We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything you'd expect from a restaurant of this level.”
Review of Royal Thai

Royal Thai
Ranked #9 of 648 Restaurants in Colombo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: Thai cuisine combines the best of gastronomic exoticism and culinary pleasure and the best place in which to indulge in it is at the Royal Thai. Overlooking a paved terrace, Royal Thai delights guests with authentic Thai food prepared by Thai master chefs, in a peaceful and serene ambience. The restaurant also has an elegantly furnished private dining room, which could be reserved for private gatherings. Voted Best Thai Restaurant in Colombo, Sri Lanka.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We ate here early by Sri Lankan standards, at about 7.30pm, so pretty much had the place to ourselves when we sat down. Coupled with the fact that we were with a local Sri lankan who was handing out 1000rp notes to the wait staff like they were confetti, meant the service we received was very attentive, if not a little fawning. The only fault I'd have was that one dish we ordered and specifically asked for it to not be too spicy, was even a bit too spicy for our local friend.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Nick147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (386)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

282 - 286 of 386 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2013

A catalogue of service errors spoiled a reasonable meal. Tried more than once to get us to drink expensive bottles of wine instead of the $30 one we'd asked for. Missed a dish out and charged us for it. Had to be asked 3 times for beers. Generally disappointing in what is an expensive, high end stylish hotel.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank abe1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CinnamonLakeside-PR, Public Relations Manager at Royal Thai, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. We are glad you enjoyed the food. Your comments are well noted and we will look into them immediately.

Nadiyah Akram
Marketing & Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

It was a lovelye experience dining at Royal thai, been here a few times and everytime has been a consistently great dining experience. the staff are very attentive and the food, great.. the Prawn red curry was a delight!!!! :)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Lakshini W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CinnamonLakeside-PR, Manager at Royal Thai, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2013

Thank you for your wonderful words of praise for Royal Thai. We are glad to know you enjoyed your experience. Be sure to follow us on facebook, twitter and google plus for information on specials.

Nadiyah Akram
Marketing & Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Not the most authentic Thai cuisine but good. The Papaya Salad is my particular favourite. Having said that there was a party of Thais at another table who seemed rather happy with the food, expats maybe.

Service is efficient, not exactly friendly.

There is limited parking. Place really needs some TLC and a makeover

Bar closes at 2 sharp, come after that and no way you will get a beer.

Been a few times so that should tell you its an OK place. Reasonable prices for reasonable food

1  Thank northt21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CinnamonLakeside-PR, Manager at Royal Thai, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. Your suggestions are well noted and will certainly be addressed.

Nadiyah Akram
Marketing & Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Let's start with the good: location and service.

The restaurant is in the magnificent terrace at Cinnamon Lakeside, one of the fanciest and nicest places to dine in Colombo. If you eat outside (recommended) you can order from any of the three terrace restaurants (Thai, Chinese or western) and often listen to live music. Service is also great: classy, attentive and efficient.

And finish with the bad: food.

Unfortunately the food is just not up to standards. As a lover of Thai cuisine I have made an effort to return after a first disappointing dinner. My second meal confirms my opinion that this is at best a mediocre Thai restaurant. Food is so geared towards the Sri Lankan taste that you can barely recognize it as Thai. I've had pork with chilies and basil, golden prawns with sesame seeds, fried rice, fish with chilies grilled in banana leaves, and steamed fish with lime, garlic and chilies. The only good dish out of the whole lot was the steamed fish with lime. The worst where the golden prawns with sesame seeds: they where deep fried inside a toast. The result was a oily soggy toast with an overwhelming taste of overused grease. I took one bite and could not wait to wash the taste out of my mouth: simply un-edible.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank KKermiTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CinnamonLakeside-PR, Manager at Royal Thai, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2013

Thank you for your detailed review. We are glad you enjoyed the ambience and service.
Your notes on the food have been reviewed by our chefs who will make the necessary changes. We hope you will give us another chance to treat you to an exceptional dining experience.

Nadiyah Akram
Marketing & Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal Thai also viewed

Colombo, Western Province
Colombo, Western Province
 
Colombo, Western Province
Colombo, Western Province
 
Colombo, Western Province
 

Been to Royal Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing