and the fittings are very well maintained although they could use better mattresses, I enjoyed my stay there. Service staff are super attentive. The hotel oversees the Indian Ocean and you could hear the sea and the waves 24 hrs. Have a Sri Lankan/International breakfast and watch the sea breaks and enjoy the breeze. They have crows that keep trying to steal food and a hotel staff with a slingshot to try and frighten them away so it can be quite entertaining. They have a well equipped Gym and a SPA.

Room Tip: Try the Tuk Tuks- they are are safer than the ones you find in Indonesia but agree on a price before...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveller1882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne D, Front Office Manager at Galle Face Hotel Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to review the Galle Face Hotel after your recent visit and uploading views from your room and the veranda.

We really are blessed with a rare location – right on the doorstep of the city and the famous Galle Face Green yet with ocean frontage.

While the rest of Sri lanka beckons with its famous beaches, historic monuments and amazing wildlife, Colombo still has its own secrets. As you point out the secrets are in the smiles of the people, the links to all the different ingredients to a bustling port city, and its links to its colonial past

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

The hotel's location is very good. The swimming pool is right next to the beach, which is the best part. It was a very relaxing experience. Breakfast was a little mundane,as they had the same spread for the 3 days that we were there. As vegetarians, we had very little options to choose from.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Kanika_mhs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne D, Front Office Manager at Galle Face Hotel Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to review the Galle Face Hotel after your recent visit.

The sea water pool right on the ocean boundary certainly is a feature well appreciated by our guests.

On your next visit we would be happy to cook a few more vegetarian dishes for you – please just let us know when you make your booking.

I’m glad you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Always enjoy staying here, great location, impecable service and great value.

This time tried aDelux room. Great size but sadly lacking the comfort of a regular room. Furnishing to be blunt is uncomfortable and really badly laid out for a hotel of this calibre. Looked more like a holiday rental apparment.

Bathroom is well appointed but hot water unreliable.

Service as always cannot be faulted, room service is wonderfully efficient. Menu could be made a bit more interesting given the quality of the hotel.Breakfast Buffet would be hard to match for choice and quality.

Also note you need a credit card. They will take a Debit card but charge on arrival not on departure. Being asked for payment up front or a cash deposit is not what I expected on a direct booking with the hotel, especially as I have stayed there before.

The old wing is under renovation, it does not affect your stay in any way except that enterance although open is not staffed except for a security man outside. People were just wandering in and out. Not the greatest security considering the police and military not even 50 meters away up the road.

I will go back, always enjoy the grand dame of Colombo. Just needs a little more loving tender care.

Room Tip: Sea view is the whole point of staying here
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank northt21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne D, Front Office Manager at Galle Face Hotel Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to review the Galle Face Hotel after your recent visit.

As you point the deluxe and superior rooms are step up from the standard rooms and generally very well reviewed by our guests.

With the restoration now underway there are a few “teething issues” – including the security issue which I’m sure we will have sorted very shortly.

I’m glad you enjoyed it and we look forward to welcoming you back and I hope you can see the progress in the areas you have noted..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.7 mi away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
0.2 mi away
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
0.2 mi away
Taj Samudra Colombo
Taj Samudra Colombo
#8 of 54 in Colombo
2,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#6 of 54 in Colombo
1,877 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Colombo
Hilton Colombo
#10 of 54 in Colombo
2,073 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Kingsbury
The Kingsbury
#15 of 54 in Colombo
1,717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galle Face Hotel Colombo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galle Face Hotel Colombo

Address: No. 2, Galle Road, Colombo, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 54 Hotels in Colombo
Price Range: $156 - $278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Galle Face Hotel Colombo 5*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Presented proudly as Sri Lanka's iconic and historic hotel, Galle Face Hotel is located in heart of Colombo City, along the seafront and facing the famous Galle Face Green.The hotel has 158 well-appointed rooms and suites, with some offering excellent views across the Indian ocean and the fascinating view of evening sunset.There are three restaurants, a gym, spa and unique saltwater swimming pool, overlooking the seafront. Guests here will be convenient as the hotel offers close access to many of the business district,historic cultural sites and landmarks in Colombo, as well nearby shopping. The hotel is a 45-60min journey from the airport.Guests seeking a glimpse of Colombo's history will enjoy the charm of The Galle Face Hotel with its unique, unaltered setting since 1864. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Galle Face Hotel Colombo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing