We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the widest choices ”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Urban Kitchen

Urban Kitchen
Ranked #332 of 556 Restaurants in Colombo
Price range: $4 - $8
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian, Sri Lankan, Fast Food, Fusion, Singaporean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Urban Kitchen, popular among patrons for its extensive menu, laid back ambience and exquisite food, has introduced its latest menu, bursting with delectable options that are sure to satisfy tastebuds, regardless of the type of cuisine one craves. With a whopping 233 choices inspired by Italian, Mexican, Japanese, Chinese, Malaysian, Thai, European and Middle Eastern cuisines, patrons will be forgiven for pouring over the menu for much longer than usual. But with so many mouthwatering selections, several visits will be required to try out all of the dishes that catch one’s attention. The new 25-page menu features an assortment of Starters and Snacks, Soups and Salads, Sandwiches and Wraps, Burgers, Pizzas, Pastas and Risottos, Sushi, Sashimi and Rotis, not to mention a revamped choice of hot and cold beverages. Vegetarians too have an extensive choice of over 30 dishes to choose from and a special corner of the menu is dedicated specially for kids.For a quick snack or an appetizer before a large meal, the Urban Nachos – cheese, salsa fresco, sour cream, frijoles and fresh guacamole on a bed of crisp tortilla corn chips – are a popular choice. Peking Duck Pockets – crispy skinned roast duck served with pancakes, cucumber, spring onions and hoisin sauce – is another favourite. The chefs also recommend the Vietnamese Rice Paper Rolls, available in a choice of fillings including prawn, chicken or vegetable.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“One of the widest choices ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

We eat at Urban Kitchen once in a while and go for varied items from its vast choice of cuisines and dishes therein. The food is, well, extreme- what's good is great, but if there's something that is not that good, it's really not that good. So you can take your chances.

Burgers, wraps, street food items are fantastic. An interesting place to go to always

Helpful?
Thank Youdee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UrbanKitchenLK, Guest Relations Manager at Urban Kitchen, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
We really appreciate you taking the time to review our restaurant and to share your experiences with us. We hope that you will visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    83
    78
    24
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Pondicherry, India
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very simple place with good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2014

The fact i liked about their menu was, there was something for everyones taste. Right from Japanese, Chinese, fast food, Drinks etc.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sudanshu80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UrbanKitchenLK, Guest Relations Manager at Urban Kitchen, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our restaurant. We are so glad that you had pleasant experience with us and we do hope that you will visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Malling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“More options and good for casual dining”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014

The restaurant serve menu from all over the world. The food was good and refreshing however the quality/presentation of the dishes lacking a bit.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank NithiyM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UrbanKitchenLK, Guest Relations Manager at Urban Kitchen, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant. Thank you also for your suggestions which we have looked into and have taken steps to rectify. We aim to please our guests do hope that you will visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kochi (Cochin), India
Level Contributor
243 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Excellent Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

There is good rush here, But the staff managed a corner area for ten of us. We ordered varieties of food which were served without much delay. Tasty food and friendly service by the staff.

The ambiance is great with nice lighting and different type of seating arrangements. There is a supermarket attached to this hotel which is very useful.

Ample space for parking.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Justin454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UrbanKitchenLK, Guest Relations Manager at Urban Kitchen, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant. We are so glad that you had a good experience with us and we do hope that you will visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
214 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Good food court, not everything on the menu is great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

If you are looking for a quick bite on your way to someplace, this is a great option. Being a food court, your options are really wide. But not everything is great. My lemon chicken wrap came with over fried chicken that tasted more like crisps than chicken. My friends who had the traditional rice and curry were a happier lot mind you.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TKPB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UrbanKitchenLK, Guest Relations Manager at Urban Kitchen, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant. We apologize for the disappointing experience you had with the Lemon Chicken, which we have taken steps to rectify. We do hope you will visit us again when you are next in Sri Lanka.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Urban Kitchen also viewed

Colombo, Western Province
Colombo, Western Province
 
Colombo, Western Province
Colombo, Western Province
 

Been to Urban Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing