We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service and Food!!!”
Review of Royal Thai

Royal Thai
Ranked #23 of 571 Restaurants in Colombo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: Thai cuisine combines the best of gastronomic exoticism and culinary pleasure and the best place in which to indulge in it is at the Royal Thai. Overlooking a paved terrace, Royal Thai delights guests with authentic Thai food prepared by Thai master chefs, in a peaceful and serene ambience. The restaurant also has an elegantly furnished private dining room, which could be reserved for private gatherings. Voted Best Thai Restaurant in Colombo, Sri Lanka.
La Canada Flintridge, California
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Service and Food!!!”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Brought 14 friends together for a birthday celebration and could not be happier with the food and the service. The staff at the restaurant helped me to put together a fantastic menu. We sat in the private dining room which has a very elegant ambience. When we arrived the table had a gorgeous floral centerpiece. I felt the staff went out of their way to make my friends and me comfortable. Very reasonable prices. Cannot think of anything negative. We will be back again!!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Shanika1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CinnamonLakeside-PR, Manager at Royal Thai, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Thank you for choosing to celebrate a birthday with us. We are happy to have made your special occasion a memorable one.

Nadiyah Akram
Marketing & Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    99
    31
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Best Thai Restaurant in Colombo”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

I ate here a couple of days ago and the food was great. The Red Thai Beef is awesome and so are the prawns in home made chilli paste. The Pandan Chicken was great as well.

In my opinion this is the best Thai Restaurant in Colombo. The value for money is not bad either and a must try if you are in town.

The service was good and also the atmosphere was pretty decent.

Will visit again soon in the future.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amrithds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CinnamonLakeside-PR, Manager at Royal Thai, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Your words of appreciation are well noted. Thank you for writing about your experience at Royal Thai. We look forward to your next visit.

Nadiyah Akram
Marketing & Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very Good Restaurant”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

I went there with my wife for dinner on New Years Day. It's located inside the Cinnamon Lakeside Hotel, which is very plush and I had Pad Thai, which was excellent. The staff were professional and friendly, the prices were reasonable for the location. The decor and ambiance give the feel of a quality restaurant. I would like to balance the review with some negative comments but that's difficult...They didn't have what my wife ordered from the menu and, compared to what she received, preferred my dish. I don't like the way that taxes and charges are left off the menu but this is common in all restaurants I've been to in Colombo. However, overall, thumbs up and well worth a visit!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DemarrKlarj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CinnamonLakeside-PR, Manager at Royal Thai, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Thank you for the five star rating for Royal Thai. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your dining experience and hope you will dine with us again.

Nadiyah Akram
Marketing & Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome food & service”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

we had a fantastic experience at this restauraunt. we showed up without a reservation but the maitre de organized for us to sit at the next restauraunt till he was able to organize a table for us. in about 5 mins we got our table.
The service and food were excellent. Some of the best thai i've had and not expensive at all.

Love this place!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dangerousminds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CinnamonLakeside-PR, Manager at Royal Thai, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
We are glad that you found Royal Thai good value for money. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor. Please do visit us whenever you're in the mood for a great Thai meal.

Nadiyah Akram
Marketing & Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Told it was the best Thai in Colombo. It seemed like it.”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Had a brilliant meal. Food was fantastic, service seamless and friendly. Expensive with a bottle of wine but great value as quality and quantity combined well with service and ambiance. Well worth the cost.

Staff catered well for complex dietary issues. Recommend for special occasions, business and that special meal when on holiday.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank fedupphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CinnamonLakeside-PR, Manager at Royal Thai, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Thank you for recommending Royal Thai on Trip Advisor. We are glad you enjoyed your meal and hope to see you more often at any of the Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo restaurants.

Nadiyah Akram
Marketing & Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal Thai also viewed

Colombo, Western Province
Colombo, Western Province
 

Been to Royal Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing