We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good food , but not that good service , overpriced food , good selection of items”
Review of Urban Kitchen

Urban Kitchen
Ranked #264 of 613 Restaurants in Colombo
Price range: $4 - $8
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese, Fast Food, Fusion, Singaporean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Urban Kitchen, popular among patrons for its extensive menu, laid back ambience and exquisite food, has introduced its latest menu, bursting with delectable options that are sure to satisfy tastebuds, regardless of the type of cuisine one craves. With a whopping 233 choices inspired by Italian, Mexican, Japanese, Chinese, Malaysian, Thai, European and Middle Eastern cuisines, patrons will be forgiven for pouring over the menu for much longer than usual. But with so many mouthwatering selections, several visits will be required to try out all of the dishes that catch one’s attention. The new 25-page menu features an assortment of Starters and Snacks, Soups and Salads, Sandwiches and Wraps, Burgers, Pizzas, Pastas and Risottos, Sushi, Sashimi and Rotis, not to mention a revamped choice of hot and cold beverages. Vegetarians too have an extensive choice of over 30 dishes to choose from and a special corner of the menu is dedicated specially for kids.For a quick snack or an appetizer before a large meal, the Urban Nachos – cheese, salsa fresco, sour cream, frijoles and fresh guacamole on a bed of crisp tortilla corn chips – are a popular choice. Peking Duck Pockets – crispy skinned roast duck served with pancakes, cucumber, spring onions and hoisin sauce – is another favourite. The chefs also recommend the Vietnamese Rice Paper Rolls, available in a choice of fillings including prawn, chicken or vegetable.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

their food is good , but are overpriced. their service needs improvements .
ample parking space most of the time ,
since their are not many good restaurants around union place , its ok to have a visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AJ_matrix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (259)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

165 - 169 of 259 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2013

This place used to one the places we used to recommend to our friends but now the standards have gone down drastically.

We ordered 4 different meals after 20 minutes 3 of the meals reached our table and the simplest of them all the veggie burger it didn't seem to reach the table. I guess no body at urban kitchen learnt that you serve the whole table at once (we were a group of 4 and 3 meal orders were served and they let me wait for 40 minutes for a veggie burger while 3 of the other meals were served in like 20 minutes). When i complained to the manager and his response was something like they were shopping ingredients for the burger?. Finally the burger arrives its cold and it was nothing like what it was used taste like. Complete disappointment!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank ShehanJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UrbanKitchenLK, Public Relations Manager at Urban Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Thank you for visiting Urban Kitchen and taking the time to review our restaurant. We regret that you did not have a pleasant experience with us and have taken note of the issues you have highlighted and will certainly rectify them. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to serving you once again, should you decide to visit us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

This is located only 2 Minutes walk from Unique Towers, the luxury suited that we stayed, The Urban Kitchen has a very good selection of food and located within the large super market Arpico

Thank Abdullah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Paid a thumping amount for burgers and the food was cold and tasted awful. Probably the worst experience i have come across in a Colombo restaurant. Service was so slow it took nearly one hour to serve us food & gave priority to foreigners and zero attention to locals. Waiters were highly unskilled and i have to say they kept on asking what we ordered.

I will never go back there again & no value for money.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Rashmi400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Was there for dinner last night after a hard day at work. Ordered a Hainanese Chicken Rice and a Chicken Fajita. The chicken rice was stale and the rice grains were hard and dry. Surely has been frozen and reheated. The chicken tasted old and terrible. Raised a complain to the manager on-duty and to the chef . He accepted it was old food and wiped out the cost from the bill.
I have been visiting this place for a quick meal often. Quality has dropped drastically over the years. Will never be back again!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank SLTraveller7881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Urban Kitchen also viewed

Colombo, Western Province
Colombo, Western Province
 
Colombo, Western Province
Colombo, Western Province
 

Been to Urban Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing