We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Homestay Guesthouse”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mrs Padmini Nanayakkara's Chelsea Gardens
Ranked #71 of 152 Specialty Lodging in Colombo
Reviewed January 18, 2012

We had a very pleasant stay.
The guesthouse consists of a colonial house and a few more rooms that are located next door in an modern appartment house.
The guesthouse is central located, has a nice small garden backyard where they serve the breakfest and a museum like living room.
Very friendly owner and good value for colombo.

Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
3  Thank asdfgbernd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (16)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 16 reviews

Reviewed January 15, 2012

I am not at all sure where the people who provided the negative review thought they were staying. My experience was excellent. Mrs Nanyakkara is a very thoughtful and grateful host. The room was clean and the secuirty was good. I plan to return soon.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anna E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2011

We were made to feel very welcome by Padimi, and our stay was like staing with your grandmother! You will be staying in a small apartment complex with people who live there, and so I felt a little uncomfortable. There was no A/C or mosquito net, but the place was clean and tidy, the bathroom excellent, despite prior reviews. I also saw no cockroaches, but if there were any, then they are an unavoidable part of living in a hot country.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank martleese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2011

I am VERY surprised by the previous review. The place is dirty - in our bathroom I could write 'wash me' with my finger on the dirt in the shower! When we arrived there was a dead cockroach in the filthy bathroom where there was no hot water, the light did not work (we needed to wash our teeth with our flashlight that we fortunately brought with us) and the towel that they gave me there was a hole in it so large I could put my whole arm through it. When we went to bed there was a disgustingly dirty mosquito net over one bed and the chest of drawers next to the bed was full of I suppose the owners clothing and also full of live cockroaches which we needed to kill with our shoes.

The rooms - well should we call if part of the garage - are noisy there are no curtains and the beds are just planks of wood with a sort of very thin mattress on them.

Overall experience horrible and the price should be like USD10 per night.

We left after one night - awful start to any holiday.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 00pb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2010

Padmini's is very centrally located - in a very nice neighborhood, close to shopping, the coast and all amenities. We stayed in her garden room and as the title says, it's like going to a friend's house for a few days. It is simple with books and nic-nacs and a private entrance. The bed is large - two doubles that can be together or apart. I found the bed a little hard (personal preference). The room is equipped with two fans and a mosquito net and A/C can be included for a small additional fee. The bathroom is basic with shower, hot/cold water, and flush toilet. She also has rooms in an apartment next door that are much more modern (i didn't see them but was told by my partner that they are quite nice and spacious). Breakfast is included. Mrs Padmini is a very cultured woman who has traveled a great deal, and enjoys meeting people. She sat and had tea with us upon arrival and then left it up to us to ask if we needed something. She was always keen to offer advice on where to go, what to see, she arranged a taxi to the airport with a trusted driver (and reasonably priced) and really invited us into her home. The garden area is private and safe. This is simply accommodate, but for Colombo very reasonably priced and excellent location. Again - I have to say, Mrs. Padmini as a hostess was lovely. It's tucked away so a bit hard to find, even the tuk tuk drivers had a hard time. Once found - it's worth it. Note - her number is listed incorrectly in the Lonely Planet - we found her number by google. Address is correct.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank tarouskie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank LaurenAnjou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
Thank herve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.4 mi away
Colombo City Hostel
Colombo City Hostel
#3 of 152 in Colombo
96 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bunkyard Hostels
Bunkyard Hostels
#1 of 152 in Colombo
113 reviews
1.9 mi away
Star Anise Boutique Capsules
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hostel Inn Colombo 7
Hostel Inn Colombo 7
#12 of 152 in Colombo
36 reviews
0.2 mi away
Backpack Lanka
Backpack Lanka
#20 of 152 in Colombo
131 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casons B&B
Casons B&B
#31 of 153 in Colombo
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mrs Padmini Nanayakkara's Chelsea Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mrs Padmini Nanayakkara's Chelsea Gardens

Address: 20 Chelsea Gardens | Colombo 3, Colombo, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 152 Specialty Lodging in Colombo
Price Range: $42 - $58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Mrs Padmini Nanayakkara's Chelsea Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mrs Padmini Nanayakkara`s Hotel Colombo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing