We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historical charme meets comfortable luxury!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
Ranked #4 of 54 Hotels in Colombo
Certificate of Excellence
Vienna, Austria
1 review
“Historical charme meets comfortable luxury!”
Reviewed August 8, 2011

The Galle Face Hotel gives you the feeling of a time travel (it was build 1864) but with all modern facilities!
We stayed in the Regency Wing - as I reservated online, I got a V.I.P pass to enter the happy hour (a bar where only V.I.P guests get entry and free drinks from 5pm to 7pm).
After our arrival we got a plate of fresh fruits and chocolates in a box, served by a butler in our room.
The service was very friendly and helpfully - the laundry boy even made us a good price for our laundry!

The variety of the dinner buffet was AWESOME - from Sri Lankan over Mongolian to European food. And also the breakfast buffet leaves nothing to be desired (Fresh fruits, Sri Lankan breakfast, american/englisch breakfast and so on!)
The Hotel has a wide range of own restaurants such as the "Sea Spray" directly on the ocean - so you can also eat "á la carte".

The furniture and whole atmosphere of the Galle Face Hotel is one-of-a-kind, I never was as comfortable as in this hotel!

Also try the spa - we had an oriental massage and a face treatment deluxe!

Unfortunately the weather wasn't nice, so we couldn't go in the swimming pool, but it looked awesome (with view on the indian ocean)

I WOULD TOTALLY RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL - AND THE PRICE FOR THIS LUXURY IS AWESOME!
I think, I'll spend a part of my honeymoon there ;)

Room Tip: Alledgly the
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlueBird_Heidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,902 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,282
    993
    363
    155
    109
See reviews for
576
1,215
216
309
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (755)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Level 6 Contributor
396 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 494 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2011

The hotel is located next to the lovely rough Indian Ocean. Such a superb serene view both from inside the hotel and the road along side the sea. Love.y sea breeze. There are several restaurants in the hotel and one can really enjoy good meals next to the sea. Breakfast has choices of traditional Sri Lankan food, continental and western food.

Lots of wedding takes place on weekends and the hotel can be really crowded with hundreds of visitors, loud music and traditional dances for the wedding. The newly wed couples come to take their wedding pictures on the hotel lawn, next to the sea and the parking lot or hotel lobby or corridors. Tey are everywhere. Those who want some quiet and peaceful stay, these hotels are not the ideal choice. Going out of the hotel can be hectic at night with streams of cars flowing in and out due to the wedding and other receptions at the hotel.

The hotel has the classic wing which is the old part and maintained some of the traditional decor of the past. The classic side is quite large and spacious. The modern wing has been renovated and rooms are smaller, but very neat, bright and clean. I stayed both sides but like the space of the old wing. The suites to that extent are wonderful. I enjoyed the suite with various views, large sitting space and huge bedroom.

The staff are in general nice and helpful. They have all the good intention to help you but with all the pressure of too many cultural programmes, they get a bit overwhelmed at times.

The city centre, good shpooing malls are around. The hotel is in a very convenient place and good for both tourists and business people. I think the value for money is worth staying.

Room Tip: Old Classic side suites are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaniz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2011

As soon as we saw the Veranda, with the view of the sea through the archways, a smile broke out on all our faces. An old imposing hotel with a list a distinguished visitors from The Queen of Denmark to Gene Simons from Kiss, it is an institution and landmark that everyone knows. Right on the sea, the salt water pool is sprayed by the waves and a sun downer on the lawns is a must, even if you don’t stay here. The rooms are good, though our shower kept flooding the bathroom floor. The food is okay, lots of buffets but we only ate la carte, the service was good and the settling made up for any mediocre meals. But you have to pay for internet access which given the price should be included in the room charges. I would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smithcomyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2011

We stayed in the old wing - the rooms were massive, the staff wonderful, lovely seafood BBQ on Saturday night.

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ArohanuiLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2011

I had pleasure in visiting this hotel number of times, and i thought i will review this hotel as i feel there is no place i can compare with this experience in Colombo. it is precious with rich inheritances details and hint of historical features. sea view is so peaceful in morning and beautiful scenery of sunset. my favorite way of spending my time was in he wooden chairs near the sea watching the sunset enjoying a good wine. this hotel also have a good sea food restaurant names sea spray and pool with sea water. must visit place in Colombo.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travel_liveit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2011

As we were travelling with three children we had to take a suite in the infamously worn but more spacious older wing, rather than take one of the much-lauded but smaller Regency wing rooms - and so our expectations were already low. The suite turned out to be better than expected (grand proportions, windows facing the sea) and the swimming pool was lovely. However, our experience of general hotel management - or rather mis-management - was dreadful.

We arrived at 4pm to find that our room was not yet ready, so we were told to have a drink (at our own expense) in the bar while we waited.

Then finally after getting our room and returning to it after an early dinner we found it absolutely impossible to get the children to sleep, or indeed to get any sleep ourselves as a wedding band played at rock-concert volume in the ballroom directly below from 6.30pm to 11.30pm. (Despite it being mid-week there seemed to be at least 3 wedding parties in the hotel). Given the old flooring and complete lack of sound insulation it was as if we were sitting WITH the wedding guests.

We went to reception to complain and asked that management come to our room to see how loud the music was. They were already aware of the fact that we had to get up at 4am to catch our flight home and so were now faced with the reality of getting very little sleep. Two 'managers' later appeared shrugging their shoulders and offering no recourse. In the morning as we checked out, only a very young reception clerk was awake and there was no one to whom we could complain.

All in all, having spent US$300 for 4.5 hours quiet 'enjoyment' of our room, we feel completely ripped off and very disappointed that this was the last impression left of our time in Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Expat088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2011

We stayed at this large but pleasant hotel for a night arriving and for two nights on departing during our holiday in April.

Galle Face Hotel is large but has a lot of olde worlde charme and character! The spacious public areas, the inviting restraunt, the pool and the sea front make this an ideal place to chill out at the end of a visit to Sri Lanka. The peaceful and relaxed waterfront promenade with its bank of local eateries is close by - a lovely place to take an evening stroll without risk of hassle from vendors that is common in similar places in Asia.

We had a sea front room and really the service, quality and ambience compared really favourably with the distinctly overpriced Taj hotel down the road.

A good place to relax and use as a base for touring Colombo and/or a gateway to the rest of this beautiful country.

We'd recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jijay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.7 mi away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
0.2 mi away
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
0.2 mi away
Taj Samudra Colombo
Taj Samudra Colombo
#8 of 54 in Colombo
2,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#7 of 54 in Colombo
1,814 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Kingsbury
The Kingsbury
#15 of 54 in Colombo
1,686 reviews
1.7 mi away
Colombo Courtyard
Colombo Courtyard
#9 of 54 in Colombo
762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galle Face Hotel Colombo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galle Face Hotel Colombo

Property: Galle Face Hotel Colombo
Address: No. 2, Galle Road, Colombo, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 54 Hotels in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Galle Face Hotel Colombo 5*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Presented proudly as Sri Lanka's iconic and historic hotel, Galle Face Hotel is located in heart of Colombo City, along the seafront and facing the famous Galle Face Green.The hotel has 158 well-appointed rooms and suites, with some offering excellent views across the Indian ocean and the fascinating view of evening sunset.There are three restaurants, a gym, spa and unique saltwater swimming pool, overlooking the seafront. Guests here will be convenient as the hotel offers close access to many of the business district,historic cultural sites and landmarks in Colombo, as well nearby shopping. The hotel is a 45-60min journey from the airport.Guests seeking a glimpse of Colombo's history will enjoy the charm of The Galle Face Hotel with its unique, unaltered setting since 1864. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Galle Face Hotel Colombo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing