We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top notch Southern Indian fare”

Chutneys At Cinnamon Grand Colombo
Ranked #6 of 562 Restaurants in Colombo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Level Contributor
110 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Top notch Southern Indian fare”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Four of us came here for the last night of our holiday in Sri Lanka and were blown away by the food at this restaurant. The menu is huge and so we had to ask our waiter for help but everything we had was unusual and delicious, and extremely good value too. Beware of the free flow pappadums though, our daughter ate so many that she wasn't able to eat much else!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Golden H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

854 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    414
    335
    75
    21
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
172 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Indian Traditional Taste you would memorize”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Its best with variety of indian traditional food of different taste .it serves with papaddams with different indian pickles thats the best of it.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank VaidyaVikrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
Level Contributor
95 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
“Overated”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I have to be honest. This place looks great and the food sounds interesting but in reality the food did not taste particularly great. This may because I asked them to tone down the spices after the waiter told me the dishes were extremely hot. I wish I did not as the dish was so bland and boring. Also there were no traditional Sri Lankan dishes on the menu from what I remember.. What is this about??
Had a much better culinary experience in the traditional Sri Lankan village outside of the Cinnamon Grand. Why this place not advertised more by the hotel, I'll never know

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bristolmember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
78 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Good Indian Food, Convenient”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

The food was excellent and covered a number of types of cuisine (Tamil, Karola, etc). Recommend if you are staying at the Cinnamon and like Indian food.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank SFTraveler009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Choice at Chutneys”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Good selection of freshly made meat and vegetarian dishes ranging from nice and mild to very hot. Can chose from a variety of different areas and specialties to try from.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank 2013globetrotter2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chutneys At Cinnamon Grand Colombo also viewed

Colombo, Western Province
 
Colombo, Western Province
Colombo, Western Province
 

Been to Chutneys At Cinnamon Grand Colombo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing