We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“authentic thai food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Thai

Royal Thai
Ranked #21 of 550 Restaurants in Colombo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Thai cuisine combines the best of gastronomic exoticism and culinary pleasure and the best place in which to indulge in it is at the Royal Thai. Overlooking a paved terrace, Royal Thai delights guests with authentic Thai food prepared by Thai master chefs, in a peaceful and serene ambience. The restaurant also has an elegantly furnished private dining room, which could be reserved for private gatherings. Voted Best Thai Restaurant in Colombo, Sri Lanka.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“authentic thai food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

nicely decorated., the chef came to my table to take the order. the service was attentive and with a smile. reasonably priced but beware when you order because portions are quite big

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank qatar12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    97
    30
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Best Thai Cuisine By Far”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

The Royal Thai serves the most authentic Thai Cuisine in Colombo and we were not disappointed. The service was quick and quality of food and beverage was excellent. The two issues that we experienced were that the sri lankan hostess tends to make recommendations of certain dishes, not wanting to be rude, we tried one but were very disappointed; secondly crab was not available on that night. Overall it was good value for money.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank vish_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
56 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“The place to have thai !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

Good food and great atmosphere. The staff are friendly and helpful. The food was great and I would highly recommend this place to anyone.

This is probably the best thai food in town. Tends to be pricey.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Harsha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luzon, Philippines
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“good food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

Food is good but surprisingly i got sick after eating here maybe coz of the spices but My husband and 1yr old baby was fine..Food is good and authentic thai.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank risingstars888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wattala, Sri Lanka
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent service and food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

Chef Aree she is doing a great job to sri lanka the food was yammy. This is my servanth visit i realy like duck red curry no 84 and the service was excellant day by day geting improving staff was friendly.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank rizwan d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal Thai also viewed

Colombo, Western Province
Colombo, Western Province
 
Colombo, Western Province
 
Colombo, Western Province
Colombo, Western Province
 

Been to Royal Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing